We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fun for young kids!”

Land of Make Believe & Pirate's Cove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“So fun for young kids!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We love the land of make believe! Short lines for everything, except the Ferris wheel, which is not great anyway. The water slides are fun even for little kids. The wading pool water is very cold but that's never stopped my kids. The place is geared toward young children so if you have pre teens or teens they may not like it at all. I have always found it to be clean. The food isn't great, which is on par for theme parks, but you can bring your own lunch and save some money which is always nice. The pricing is very reasonable in my opinion. Free parking. One of my favorite things is that the gift shop doesn't rob you blind. They have lots of things, some junk, but it is all very reasonably prices. My daughter got a princess doll with land of make believe embroidery for $3 if I remember correctly! You can't find those prices anywhere. The park is not so enormous that the children can't handle it.
We'll run park, lots to do and lots of fun every time we go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank albertkran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    111
    42
    18
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Season passes”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I bought season passes . We went mainly early in the day so we could get a good place to sit and put our stuff by the main pool. The pool is cleaner and quieter in the mornings too. Then we would go to do the rides in the afternoon. We love the santa (but felt bad for him because it gets hot up there) All the rides are perfect for younger kids. Jenny Jump rock is interesting. Wish they would open up the old farm house and make it an attraction. We enjoyed the talking corn man.
You kind of get the feeling the owner doesn't like people. Not sure why I got that vibe. I found all the staff nice and helpful. The lazy river and the big water park are great.
I think I only had to have words with someone once. She got gobby on the train so I told her to shut up. And someone moved my stuff off the lounger once and put her towel and skanky shorts there. But that was no big deal in the grand scheme of things. Most people kept themselves to themselves. Lots of people taking photos in the pool, so I would just make our kids wait. Don't want them in others photos in their swim suits.
I liked Ms.Santas grotto for pizza and to get out of the sun for a bit. Its festive. Over all the food is good and not bad price. The play is a fun thing for the kids to do and they like dressing up.
We played a lot in the candy canes and always won something on the games. The stuffed toys are a good mixture.
The free parking and the short lines to get in and get on the rides are a bonus.
Overall we had a fun summer at Land of Make Believe.
The season pass is good value. There are always buy one get on free on Adult day tickets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lehighfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute park for young kids”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you have young children, in the 4-8 years old range, they'll have a great time at this cute little amusement park off Route 80 near the Jersey/Pennsylvania border. Took my daughter with some of her preschool friends and they were able to handle most of the dry rides and ride tandem with adults on the large water slides. To give you an idea of the ideal crowd, the rides have signs that require kids over 36 inches, 42, 48, etc.

Older kids and adults will enjoy it for a few hours at most, riding the half dozen large water slides and a the ten or so kiddie rides (whirl-about, ferris wheel, carousel, mini-roller coaster, etc). But admission isn't high when compared to other parks, and concessions are reasonably priced. If you live within an hour, it's a good 4-6 hour experience that will have the kids passed out in the car on the ride home.

The staff at the park were all pleasant and made it a point to smile when they handed you food or money, contrary to the experience of previous reviewers (or maybe because of them). The deposits for the lockers are high, but worth the convenience. You can bring lunch, extra clothing, etc, and put your shoes inside when you're in the water area, which is fairly large and worth a couple hours of sliding.

All in all, a good value, but measure your expectations. Six Flags, Disney this is not.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great water and non-water attraction park. When you first arrive, it's nice to have brought a packed lunch for the family, as you sit in a shaded park benched area to eat (Ignore the signs everyone eats and picnics by the benches, no one cars or bothers you, maybe its an old sign?) anyway, after lunch, you head on over to the water attraction area where its open concept is fully enclosed around a bordered perimeter. In other words, each area is self contained, can't lose you kid(s), just keep sight of them inside the attraction for safety purposes of coarse!. You need to purchase lockers to keep all you stuff in. They offer a small and large, around $10 with a refundable $10 deposit when you return the key at the end of your stay. The first area is a large kiddie pool with a many fountains and water small slides to jump around, slide and play in. Beware! the water is freezing cold!!! but the kids don't seem to mind it at all! Around the whole area on the outskirts of this area are lounge chairs to sit in and watch all the action. Although, I would only recommend it AFTER the kids are done and want to towel off before going on to the next attraction area. The next area is a small hike around the back of where you just were. There is an enclosed pirate-themed water structure where the kids climb into get splashed, splash others and have fun getting zonked by the big bucket of water that tips over once every few minutes. O'h, just to mention , there are life guards everywhere that watch the kids very well!. Then there is the Lazy-River float that circles this play area. A lot of fun! relaxing. One last attraction in the water area, is the giant slide. A little scary. It's up high, as you'll have to climb what looks like three or four stories high worth of stair to get up there. Then your enclosed inside a tube-like structure for half the way down, then it opens up while you slide the rest of the way down. This is not for people with a fear of heights or claustrophobia! The only complaint we had, was that the changing area and bathrooms are disgustingly filthy and stinky! Gross! From there after getting dried and dressed, you'll exit this area and head on over to the "dry" rides, which the kids can go on as many times as they like. Thanks to the all-inclusive rides when you purchased you tickets at the entrance gate. Plenty of food, mostly junk, if your health conscience, but a plain burger and large bottle of water with a cup of ice was under $5.00, pretty good. All the rides are fun. My son & I didn't like the Roller Coaster and My wife was scared on the Ferris Wheel. Personal preference of coarse. This is our second time there this summer and will definitely go again. It's more fun when you go as a group or larger family. Hope this review helps.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangemout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kids had a blast. Humorously passive-aggressive signage.”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Supposedly, when you travel to Singapore, stepping on the grass is punishable by jail time. LOMB isn't as bad, but you can make an activity out of counting all of the "DON'T" signs at the place. The place is owned by one guy and you can tell he'd be a despot if he controlled anything larger than 30 acres.

Candy Cane forest? Don't climb on the candy canes. Kiddie pool climbing turtle and frog? Don't climb on it. "Don't picnic here, don't walk here, we don't take MasterCard or Visa because of their fraud policies, lifeguards decide what a bathing suit is, no religious exceptions."

If you can, peek inside the vending concessions. There are humorously condescending and passive aggressive warnings are posted to employees, most of whom seem to be European imports here for some money. There will be "consequences" if bills aren't facing the same way. "Hey you! Get that receipt out of your mouth!" "Sorry.. You can't use this window to serve customers."

That's not to say that places don't need rules, but there's a somewhat totalitarian vibe to a place that plasters its policies everywhere rather than doing what normal places do. Also, and this is just a minor quibble, for a place that caters to kids, they use peanut oil to fry everything. Both of our kids are allergic, and LOMB can do what they want, but there's a certain "in your face" attitude about it. In other words, they don't want to deal with injury claims, so don't come here if it is going to kill your kids.

In sum, if you are one of the dozens of European kids looking for a summer job at this place, you might want to consider North Korea or Siberia. For parents, your kids will enjoy Land of Make Believe as long as you can control their imagination.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JasoninNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Land of Make Believe & Pirate's Cove also viewed

 

Been to Land of Make Believe & Pirate's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing