We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Hazlet
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Hill Motel(Keansburg)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay Inn(Atlantic Highlands)
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
72
42
38
26
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
42
38
26
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager samexcellent staybusiness tripnew jerseynjveeaddisonreunioninnsclerk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a event a the PNC Bank Art Center and decided to stay overnight in Hazlet. This property is less then 10 minutes from the venue and very convenient.
There are really only two hotels in Hazlet, and this is the better choice. The property is well kept and fairly clean. There is a med sized lobby when you enter with some guest chairs, and ATM and a TV that is always on. The desk attendants were polite and friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We had requested an early check in, and that is never guaranteed, but in this case was no problem. There is a nice outdoor pool, clean and maintained. It is within the interior courtyard, so it does have some privacy from the main road.
The room set up is a little strange - since this is a conversion, a lot of the rooms have windows that look into a common corridor instead of outside. Problem here is you really can't open the drapes without someone walking by looking in. So don't count on any sunlight to brighten the room. There rooms with outside windows - ask for one before you check in.
The rooms themselves were simple, but had a couch, desk, Refrig & TV. Not spacious, but not tight. There is a separate dressing area with a sink and mirror that was larger then usual. Two of us were able to use this space without a problem. Plenty of light and outlets.
They could use a little updating, but nothing was dirty or ripped. Bedding was clean and neat.
There is a café/bar that opens at 4pm and a breakfast area in the morning. We chose to eat
at the Red Dinner 1/4mile away (recommended by the front desk - Thank you) and had no complaints.
All in all if we needed to stay in the area, we would surely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an outside window!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI H, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hazlet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2014

Dear Lou M,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope that you would come and visit us again.

Thank you,
Abbie G.E.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

So, back in May I was trying to find a hotel for an August date so I could visit with relatives in NJ. I made the mistake of reserving a room on-line at the Hazlet Holiday Inn (in May). My credit card was charged immediately for the one night rate. When plans changed 3 weeks prior to the visit, I called to cancel and was told that the payment charged to my card was non-refundable. Wow, so Holiday Inn gets to keep my money, NJ gets to keep my sales tax on a service I will not receive, and I'm out $150. Lesson learned: NO ONLINE RESERVATIONS and stay away from Holiday Inn. I am selecting travel in July of 2014, although I would have traveled in August but August is not available on the drop down menu.

Room Tip: Call, don't reserve on-line, unless you are absolutely certain that plans will not change or you don't care if the hotel keeps your money despite a cancellation.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank GP O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hazlet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear GP O,

Thank you for your review about your stay. It is truly unfortunate to see that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Holiday Inn properties are a reliable chain of hotels but the hotel in Hazlet NJ needs some major renovations. Our last time there was June 2014 and the room furniture was beaten and chipped. The bath area tiles had dried grout all over them.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get one near the front desk, other wise it's a hike to get to some of the rear ones.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hazlet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Michael S,

Thank you for your feedback. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. It is lovely to read your kind words regarding our staff. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. I have taken note of your comments regarding the room accommodations. Please be assured that these will be shared to our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

this Holliday Inn seems to get a bad rap. we didnt experience any of that. yes it is a WEIRD layout. i think someone else mentioned it was an outdoor access hotel at some point that was converted to all indoor. this makes a little odd setup where your only window faces a hallway so basically you always have the curtains closed. a lot of peopled have complained about that but to them I say "so what?" you are not staying at a 4 star resort with a view, you are staying at a Holliday Inn on the Jersey shore. the only reason you are here is to go to the beach, not look out your hotel window. what very little interaction I had with the staff (check in and out) was very pleasant and professional. we ate at the hotel bar one evening and although the food was a little overpriced it was suprisingly good. I would return to this hotel whithout hesitation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hazlet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2014

Dear Luke B,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy your enjoyed your dinner at our bar as well. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Abbie G.E.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is an older Holiday Inn and was originally built with outdoor entrances, but it has been converted to indoor hallways. The room was quiet and clean and the AC worked very well, I as specially like when you can set the fan to constant ON. Room service was very good and moderately priced considering the part of the country (East Coast).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hazlet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear JAkles,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding our hotel. It is always encouraging on our end to read good comments from our guests. We take all reviews, positive and negative, very seriously. I would like to assure you that we continue to look for ways on how we can provide you the best hotel accommodations.

Once again, thank you for staying and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews