We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay Still "the place to stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

As with my first review of this property this is still the place we will stay when going to New York City. This property has not missed a beat since we stayed here two years ago. It is still a very nice and well kept property. Upon check in Christopher was attentive to our every need. We stayed in room #220 which is on the river side of the hotel. It was a little noisier (subway and Amtrak trains) but once to sleep we didn't here anything. The room was amazing clean and very big. We took the shuttle to Penn Station (about 5 mins) to go to New York City. The breakfast was very good both mornings. Great selection and everything was clean and tidy always. Christopher suggested that we try Tops for supper. Make plans to eat there as it's just 2 blocks north and beyond worth the walk (about a quarter of a mile). To this properties management, you have not only sustained the bar but raised it a little. Bravo!!! The Tolan's

Room Tip: Street side seems a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bad1racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again here in our property in Harrison NJ. It is with extreme pride and pleasure that we work with to ensure our guest are always comfortable and at home while with us. Loyalty is hard to come by nowadays, so we all thank you and your family for letting us host you in our home more than once. Christopher and our entire team are always committed on giving the highest quality of guest service to all of our guest , and with that comes loyalty. We are glad to know that you truly enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to being able to do it all again sooner than later. Lets make it an awesome third time! Thank you once again for sharing your experience with everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

A decent hotel in the Newark area with prices in line for the New York/ New Jersey region. Clean, nice beds and complimentary breakfast. Only drawback is a lack of parking for the size of the hotel - not a good idea to check in late if you have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent visit to our property here in Harrison NJ. It is with the utmost pride and pleasure we work to make sure our guest are as comfortable as possible and always feel right at home with us.Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience here with us, we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel. We stayed three nights. The rooms were attractive and clean. Staff was super friendly and always helpful. Breakfast was very good, love the big great room for breakfast and a drink in the evening. It was convenient to park my car just steps away from the building. Love this property!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webstercruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for being a loyal guest to our property, our staff is always committed to making sure we provide our guest with the highest quality of service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and truly look forward to having you with us sooner than later. Thank you for sharing some great feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights in 2 separate rooms and really enjoyed our stay. We used this hotel as a base for travelling to Seton Hall where our daughter will be attending school and simultaneously multiple day trips to NYC.
We arrived in the morning and could not check in immediately since they were full the night before and they didn't have rooms ready. However, we were able to leave our luggage at the desk and take the shuttle to Penn Station. It's only about a mile to Penn Station so it's a quick trip. Upon our return from the city, we called and had about a 20 minute wait until the shuttle arrived to collect us again.
The hotel staff were uniformly friendly and efficient. Our rooms were very nice, linens were crisp, white and clean and the beds are comfy. I loved the Neutrogenia toiletries and all the bathroom facilities were spotless and up to date. At breakfast, we had no problem getting a table. The offerings are middle of the road, i.e. cooked to order waffle and cereals/breads plus eggs. The fresh fruit was delicious but seemed to disappear almost immediately after they brought more. Interestingly, they also had an asian breakfast offering, with rice and miso soup. My daughter loved the dried seaweed packets. During breakfast, they came around offering a small box of mints to each guest, that was unexpected but welcome.
Parking is very tight. There is a tiny amount of covered parking and then two small lots on either side of the building. If those are both full, you have to go down the street a bit to a satellite lot. Our last day, I was forced to leave my car there and I felt a bit uneasy about it but had no problems in the end.
We will be going back many times to visit our daughter and see NYC events so I plan to stay here again. It's definitely much cheaper than staying in Manhattan and the NJ transit (or the PATH train) takes you right into the city from Newark Penn Station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snfsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property on your recent visit to Seton Hall and NYC. We are very glad that our shuttle service was of great us to you and your family. Our entire staff is 100% committed on making sure all of our guest experience the highest quality of service. I am glad to know that we all did a great job of that. Next time you are up to visit your daugther we look forward to hosting you here again. Thank you for sharing some feedback with the Trip Advisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here for 6 comfortable nights while attending meetings near Penn Station in Newark. A convenient hotel shuttle took me to and from the Newark airport, as well as to the meetings daily. It even picked us up from Top's Diner, a few blocks down the street, so we didn't have to walk back in the dark.

I chose a King suite, away from the elevator, on the street side. I didn't find it noisy at all. The bed & pillows gave me a restful sleep. Wireless internet was free. The suite and furniture felt new and spacious, with a large bathroom (with Neutrogena toiletries, and a wall hairdryer) and a closet. The peephole was covered, so people couldn't look in. A very nice feature was a bright-lighted counter area with a minifridge, a microwave, a bar sink, and cabinets to store plenty of bottled water, nuts and cookies. Walmart is a 10-minute taxi ride away, $7 each way.

All of the desk, breakfast and shuttle staff were very friendly, accommodating and happy to advise and assist. The breakfast room is large, and the breakfast itself offers hot eggs and sausage, waffles, a variety of breads & muffins, chilled cut fruit, yogurts, boiled eggs - even a miso soup & rice station. The miso was actually very good, not too salty.

Overall, I found it clean, comfortable, convenient, pleasant and safe!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are quieter than the side with the river and train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmtree7270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent visit to our property here in Harrison NJ. It was truly a pleasure to be able to host you during your time here for your meetings. We are also glad that our shuttle was of great use to you too and from your destinations. Thank you once again for your time on sharing the feedback ,we look forward to having you once agian with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hampton Inn near Newark, New Jersey, is convenient to Newark Airport, downtown Newark, and an excellent diner, Tops. It provides all the amenities that you expect from a Hilton property.
Parking is tight close to the hotel and bargain rates are hard to come by at this location. Overall,
a good night's rest, conveniently located.

Room Tip: If view matters to you, many rooms face the river and river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul4ejjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are glad to know that you found our property convenient in many ways, and also thank you for sharing your feedback with us all. Our staff truly enjoy their job and love what they do, being able to host so many guest from different walks of the world is truly a pleasure. We look forward to seeing you once again sooner than later, after Tops we will make sure to have a nice comfortable bed for you. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This Hampton Inn is close to Newark Airport, close to downtown Newark, and one block from an excellent diner. It has all the expected amenities of a Hilton property. Close parking is a bit tight and bargain rates are hard to come by. Overall, it is a fine choice for this area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent visit to Harrison\Newark. We work with extreme pride and pleasure to ensure our guest enjoy their stay. I am glad to know that we did a great job of that. The dinner you are referring to is called ,TOPS Dinner. You can never go wrong at Tops from their huge selections and portions. Next time you are in the area we hope to be able to host you again, especially after a meal at Tops you will need a nice comfy bed to lay on. Thank you once again for your time, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#1 of 2 in Harrison
359 reviews
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Address: 100 Passaic Ave, Harrison, NJ 07029-1318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range: £100 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing