We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

If your driving, this may be the best place to stay given there is free parking. As one would find in most Hampton Inns, they are clean and very comfortable and well priced, the staff were extra helpful and friendly and have a great shuttle service that takes you around Newark and Newark Penn Station. I gad a group who wanted to go to fibber - they took us and picked us up. It's about a 15 minute walk to Rutgers University campus too. I highly recommend this hotel. One thing to remember - there us a train trestle bridge very close by - so bring earplugs!!

Room Tip: This facility is very near a busy train bridge - bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent stay here at our property in Harrison\Newark. It is with extreme pride and pleasure that we work to ensure all of our guest are always comfortable and feel right at home. I am glad to know that our shuttle service was of great use to you on getting to and from your destinations. Next time you give us the pleasure of hosting you in our home , we will try our best to get you a room away from the train. We all know the importance of a good nights sleep. Thank you again for sharing some feedback on your visit to our hotel, we truly look forward to hosting you again sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    260
    61
    25
    25
See reviews for
382
144
39
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

i really recommend this hotel to any person ...very nice place to enjoy your time it may be a little expensive but really deserves this good review and every penny paid during the stay there .... very helpful and nice staff and really help you from there heart

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent stay with us here in Harrison\Newark, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your time here. Our entire staff is commited on making sure we provide the best quality of guest service. Thank you again for your time, we hope to be able to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The location was okay not too far from Neward Penn Station and the ride into New York was cool. Had issues with the number of beds I was supposed to get and the hotel was totally booked. There were dead bugs in my towels. I stayed Memorial Day weekend. The breakfast was okay. More than I expected actually. The room was okay but was very disppointed in the area. It wasnt as pretty as I expected. The cost was okay. If you're not picky and expecting much its a perfect hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank capreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to share some feedback with the travel community on your recent trip to Harrison\Newark. We work extremely hard to make sure our guest are well taken care of and as comfortable as can be. Our housekeeping staff have a great preventive system in place to ensure the cleanest stay possible. We are glad that you stayed with us for the Memorial Day weekend, we hope to see you again next year. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great welcoming lobby, heated indoor pool with beautiful beautiful view of river, complimentary breakfast fantastic with fresh fruit and waffle maker, bagels cereals etc., superconvenient shuttle van gets you to the nj peen train station from where you can get the path train that gets you to manhattan in approx 25 min at the cost of $5 round trip. Shuttle also goes to the airport and other nearby destinations. The rooms on the sided of the river have a spectacular view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sybil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent visit to our hotel, we love being able to make sure our guest are always satisfied. It makes us all happy to know that you truly enjoyed your time here. We love to make sure our guest always experience the highest quality of service, thank you again for your time. We look forward on being able to host you in our home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have stayed here several times while visiting our daughter who is a student in NYC. The parking is free, the shuttle service to Newark Penn train station is free and the drivers are ver reliable and friendly. The complemenary breakfast has amny choices to satisfy all in our family. The rooms are clean and in good condition. We will be staying here again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank karenbR3116CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to visit your daugther in NYC, we are glad to know that you enjoying staying with us. You can always count on our shuttle service to take you back and fourth to Newark Penn. Our entire staff is commited on making sure we have the friendliest ,cleanest hotel in the area. Thank you for sharing some feedback with us, we look forward to having you back on your visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk made for an excellent stay. They were able to give us great information for travel into the city and the shuttle to Penn Station was very convenient and fast - no waiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kraig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback with us on your recent trip to NYC for the Yankees game. Even though personally myself I am a die hard Boston Red Sox fan, I am glad that you enjoyed your time here with us. We take great pleasure in making sure our guest experience the best quality of service while with us. Next time you are in the area we hope to see you again, go Redsox!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez
Level Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We came to this hotel because it was close to our activity at NJIT and they had good service in our previous visit. This time the service was even better.

We arrived near 7:00 AM after a 2:00 AM flight and they had rooms available for our early check-in. The hotel shuttle went to pick us up quickly at the airport. We needed several rides back and forth between the hotel and NJIT and they picked us quickly. The drivers are very friendly and a great team, they even left us at the airport a few hours after we checked out.

They have a nice breakfast, including fruits, whole wheat bread, omelets, good coffee- very complete. The bar is simple but adequate for relaxing and having a couple of beers. The air conditioning in the rooms was very quiet and I was able to relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viatgesrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Harrison\Newark, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take full advantage of our services. We all work extra hard to make sure all of our guests needs are taken care of. Our family here love having the opportunity take make sure our guess feel right at home and are comfortable. We truly look forward to having you back, we will make sure to have a warm smile awaiting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#2 of 2 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Comfort Suites Newark
#13 of 16 in Newark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Address: 100 Passaic Avenue, Harrison, NJ 07029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing