We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, ok food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritime Parc

Maritime Parc
Reserve with OpenTable
Maritime Parc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 591 Restaurants in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Freedom Way
Transit: Light Rail, Ferry
Jersey City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service, ok food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This place used to be our favorite restaurant in Jersey City. Went for Mother's Day. The service is beyond bad. Inexperienced wait staff, mistakes, unattentive. Not up to par with the cost of this pkace. Food was barely ok. Nothing mind blowing. Sorry to see a place go down like that.

Overall, the nice view and atmosphere can't make up for the shortcomings. Ok for having a burger on the patio for lunch, otherwise avoid it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shatiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I joined another couple last night at Maritime and we were all very impressed. The food pairings were creative and fresh. The location and atmosphere are unique and beautiful. After our delicious meal, we walked around the grounds and marina. There is a breathtaking view of lower Manhattan which seems like a stones through away. I have never written a restaurant review, but this experience inspired me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MIchelle132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Concept, but Failed to Execute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The food looks nice and the pairings sound delicious: scallops and braised short ribs, grilled octopus and bacon... But bite after bite, we found ourselves disappointed; the seasonings were off on several dishes, especially the filet, and the flavor combinations never quite came together for us (with the exception being the home made sorbets).

We tried a seafood tower for the table, and the oysters and assorted seafood cocktails/ceviches were delicious. Clams could have been a lot fresher, so hopefully that's not a consistent issue. Some of the wine pairings for our tasting menu were late getting to to table, and service was slow overall. Really wanted to like this price and justify the $100 per person price tag, but can't say that I'd go back again when so many other places are doing the same concept.

They get bonus points for preparing a kids menu for our family party, and the location is definitely nice. A quick stop in the chic bar might be worth a visit if your in the area, but would recommend sampling some of the dishes before committing to a full tasting menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Magnificent view right on the water. Wonderful service and delicious food. Truly one of a kind - highly recommend it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank judybug5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York metro area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BRAVO, CHEF SIVERSEN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

A last-minute reservation at Maritime Parc turned out to be THE BEST dinner I've had in years! I had the 4-course tasting menu; each bite literally made my taste buds dance! The 1st course-OUTSTANDING: fresh squid, Thai basil, bok choy, shiitake mushroom, shrimp broth, lime yogurt. The 2nd-UNFORGETTABLE: sea scallops, crispy pancetta, pea pudding, pea greens. The 3rd-DELICIOUS: pork tenderloin, crispy polenta cake, shallot jam, au poivre sauce. Dessert was NOT TO BE OUTDONE; I chose the watermelon granita, lime meringue, moscato d'asti. I was amazed at the talent behind the creation and presentation of each course. Can't wait to go back for Sunday brunch! BRAVO, CHEF SIVERSEN! BRAVO!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelfoodie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Parc also viewed

 

Been to Maritime Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing