We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location in need of updating...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Millrace Pond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Millrace Pond
Ranked #1 of 2 Hope B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet location in need of updating...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Considering the price they need to update the rooms, the bed was extremely loud, basically had no cushion-made for a horrible nights sleep...never again... The restaurant was ok, menu extremely limited and food quite bland. The one thing I wanted they apparently ran out...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe0371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    17
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
29
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stopped by here while walking across America, on The Great American Walkabout. It was a short distance from the Delaware Water Gap, and is a really lovely area and location. They were hosting a wedding reception when we arrived, and it seemed absolutely perfect for it. The grounds are stunningly beautiful, and the Inn itself is gorgeous. The place reminds me of a vineyard in Northern France. It has an old world elegance that is not so easily found here in the states.

The staff was really friendly and professional, and made sure that we had a good stay. We had walked over 3,000 miles to stay there, and they treated us like champions. The rooms were stylish and elegant as well, and I felt transported back in time to another era.

This is an excellent place for a weekend getaway, a nice night out in the country, or even for a wedding reception! It is on the West side of New Jersey, but really is only a short drive to or from the city, so definitely a place you should have on your radar. I would really love to stay here again, especially for a romantic rendezvous. Highly Recommend!

Room Tip: Tell them The Great American Walkabout sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkabout2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We only went to eat at the restaurant, we did not stay at the Inn. You dine here for the atmosphere. The Inn has a tavern upstairs and a restaurant downstairs. You can order from either menu. We usually sit downstairs whcih has a huge fireplace. You need reservations, it is small and there are not too many restaurants in the Hope, NJ area. Every Friday night there is live entertainment, local bands come to place, mostly folk guitar bands. It was my husbands birthday celebration. We have been to the Inn several times before including Mothers Day and Thanksgiving. Our menu consisted of the following: We had Shrimp appetizer (chubby shrimp, only 4 for $9.99, excellent), a house salad (so so), Butternut Squash soup (excellent), French Onion Soup (very good), Salmon (good), Penne with Vodka Sauce (OK), apple cobbler (Ok, way too much cinnemon), homemade berry sorbet (excellent). Bill totaled $125.96 with tip. We could have done much better elsewhere but we love the place and the live entertainment on Friday is a nice touch. In looking back on it, we could have just had the shrimp, soup and sorbet and would have been happy. A wonderful place, portions are large.

I

Room Tip: Inn at Millrace Pond, restaurant/tavern
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful venue for a restaurant; a historic building with great charm and, in season, a comfy fireplace. The food is not great but it is very good. It is well worth a visit or an occasion, and enjoy the atmosphere!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
422 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Going on five days without power after hurricane Sandy, we needed a warm bed, hot shower and good food. Thus, I booked two nights at the Inn, which is close to home. The place is beautiful and our room was comfy, although the bed did sag a little towards the middle. When we found out we had gotten power restored, I was able to cancel the second night. Now having stayed here, I'd definitely recommend it to people traveling to the area as accommodations are sparse.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful part of New Jersey, within easy drive of the Delaware Water Gap. It is near a couple of roads so there is some traffic noise, but that did not affect us, it’s just not quite a peaceful as it may look from the photos.

Our room was very nicely decorated in a Laura Ashley style, very clean and scented. Bizarrely the bed has 3 mattresses on it, which looked very grand but wasn’t that comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly.
We ate 1 evening meal in the restaurant which we enjoyed very much. The dining room is very atmospheric and nicely presented. I had sweet potato soup (excellent) followed by roast duck (good) and Mrs H enjoyed her meal too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Long, long story short: We contracted for a 5 hour reception with the manager, and we were told that he would be on premises for our wedding. The day of the wedding we were introduced to our maitre’d and the manager was not at our wedding. The contract information was never given to the maitre’d. Instead of the contracted 5 hour reception which was to end at midnight, the maitre’d told the band to wrap it up at 10:30, at which time the wait staff began clearing tables. When we finally got a hold of the maitre’d, advised him of his mistake, and he called the manager in charge, the wedding was over. The band left, our guests left by 11:00. In an attempt to compensate for the 1 ½ hours of reception time lost, band time lost, and our embarrassment, we were given our room at the inn for free. This does not compensate for the band time lost, not to mention losing the reception time. When we complained to the manager, he told us he thought the free room was fair compensation. When we wrote to Frungillo, he just flipped our letter to the manager, who again did nothing more. Our contract said midnight, our wedding invitations said midnight, but our wedding ended at 10:30 (not even 11:00!). We are now seeking remedy in small claim court. We could have overlooked this and just taken the loss, however there were so many smaller issues that we had to contend with throughout the day that made us feel that there was a blatant lack if care or consideration that was given to us. If you do decide to have your wedding at this location (it IS beautiful, the rooms are lovely, and the food is exceptional), be prepared to be VIGILENT and be prepared to have to MICRO MANAGE your wedding, as you will need to.

Room Tip: rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peanutpea9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
19.2 mi away
Lafayette Inn
Lafayette Inn
#2 of 7 in Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
10.5 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Hackettstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
12.1 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
13.3 mi away
Whistling Swan Inn
Whistling Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Stanhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Millrace Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Millrace Pond

Property: Inn at Millrace Pond
Address: 313 Hope Johnsonburg Road, P.O. Box 359, Hope, NJ 07844
Region: United States > New Jersey > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Millrace Pond 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Millrace Pond has a long and glorious history in Northwest New Jersey, having been a community staple in Hope since the Moravian Grist Mill the building once housed was built in 1769. Over the past several years, The Inn has gained a reputation as a delightful Bed and Breakfast, Fine Dining Restaurant, and a Corporate Center where major corporations and businesses regularly hold seminars and other company activities. Customers come from throughout the Northeast to enjoy the Inn's rustic ambiance. Nestled only ten minutes east of the Delaware Water Gap, and a quick drive to Jenny Jump state Park, the Inn's Bed and Breakfast is a perfect destination for anyone interested in the outdoor activities of North West New Jersey. With 17 antique-filled guest rooms, the Inn is fully prepared for family events, corporate parties, meetings, and other special functions. The Inn is well known for offering its guests personal attention throughout their stay. Not only can diners enjoy a fine dining experience "upstairs" but for those preferring more of a pub style atmosphere, the Fireside Tavern "downstairs" features a small bar and old time fire place that will make you feel right at home. In either dining room we welcome you to indulge in an array of both comfort foods and fine dining selections from Burgers and Chicken Pot Pie to Fresh Seasonal Seafood and Steaks. And of course, a generous menu of hand selected wines and a solid choice of rotating craft beers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Millrace Pond Hotel Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing