We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good for business travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good hotel for business travelers. Its next to Newport mall, near PATH station & walking distance from TARGET & KEYSTORE departmental stores. Nice view of Hudson from the rooms.
A small fridge is available on chargeable basis (charges are fixed irrespective of your stay duration).

Look out for Heavenly bath - its amazing - the shower throws water at high pressure which is as good as a massage.

If you opt for not getting your room cleaned, they offer coupons which can be used to waive off meal bills.
B'fast options are limited for veg folks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sourabh_dhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    482
    100
    46
    25
See reviews for
412
327
84
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Just what you'd expect. A fine business hotel. Nothing fancy here. Also, while close to NYC, still feels miles away in this random Jersey business district.
Some great views of the city here. Especially the freedom tower. Other than that it's just a decent priced hotel, but I really wouldn't want to spend holiday here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank mpolatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This was an amazing facility and staying on this side of the river really enhanced our New York trip. We were able to enjoy a spacious and peaceful hotel and the beautiful Manhattan skyline from here. Mass transit travel into the city was a breeze - conveniently located and affordable. The concierge service at the hotel goes above and beyond to ensure that you have all your plans and directions set for whichever way you are headed for the day. They also assisted us with setting up our car service to and from the airport. We will never stay anywhere else when visiting NYC. The boardwalk is a lovely place to walk and see the NY skyline, and the train also took us to Hoboken, which another lovely place to see.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DKU53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Greetings DKU53051,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience staying at our property. As we strive to provide excellent service to our guest, it is wonderful receiving such positive comments from our valued guests.

Please know that I will forward your comments to the appropriate Managers so that our concierge can receive the acknowledgement for a job well done.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another refreshing stay.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great location across from the Marina and the path station to NYC. Standard Westin hotel with spicy aroma in lobby as usual. The restaurant in the hotel was great (Fire something) but NYC priced; the part that irked me a bit was whether you self parked or valet, it was $22 night. I'd expect that in NYC, not jersey city. Hotel sites like Hotels.com, priceline.com and hotelstonight.com should have parking prices as a standard piece of information. It's like bidding on ebay without knowing the shipping and handling price.

Room Tip: ask for the marina side for a view of the NYC skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhumika B, Executive Assitant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Greetings pcg123,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback is our best opportunity to hear the voice of the customer, and to learn the areas in which we can improve our service.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Please allow me to address your feedback. The parking garage our guests use is a separate facility that is run by Central Parking System. As such, we are not able to cover parking or valet costs. They are based on what Central Parking System determines the charges should be.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for a more enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Westin Newport is quite close (5 minutes walk) to Path train which will get you to lower Manhattan or mid-town in 15-20 minutes. During your spare time you can use the nice gym in the hotel or run on the board walk which offers nice skyline views of Manhattan. View of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson river from the room is quite nice. We stayed here for just 1 night and the hotel was comfortable. But the phone didn't work (couldn't even call the reception) so had to use my cellphone to call the number listed on their website all the time- they couldn't fix it during our stay. The room wasn't cleaned well as there was a old pretzel under the coffee table and crumbs all over the carpet - again, it wasn't worth complaining as we were there only for a day. The to go breakfast choices are disappointing so if you've the time and money, buy a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PM-DEL-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear PM-DEL-82

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback is our best opportunity to hear the voice of the customer, and to learn the areas in which we can improve our service. Please feel free to email me at bhumika.bharucha@westin.com so that we I can look into your stay further.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel to experience the service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was a great hotel! Even more surprisingly is that a place of its caliber allowed dogs...it was absolutely immaculate. I stayed a week+ for work and brought my two dogs with me (a mini schnauzer and a rescue mix) and they absolutely enjoyed their stay. Its so nice, all the visiting "sports teams" stay here too. During our stay, we saw the Jacksonville Jaguars, Indianapolis Colts, Philadelphia Union and the Mexican National Soccer Team!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Greetings jvmoney,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property even that snow storm and we were able to provide a comforting stay. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such positive comments from our valued guests. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our pet policy and you were able to travel with them.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another refreshing stay.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a great experience at this Westin Hotel. One of our favorites. The staff was so willing to please and Ben the Concierge was extremely helpful. We had a suite with a girls overnight and a 21st Birthday and he arranged to make it very special for us. The hotel is so clean and comfortable with great views. Location is fantastic. Walking distance to path train to NYC and lots of restaurants around the area to walk to. Parking is a little pricey but the stay was worth it.

Room Tip: The one bedroom corner suite gave a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah82060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Greetings Sarah82060,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience with us. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our Front Desk Managers.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another refreshing stay.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City Newport

Property: The Westin Jersey City Newport
Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront Financial District of Jersey City, our AAA/CAA Four Diamond hotel is just 200 steps and one subway stop to NYC. Featuring spacious guest rooms and inspiring view of Manhattan we're walking distance to great restaurants on the Hudson waterfront. Explore our hotel renovation, escape to the serenity of our 429 Jersey City accommodations and treat yourself to a stay in one of our elevated rooms for stunning view of the NYC skyline. Experience the rejuvenating Heavenly Bath and the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, perfect for a blissful night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Starwood, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport
The Westin Jersey City Newport New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing