We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Bad”
Review of The Brothers Moon

The Brothers Moon
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Opened in Hopewell Borough on the main street in 2000 to rave reviews and high acclaim. The Brothers Moon in Hopewell Boro was the pioneer, the first "Farm to Table" restaurant in the area. The Brothers Moon is an 80-100 seat full-service restaurant featuring a seasonally changing menu with daily additions. The beautiful front patio offers seasonal al fresco dining, in the heart of pretty Hopewell Borough. On one side of the building, our take-out cases are filled with the freshest salads, cheese, specialty meats, olives, and breads with delicious goodies, pastries, cookies and more from our own ovens. Health-conscious and vegetarian foods are always available. We pledge to use the finest ingredients in all that we prepare for our customers. The Brothers Moon is a place where the genuine care and comfort of our guests is our highest mission. The Brothers Moon welcomes your celebrations, events, and business gatherings. We offer two dining rooms with a total seating for up to 100 guests. Chef Will plans his menu in synchronicity with the true seasons of the earth. He takes pride in keeping in touch with nature by visiting and purchasing from local farms. These farmers in turn partner with and provide The Brothers Moon with the best food available.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Bad”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our friends were going on a trip and we decided to go out to dinner at Brothers Moon on a rainy Tuesday before they left. We've been there before and were not concerned about the very sparse crowd. My wife and I ordered the special-pork loin. Our friends were very happy with their choice of Griggstown Chicken. Our pork loin however was badly overcooked-hockey puck material. My wife could not chew it and returned it to the kitchen. The new piece was more edible but bordered on being raw. I perservered through mine, although the table thought it was funny that I had trouble cutting through the meat. I also mentioned to the waitress it was a terrible meal. The kitchen did nothing to make things right. I guess an apology by a young waitress was enough. As a result we will not return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jslep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good But Could Be Better”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a homey neighborhood restaurant you want to love: they use local ingredients for innovative sounding dishes and have a cheerful wait staff. We visit this restaurant several times a year, and up until the last year or so, it would have merited a 5 star review. However, we've noticed subtle changes not for the better. The dishes aren't as good as they used to be, and the service is very slow, and, at times, inattentive. For example, on our most recent visit for brunch, the waiter forgot to bring the bread he promised after he took our orders. When it arrived after we reminded him , it was stale and tasteless - certainly nothing special! We had to wait almost 40 minutes for our entrees to arrive and no coffee refills were offered until we asked. The brunch items were good, as were the desserts ordered for the table. However, a dinner there several months ago was not noteworthy or tasty but overpriced.. We're hoping the quality of the food and service return to what they were was in the past. Until then, we'll just come for the occasional brunch or lunch and hope for the best.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturelover212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Dinner”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We dined at Brothers Moon for their New Years Eve special prefix menu. Highlights were the lobster salad with sweet and sour tomato jam, Beef tournedo on brioche toast with truffle jus and the brownie chocolate chip tart for two. Excellent service with a warm atmosphere, will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were at Brothers Moon to celebrate husbands's birthday with friends. Service by our waiters: Abbas and Chris was excellent. Salads to dessert...were superb. (Shrimp with Penne, Risotto (to die for) and Griggstown Chicken. Look forward to return!!!! Plus they support local farmers!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Twp
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh and local!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Any place that supports local farmers is for me. Chef is wonderfully innovative and menu is seasonal and local. What better way to support your local economy and enjoy fresh food. Décor is simple yet elegant. I have enjoyed dinner here for years.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brothers Moon also viewed

 

Been to The Brothers Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing