We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood restaurant with excellent food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caffe Piazza Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Piazza Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 73 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Amwell Road
Description: Caterings
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Neighborhood restaurant with excellent food”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is the second time we have been to Caffe Piazza, located in the Hillsborough Centre on Route 206. I ordered the Spaghetti Capricciosa (but with capellini instead of spaghetti). It has sun dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, gaeta olives with garlic and extra virgin olive oil. I just had a hard time getting past this dish on the menu listing. It was so good the first time. And equally good the second. Other diners were pleased with shrimp and scallops Fra Diavolo. Good and spicy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Typical overpriced pizza place that tries to do better quality food”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

what you would expect from a pizza place trying to be an Italian restaurant. Was not impressed by same old selections, not very creative.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muchomassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Decent food, good service, a bit higher priced than the quality of the food.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Four of us wanted to try a new restaurant in the Hillsborough area and read some good review on Caffe Piazza, so we decided to give it a try. We shared the fried calamari, which was tasty with some good red sauce. I thought the portion was a bit small, as I've been to restaurants where the portion size was triple what we received. I order linguine with red clam sauce. It was well above average, with about a dozen nice sized clams in shells. The sauce was nicely seasoned and the pasta tasted homemade. An other had chicken francese, which she said tasted like the chicken had been frozen. Another had a differentr chicken dish, but she liked. Our fourth had the house specialty which was a homemade sausage. He wasn't real impressed. A complimentary mixed green salad was served with a homemade vinaigrette.
All in all, it was just OK. Would I go back? Probably not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratty_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Mead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All around great place to meet & eat”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We eat at CP frequently. The food is of high quality ans served with attention to detail. The owner/chef frequently visit with customers and often offers customers and after dinner drink on the house. Considering the overall quality of food, the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ebonide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I'm afraid this was more cafe and less restaurant. Tables were left uncleared for quite some time and a steak ordered medium rare was almost well done. It wasn't that busy and it was a shame that it could have done so much better. The atmosphere is a little flat and they could do with walking 20 yards down to see Thai Kitchen III and how a restaurant should be run. I'm sure there are regulars who like it but for us it reminded us of 1970's Italian restaurants.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank awoolf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Piazza Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Bernardsville, NJ
 

Been to Caffe Piazza Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing