We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was the PERFECT location to experience New Year's in NYC, or any trip into NYC. The PATH (subway) station is literally beside the hotel. It was an easy commute into the city. The area of Jersey City is very nice, safe, clean, and relatively quiet. There are lots of little restaurants to walk to. This hotel is right on the Hudson. We actually decided not to venture into the city for NYE, but about 100 people gathered on the riverwalk where we could see straight over to Times Square. We watched from a distance as the Square went crazy at midnight and you could see the fireworks very nicely. A great location, a great stay.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, the elevators are not in the middle of the hall so you do not hear the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRAwanderingCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I decided to stay at this hotel because of the convenience of the PATH Train.. right next door.... $2.50 one way into the city. Wonderful hotel, front desk staff are awesome. Always very helpful with information. The rooms are very spacious, beds are comfy. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Never any towels left in the evening, but I let the front desk know and the towels were delivered. Cheaper and easy way to get to visit the Big Apple. We were able to walk to Carlos Bakery with the kids.... Mall across the street with restaurants and a great Pizza place just three doors down from the hotel! I would stay again here for sure for another visit to NYC! Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mne1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments about the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. So glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. We will be monitoring our pool area more often to make sure we do not run out of towels.
Hope you can visit us again in the near future.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Came from the UK to see NYC and was very pleased with this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the location...right next door to a PATH station, getting into NYC is very quick and easy (and you're not paying NYC hotel prices). There is a good choice of places to eat close to the hotel, and there is a mall right opposite, with all popular shops/fast food. Just a short walk away is a great view of Lower Manhattan across the Hudson, something which you will not see if you stay in NYC.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and very informative about tourist attractions. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, no thrills but perfect for what we wanted. Can't really fault the hotel in anyway. I would definitely recommended this hotel if visiting NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dartwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel during your stay here with us. We have enjoyed many friends from the UK and also many other Countries at our hotel and so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found the hotel so conveniently located to New York City. Our staff is indeed the very best and very knowledgeable about our surrounding area and attractions. Thank you for your compliments.
We shall look forward for your next visit. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been to New York on a number of occasions and have stayed in places as diverse as the W to a friends pied a terre in the Upper East side. We have also stayed once in a property in New Jersey and all to often were left for want. Perhaps because we found the rooms a bit too small, the rates to exorbitant or parking charges so ludicrously astronomical at the properties. Then we came across this property and we simply cannot tell you what an amazing place this is. The rooms are clean, modern and large. The lobby modern and reception staff gracious, knowledgeable and smiling ( well Ashley any way). Breakfast was abundant and the choice varied. Parking is valet on site and the piece de la resistance is that the PATH is right next door. I mean, right next door and this takes you into Manhattan. Your stops include Greenwich Village ( Christopher street) and you can be dropped off at 23rd and make your way Eataly ( the most amazing emporium to Italian food on the planet) and further up to Penn Station with connections to the New York subway. I will 100% be returning to this property for my future visits to NYC and unreservedly recommend anyone to stay here. You will NOT find better.

BTW, there are many restaurants around and also a mall just across. For those looking for retail therapy!

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from Washington Blvd. Our room was 902 and the views of the Empire State at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjy88sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. So glad that you enjoyed our hotel with all the local attractions, restaurants and easy access to New York City.
We shall look forward for your next stay. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Each time I go to New York I either stay right on Times Square or in Jersey City.

The advantages of staying in Jersey City is the Price and there is a PATH Train which cost you 2.50$ each way to get to 33rd Street corner 6th Avenue in Manhattan which is where the Big Macy's is in Manhattan also near Madison's Square Garden. The advantage of the Path Train is that it is open 24h....so you can party all night in Manhattan and come back whenever you want. In other towns you would have to take a bus but buses have schedules that end at the latest 1am.

The only thing I don't like about this hotel is the restaurant in the Lobby...I don't know if it's ever open.
But for breakfast there is a great breakfast place in front of the hotel called COSI...
Valet parking is 16$

It was my 4th time staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dannyborja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay here with us. We are indeed very conveniently located to New York City as well as other local attractions and restaurants.
Our Lobby Bistro is open for breakfast 6:30am-9:30am Monday-Friday and 7am-11am Saturday and Sunday. We are also open for dinner and drinks every day from 5pm-11pm.
Thank you for choosing our hotel again.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

In town to visit NYC, chose the courtyard Marriott , Newport, Jersey City. Could not be happier. Steps from the PATH station , 20 minutes to NYC. Rooms very nice, quiet, valet parking. Front desk staff, especially Carolina, extraordinary. Thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyj083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here with us. I am pleased that your contact with Carolina was memorable and I will be sure to let her know.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great location, next door to PATH which takes us to 33rd street and WTC in 20 minutes. The surrounding area is clean and safe. Good choices of restaurants nearby. Hotel breakfast is convenient. You may also have good breakfast across street at a place called "cosi". Room is comfy. Bed is excellent. Service is quite good.

Not fancy lobby but quite functional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wei c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you took fully advantage of our convenient location.
We appreciate your business and hope that you will visit us again soon.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
0.3 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: £133 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Marriott
Jersey City Courtyard
Courtyard Jersey City Newport New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing