We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of El Sabroso

El Sabroso
Ranked #318 of 596 Restaurants in Jersey City
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“great food”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

good spanish food. the price is good the owners are nice with the customer they come out to chat with you to see if you are served ok. and if everything is ok

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank yazmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The Best Latin Cuisine in Jersey City/Hoboken Area”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I've been a faithful patron since their humble beginnings on Lincoln St in a small hot 2 burner kitchen. Now in their new improve location on Central Ave, I'm still a faith faithful customer. The food is the most authentic, the Pernil (pork) and Yellow rice is always delicious. The Ropa Vieja is tender and tasty. The Pupusas on Wednesday are the best around. The chicken in the oven is consistently delicious. The Alcapurrias are known by everyone to be just like in Puerto Rico. If you want a taste of real Latin Cuisine try El Sabroso. Advice if you don't want to wait order in advance or have it deliver. They have enough room to sit and enjoy your meal. And they take credit cards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

“Not all that and a whole lot less...”
Jun 20, 2010
Mannyjfk2003
Coming from NYC where you can find good restaurants in every other corner, I can tell you that El Sabroso is not all that. I have ate there several times and noticed that the portions are very small, the servers don't use head gear and if you are in a rush, don't even bother. They seem very disorganized in their process. If you go there to get some "Alcaurrias" (spanish banana fritters) you have to wait at least 20 minutes. The place is OK because there is nothing else better than this around.

It's funny how much u hate the place but u keep going back.. so Manny u go into every kitchen and see if everyone is wearing head gear. Plus if u have to wait for the alcaurrias its because they make the as u order them. They don't have them sitting under a hot light all day... I love their food and if I have wait for fresh food I will wait.. I don't like eating old food from the day before...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jose312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Not all that and a whole lot less...”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Coming from NYC where you can find good restaurants in every other corner, I can tell you that El Sabroso is not all that. I have ate there several times and noticed that the portions are very small, the servers don't use head gear and if you are in a rush, don't even bother. They seem very disorganized in their process. If you go there to get some "Alcaurrias" (spanish banana fritters) you have to wait at least 20 minutes. The place is OK because there is nothing else better than this around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mannyjfk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
1 review
“Mofongo Paradise”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The food is phenomenal! If you like Boricua food this is the place for you.
Their Mofongo with camarones is to live for. The honors are lovely people
who will come by to chit chat with you. "The prices are excellent. Cash only.
Enjoy your meal. Buen provecho!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minin756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Sabroso also viewed

 

Been to El Sabroso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing