We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hopewell Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bell and Whistle - CLOSED

Bell and Whistle
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Hopewell Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Had dinner with two friend on a Saturday I December. The service was excellent. The food very good. I had mussels in white wine sauce. It was very tasty and had sausage which added to the flavor. For the entre I had the salmon. It too was very good and well cooked. The place is BYOB which is nice. My girlfriend had the pork loin but it was very spicy. The acoustics made the restaurant noisy. But it is nicely decorated.

Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of many good places in Hopewell”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Hard to get in most nights, just after Labor day weekend we were the only ones there, at first! Good service and food. Beet salad and fish taco were a hit. I had the ribs, and they were tasty and meaty. Well recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leftsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor but with only SoSo menu and difficult acoustics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This little restaurant held the promise of being a lovely dinner setting. The attention to the decor is thorough and pleasing, but the wood appointments left the acoustics caveronous and made it too difficult to enjoy conversation. The food was very average. Too bad. Thought this was a lovely find.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SandraVStockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing inspiring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The fish tacos were good. Service was fine. Just didn't feel compelled to return. Not a "must go" place for me. The tea service is unusual - in a good way.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Will be our stand by dinner out with friends. BYOB.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Joining the good restaurant list in the Princeton/Hopewell/Pennington area is not easy. Standing out because your food, service and ambiance rate high is even more difficult. B&W has done just that, however.

I've been there twice now, for lunch and dinner. Both times with discriminating friends. Both times, we were satisfied, even delighted and vowed to return.

Location and Building: Great combination of location on Broad St. (Rt 518) and set back new construction. Park on the street and walk back to an architectural success: stone, wood, glass and metal form a solid dining space that is calm/comfortable as well as elegant. Outdoor patio seating is connected to the indoor space by folding glass doors. Excellent design.

Service: During both visits we had a female server who was experienced, engaging and not overly solicitous. Tipped 20% both times.

Food: Beef quesadilla was savory and new; Roasted beet and pear salad was fresh and balanced. Pasta was seasoned just right (we had Italians in the group); the fish was fresh and perfectly finished. Duck was very good.

The 3 couples had such a good dinner that we ordered coffee and dessert. The flourless chocolate cake was excellent. Carrot cake was satisfying. Coffees and cappuccinos were good.

All in all, the dinner was good, we drank our 3 bottles of wine because the service facilitated a relaxed, indulgent evening out. We were there for nearly 2.5 hours but we didn't noticed the time passing. No one tried to urge us out (our reservation was 7:30PM on a Friday night) for a second seating. Better than a dinner party at home.

Price: $80/couple on 3 credit cards. Good value.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tennis105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bell and Whistle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing