We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, United States
1 review
“Extremely pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff friendly and helpful. pool very nice and clean. very good location. Staff sent us to a great diner ,walking distance with a three year old,great food and price.Returned to a well maintained indoor pool and room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent stay with us here in Harrison\Newark Riverwalk. We are truly happy that you and your family where extremely pleased with our service. We make sure to always strive for the best guest service possible with a big Hampton smile on our faces. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff is always hard at work to ensure the hotel is kept up to par. Thank you again for your time, we look forward to having you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    264
    61
    25
    25
See reviews for
389
146
41
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I spent a night at the Hampton Inn after a week in Manhattan. Upon arriving at Penn Station in Newark, we were promptly picked up and shuttled to the hotel which was a complimentary service. We arrived at noon and were quickly checked in. Later that night (Wednesday) there were complimentary drinks and munchies served around the bar on the main floor. The room was very tidy and clean and included complimentary wifi. The next morning, we were served a complimentary hot breakfast and a complimentary shuttle ride to Newark Airport. This hotel goes over and above in order to service it's guests. All the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend the Hampton to anyone staying in the area. Thanks to all the staff for providing us with a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontotraveller1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us here in Harrison\Newark. We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience. Our team works extremely hard to provide the highest quality of service. We truly look forward to having you back with us in the future, thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Christopher was such a wonderful person. Not to be out done Johnathan was also very amazing. They work well with one another. I also enjoyed my experience with Bethany. She was very helping with assiting us during our stay. She even gave Chris lots of tips! The shuttle drivers as well as the manager were icying on the cake layered with Chris, Bethany, and Johnathan! I looked forward to seeing these three. They were very respectful, and always made us feel at home. "Welcome back!" "Everything's welll?" "Is there anything that could have made today "great" and not just "good"! I was very pleased and surprised with this Hotel! I will always come back when I am in Jersey, and I will tell my friends about it as well. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Maudrianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Christopher, we all remeber you and your family here. It was truly a pleasure to have you stay with us again. We are happy that you have found your home away from home, we will see you again soon! Thank you for sharing such great feedback, you are truly a great guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Don't expect to get what you are paying for, i was persistent i needed a roll-away bed when even reserving the hotel and both nights they told me i would have it but never did and just got a excuse "sorry sir, we are short handed and I have no one to get one tonight" I just wanted to say are you kidding me, tell me were it is and i'll get it. Short staffed, sorry i paid over $180/night and i paid for something i need and i'm not receiving it. Then to top it off the A/C in the room was broken so the room was 78 degrees both nights and they never came to look at that either. I wouldn't refer this hotel to anyone it's a joke. Maybe get some tips from the Marriott i'll be staying there for future reservations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent visit to Harrison\Newark, we all truly work hard to ensure we provide the best quality of guest service. Seeing from your feedback we may have not been up to par this time around, in the future we cannot provide a roll away bed when you have 2 beds in a room. It is a fire hazard to do so, next time you are back in the area give us a second chance to make it right, we will make sure you have the right room reserved and that the a\c unit is working correctly. Thank you for sharing the feedback, all feedback is good since we are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you are visiting NJIT or Rutgers in Newark, or just want a great place to sleep close to Penn Station (and a lot less than the Hilton), stay here! Very clean and helpful, friendly staff. This is our third stay here in three years.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for always choosing to stay with us when you come to visit NJIT or Rutgers. As you know we are only a short shuttle drive away to Newark. If you having any doubts on where we are located , I can assure you Harrison is a great quiet town to be in. We look forward to having you back next year making it 4 times in a row. Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback with everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

As many others have mentioned, this is a great hotel all around. Check in was fast. Rooms were very nice and very clean...I actually slept well, which I almost never do the first night in a hotel. Great breakfast, which is what I have come to love about Hampton properties. In the lobby at breakfast, I noticed at breakfast they even had a table with some "asian" things on it (soup, rice and some other stuff). Very well done, Hampton Inn Harrison! I'd never seen this before at a hotel.

I must single out your shuttle bus driver, Terrance, as he was awesome. Such a nice guy. He shook our hands as we got on the shuttle and when got off, as well. Great conversation in the short ride over. He had us laughing. I wish we would have had more time at the hotel to partake in some of the local dining and activities that he recommended, esp. the steakhouse that is right over the bridge.

One small con is that when we came in from being out at 11:30 at night, there was a couple of bags of trash outside of rooms on our side of the floor (from carry out/delivery dinners). When we went to breakfast at 8:30 am, these bags were still there. Housekeeping had to have seen it, as there were 2 or 3 carts in our side of the hallway.

One last thing. Love the local "art" on the walls in the room. Not sure if all Hamptons do this (I can't remember despite just being in one in Raleigh 2 weeks ago!) but it's little things like that impress me. It's so much better to look at (and actually read!) than the mass produced "art" in most hotels.

Room Tip: Even side rooms overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaBeachLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for sharing the great feedback on your trip to Harrison\Newark , our entire staff including Terrance work extra hard to give the best guest service possible. We are gald that you had a great experience with us and truly look forward to having you back. We do apologize for not getting to the bags of trash sooner, we know the little things mean the most, this is why we work day in and out to perfect the little things. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pleasant hotel in a fairly industrial area. A little tired, but very clean with helpful staff. We left too early to try the breakfast that is included in the rate. A good overnight stay and we would stay again as a base for NYC.

When landing at EWR we had to phone for the hotel airport shuttle bus to collect us as it does not automatically call there. Fortunately we had the number. The shuttle bus driver was very helpful and we used the shuttle bus to get to and from Newark Penn station for the 20 minute train journey to New York Penn station. The NJ Transit ($10 return) train is much quicker than the PATH ($6.50 return) train.

Note... Newark Penn station is inhabited by a considerable number of homeless people and we were approached, being asked to sign a 'sponsor' form or to 'donate' money. There were police officers in the main concourse and it felt safe during the daytime and early evening.

Our UK mobile phones did not did not have a signal to call the hotel for the shuttle. We needed 50c to use the public phones which are in the lower level.

Our morning flight was at 7am and, as the hotel shuttle does not start until 7am, we had to get a cab to the airport - 30 dollars. However, the hotel arranged this and ensured that the driver arrived on time to collect us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent trip to Harrison\Newark Riverwalk, it was truly a pleasure to have had you here with us. As always we all work extremely hard to make sure that all of our guest are met with the highest level of service.We are glad that you took advantage of our shuttle service and look forward to having you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#2 of 2 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Comfort Suites Newark
#13 of 16 in Newark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Address: 100 Passaic Avenue, Harrison, NJ 07029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing