We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK b&b for a budget traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jersey City Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Jersey City B&B and Inns
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK b&b for a budget traveller”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I stayed at the B&B in November 2011 for a couple of nights to visit New York city and the overall experience was OK. It was not as excellent as some reviews indicate, but as I was traveling alone, the price was an important factor. The rooms were basic, a bit out-dated and not very tidy, but the bed was very good and the pc with internet in the room was super great. Also the TV was nice, even though I did not have much time to watch it.

Breakfast was OK but I was not sure how fresh some of the stuff was, so I did not try everything. The guy who made pancakes was funny, he had all kind of stories and seemed to have visited all the possible countries...It was entertaining but don´t take him too seriously, maybe he´s repeating what he heard from the other travellers...

The location was not great since as a single traveler I did not feel safe to walk alone from the path station after dark. OK, taxi was not expensive, but 5-6dollars more everyday + path tickets makes you think if a place closer to Manhattan would have been worth after all. As a couple this would have been probably fine.

Overall I was satisfied with the place as I did not have high expectations. The owner was helpful and the B&B provided me a comfy bug-free bed, internet and nice breakfast with a reasonable price. If you want to stay in a family home type of accommodation and don´t mind the distance to manhattan, this place is for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pupu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stay in B&B's where ever we can when traveling. Not only did the Jersey City B&B offer great value but it was truly a slice of life in the area. Not the most luxurious we've ever stayed in but it had all the amenities we needed including free phones anywhere in the world. Not that we used it but it was a nice touch. Free computer and internet in our room and two TV's. A gorgeous view of the New York skyline.

The owner, Lonnie, even gave us a ride to the PATH train. It was very convenient to the ferry to Ellis Island/Statue of Liberty as well as PATH train to Manhattan.

Bed was comfy, room was clean, area was quiet - all good!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolmsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My friend and I decided to revisit New York and this time thought we would try staying at a B&B. We have stayed at B&B's before and have always been happy with the accomodations. After reading the glowing reviews we decided on this B&B. What a disappointment! Upon arrival the house looked like no one was home, we had to ring the door bell several times eventually a lady came to the door. Because of the unsavoury look of the neighbourhood we asked the cabbie to stay while we checked to see what the rooms looked like. We decided to stay for the night and see how we felt in the morning. The pictures that are on the site have not been updated since the place opened in 2007. We had the first floor with the king bed and the adjoining room with a double bed. The bathroom needed a really good scrub and there was mould growing in the shower! The place hasn't been dusted in a long time! the bedding was very old and didn't feel all that clean. Breakfast the next morning was cold meat, cold sausages, cheese, and eggs cooked by the lady from the night before who talked on her cell phone the whole time and who was wearing her t-shirt inside out! Except for the first night we arrived we never saw the amazing Lonnie once! We just kept telling ourselves that we weren't here to stay in the room and that this B&B if nothing else was cheap and you get what you pay for!
A lot of the information they provide is incorrect. The PATH is a good 15 minute walk from the B&B.
My friend and I don't consider ourselves hard to please but this place was just wasn't up to par at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2trvl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

if you are a business traveler, doing business in J.C. travelling alone,this might be a good fit -- computer, wifi. office set-up, mini-fridge; but very cramped! Only about 6 inches between the beds, & against the wall. You had to walk over 1 of the beds to get to the closet. Our room was on the 3rd floor -- the stairs were very steep, and mgt not always there to help w/bags. The bathroom still needs work -- the shower (no tub) was a fiberglass shell only attached on 2 sides, the 3rd side was free, with no attempt to conceal it. The beds were very comfy.
On our 1st night, it was obvious 2 screaming school age children lived there.
Although room info stated there were restaurants close by, and promised take-out menus, but only a menu for a very BAD pizza joint was available. When I asked about neighborhood restaurants I was told to drive to the next city.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoonhoven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

After reading the review on the website, the Starwars pinball machine, free internet, packed fridge, one mile from NYC, 10 min. walk from path station, I thought 'that's the one'!!!

It's all there, all that was listed, the ten minute walk to the station, I've even tested Lonnie the Inn keeper and he really knows 1-10 in Thai ;-)

But what's the best about this B&B is that he does almost everything to make you feel at home, to ensure you are having a great time!

Whenever he could find the time he spend some with us, dropped us of in NYC and we had a great time in the FAO Schwarz toy store in NY with his boys.

His motto is not to run a B&B but to run 'the best B&B' and having seen quite a few I can say without a doubt, this is the best.

If one's in doubt choosing beteen a hotel or a B&B when going to New York, Jersey City B&B has about 150 reasons to choose the latter.

I for one, am not really a big city person, was in NY 15 years ago and felt like a Dutchman in New York, uneasy and 100% tourist, this visit to Jersey City B&B almost made me think NYC was my second home ;-)

Taxi rate from JFK to Jersey City B&B (at 2 A.M) was 98$
Taxi from B&B to Newark was 40$ both were flat rates

Walk to the path station is as described on website (10 minutes), walk up to burger king (on your left), take a right and walk 8(?) blocks and you'll see the path station.
(you'll see a.o. a subway fastfood on the left).

Taxi from path station to mercer street will be 5 bucks.

Rooms, top with airco, water cooler, comfy bed and a breakfast (waffles, eggs anyway you want them, meats, milk, orange juice, cereals, etc) which will prepare you for an exhausting NYC day!!

Don't even think about a hotel or another B&B in NYC / Jersey City, Jersey City B&B is were you want to start your NYC trip.

I used to believe there were only 2 good people on this world, the pope and Santa, now I've added Lonnie to my list ;-)

Mike vd D

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickDunDool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The hosts were great and friendly.
The room was further from the PATH than I thought. It was extremely hot at the time we were there. There was no air conditioning in our bedroom or bathroom. When we arrived back to our room at night, the air was off and we had to sit under the window air conditioner to cool down as there was no ventilation in the room. The bathroom tub needs some extra TLC and please......give your guests shower gel not soap that someone else has used.
The hosts were great otherwise. I would just spend more money next time for the added conveniences. If money is an issue, then this place is ok.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We were attracted by the very positive ratings on their own web site & trip advisor & booked the king suite. The promised views of the Manhattan skyline were true, king bed is very comfortable, Italian leather lounge is comfortable & in room computer & printer is good. Wifi connection also worked well. There is a chilled water cooler, microwave, big flat screen TV & a room fridge that tended to have fading spells.The bathroom was a long, long way from the cleanest we have ever encountered & the towels were pretty drab. Fluff under furniture had been gathering for quite some time.
We are amazed at how quiet things are a 20 minute Path ride away from 33rd Street station.We are quick walkers & Journal Square was 12 minutes walk on our best effort.
Breakfast is Ok without being notable although we get to choose the time & talk to others from the other 2 rooms. There is a pinball machine & a big multi-function massage chair in the entry area that seem to be more indulgences of the owner. Outside of breakfast & the welcome we rarely see the owners. Access to tourist info & advice is less than was posted by previous guests of the B&B and there were certainly no offers of lifts to transport or restaurants that some others notedon the B&B web site.
In summary the price compared to New York hotels was the saving grace.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJBAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey City Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey City Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jersey City Bed & Breakfast
Address: 442 Mercer Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jersey City Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jersey City Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Bed And Breakfast
Jersey City Bed & Breakfast New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing