We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay, Excellent Staff-Romantic too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay, Excellent Staff-Romantic too!”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in late August. Could not have been happier with our choice! I indicated that it was our anniversary, and they chose a great room with a beautiful view (well worth it to pay the smal charge for a room that looks across the River to NYC!), and also, left us a thoughtful gift--champagne and a beautiful dessert tray!
Our room was large, very clean, and extremely comfortable! From the front desk to the valet, everyone was welcoming and friendly; always glad to help in any way.
Very nice amenities, upgraded bed linen on a comfortable bed,and no noise from anyone other guests, at any time.
Perfect place to stay to hop over to Manhattan, but we enjoyed Washington Street (Carlo's Bakery, shops, and restaurants), and searching for Frank Sinatra "places", so much, that we did not venture over to NYC this trip.
Don't miss a stay at the Westin Jersey City; you'll enjoy every moment of your time here!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joboxer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    500
    107
    47
    27
See reviews for
428
335
86
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We picked this hotel for our 6 night stay (or rather, Priceline picked it for us) based on cost. The hotel is a comfortable place to stay, near Manhattan, but quiet even with the building construction outside between it and the Doubletree hotel. We stayed in two rooms on the 8th floor; one a king, the other two double beds.

Parking is available, both valet and in the adjacent Newport Mall. The Westin has a dedicated self-parking area in the mall parkade for $22/day. We left our van there for the duration of our stay and had no problems.

The 5-minute proximity to the PATH subway (Pavonia-Newport station) to Manhattan is a significant plus. We travelled by PATH daily to various points in Manhattan and it was convenient and inexpensive (a 10-ride QuickCard is $13). Many PATH stops are close to MTA subway stations. Bear in mind that weekend/late night service is less frequent than weekdays.

The hotel itself is 6-months new, and very clean throughout. The rooms are much larger than their equivalent in NYC. LCD TV received several Hi-def channels. The showers have a dual head and good water pressure. And the bedding was indeed heavenly. There were some minor service lapses, but nothing to get worked up about. Free daily USA Today newpapers, Wifi (in the lobby), and granny smith apples.

We thought the Westin was an excellent value overall, and would recommend this hotel for anyone who doesn't need to be in NYC proper.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

This hotel isn't much to look at from outside, but inside it is beautiful. We spent one night here on our way back to NM from the UK. We were surprised that it was a 20 minute $50+ cab ride from EWR, but honestly, it was worth it. We called the day ahead to see if we could check in early, and when we arrived around noon, we were able to go straight to our beautiful room. Severely jet-lagged, all we wanted to do was eat and sleep. We were on the 4th floor and had a view of the construction next-door, which was mesmerizing for our 3 year old boys! We felt like we were in a cocoon, however, because we never heard a sound from outside, the hallway, or adjacent rooms. The beds really are heavenly (and I am extremely choosy), and food in the restaurant was quite good, and, though spartan, the pool is large and clean. My kids and husband went for a swim. The art and color scheme in the rooms are all earth tones, impressionistic, and very soothing. Just what we needed. What impressed me most about the Westin, though, were the eco-friendly touches. Not just a sign in the bathroom saying to please re-use your towels, but compact florescent bulbs in every light (even in the halls, I checked), and a recycle bin next to the trash can in our room. The one drawback was the commute to the airport, and my one criticism is that although we called down for a taxi the morning of our departure, it never arrived, and we waited 20 minutes for one. Oh, and the service in the restaurant was a bit slow, even though only two tables were taken.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We arrived early on July third and check-in was excellent as we were able to check in at about 1230pm. We got what some would consider the "Priceline room" . Not too high in the building, the eighth floor I think with a view of the construction site next door. No problem as we did not spend too much time in the room. This is a very nice hotel with comfortable rooms,flat screen TV etc. Our only complaint was the maid service. The glasses we had used were not replaced and in fact were left where we had left them. It was obvious that the room had net been vacuvmed and the toiletries were not replaced. Others have raved about the service here but that was not our experience. This is a great location for a short subway ride into new York and we have stayed in this area before. I would have to say that I prefer the Hyatt .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 506canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed from August 7th - 10th. We got a great deal through their website, and made an advance purchase which we could not cancel. I was in a car accident the night before we were supposed to leave, and when I called the hotel they were very understanding, and gladly pushed the reservation to arrive one day later.

When we arrived we were placed in a room on the 7th floor, but the toilet made a funny noise and we were facing the construction, they gladly upgraded us to a top floor, and had maid service fill the bed with foam pillows because I was quite sore from the accident.

Heavenly king bed lives up to its name....it's like sleeping on a cloud...surrounded by all those fluffy head pillows, foam pillows, body pillows, and even though we were two people in the bed it felt like I was alone because there was so much room!!! I'm not one to fall into a deep sleep, but I sure did in that bed. I would love to have taken it home with me!

We chose to self - park instead of valet, be careful if you want to take your car out you will be charged but it still works out cheaper then valet.

We used the PATH train directly across from the hotel, $1.75 per person each way, and you were at 33rd in less then 15 minutes. It was a pain in the butt sometimes because we went to the city several times a day, sometimes it was packed with people, or the AC was not working but overall it was better then driving and 15 mins is not that bad.

Location : You are next to a mall with a food court, there are a few restos near the hotel but thats it. Conficius and Bertucci's ( 2 blocks away) are both amazing and fairly priced. We did not eat at the hotel.

Overall room was clean, bright, VERY spacious and had an amazing flat screen television where we watched several HD movies (free HBO) while we would get ready to go out, or while we ate. Staff was amazing, courteous, and willing to do ANYTHING to make sure you were smiling. Pool , gym were all open while I was there, but I stuck my foot in the jacuzzi and it was not very hot but who has time to swim or soak when you're in New York?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkykiss28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

First off the pool was closed. The spa was closed. The gym was closed. No explanation. We were given no hotel intinerary. No warm greeting. We were told we would have a room above the 15th floor, with a great view. We were given a room on the 8th floor, with a good view from one area in the room. The rest of the view was of a high parking lot on a building and town houses that could see in. We were told the next day they would move our belongings up to the 18th floor (while we explored New York). We came back at 12 midnight, and they told us we lost the room because we weren't back by 10:00. We weren't told we would have a curfew. We were told the view from the 8th floor wasn't that much better then the 18th floor anyway. The staff made us feel as if we were at fault, using words like "we were willing to upgrade you" and "let me tell you how hotels work." The ladies at the desk and the night manager were rude and sarcastic. My husband spoke to the manager the next day, who was empathetic, and polite. We were compensated a free night, and $80 breakfast voucher (breakfast was okay kind of except for the burnt part, and the argument from someone else who was miss informed by the desk as to what time breakfast was until). Not worth the hassle and frustration. We were moved to the 18th floor where the view was way better than the 8th floor.We could see the Empire State, the Brooklyn Bridge and the New York skyline. We had 1 hour to enjoy it then , and 1 hour at night . We left the next day. The remote for the T.V. didn't work. The desk lamp didn't work. The bathtub looked better in the pictures. The maid didn't bring clean glasses. There was only one robe. The night room service was a salad, or turkey sandwich only. It was the worst hotel experience I've ever had, The only good thing about this place was the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2009

As an airline crewmember I stay in various hotels around the globe and always see which hotels really care.
This one definitely does.
Clean and spacious rooms, bathrooms are equipped with double shower-heads, one can be turned off to save water.
Large flat-screen tv's with some channels in HD.
Food in the hotel very good although a bit pricey but there are plenty of other options within walking distance.
Excellent location for a short relaxing stopover or for visiting New York City just across the Hudson.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watchhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City Newport

Property: The Westin Jersey City Newport
Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront Financial District of Jersey City, our AAA/CAA Four Diamond hotel is just 200 steps and one subway stop to NYC. Featuring spacious guest rooms and inspiring view of Manhattan we're walking distance to great restaurants on the Hudson waterfront. Explore our hotel renovation, escape to the serenity of our 429 Jersey City accommodations and treat yourself to a stay in one of our elevated rooms for stunning view of the NYC skyline. Experience the rejuvenating Heavenly Bath and the signature Westin Heavenly Bed, perfect for a blissful night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport
The Westin Jersey City Newport New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing