We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,friendly,clean but forget bistro!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Lake George, New York
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great hotel,friendly,clean but forget bistro!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Love Marriot courtyards. This one is very convenient,staff friendly and rooms spacious,clean and well equipped. However we had two bad experiences with the bistro. First was asking for three glasses of wine.attendant had to call for someone at front desk. She then couldn't find the Sauvignon blanc because she didn't know it was white and in the cooler. Then proceeded to joke with attendant instead of serving our wine. No rush took 20 minutes from start to finish. Breakfast was worst! Just wanted to have coffee and wait for my wife to join me for breakfast. No free coffee but I had to order breakfast with me voucher. Just give me the coffee so I can wait. Voucher includes only medium coffee. Unheard of in the Marrioutt chain!
Otherwise I would return,but not to this Bistro!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Robert B,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay here with. Please accept my sincere apology that we did not meet your expectations in our Bistro. I have shared your review with our Bistro management & staff so that improvements can be made immediately. We do offer complimentary coffee in all our rooms but not in our Bistro. Our coupon voucher that is included with the breakfast package does mention mid-size coffee but we do upgrade to a bigger size on request at no additional charge.
We appreciate your business and again thank you for your candid feedback. Please visit is again on your next trip to our area.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    268
    62
    14
    12
See reviews for
242
132
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston area, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

January 2014 marks the fourth time I've stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Jersey City. Top three reasons I like this hotel: Always a better bargain and more affordable room rates than any hotel in Manhattan. Bigger rooms. No bedbugs (If you want the lowdown on these critters, check out the Bedbug Registry online and look up Manhattan hotels. You'll shudder at the reports.) Also, the hotel is peaceful and quiet and the rooms are nicely decorated. The hotel is maybe 80 steps from the Newport PATH station, and the trains go to WTC and 33rd St., connecting with the subway. For serene surroundings in which to recharge for the next busy day, this hotel has more than fit the bill for me.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Hudson River side have the view, but the rooms facing away from the river are bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violethush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Violet Rush,
Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your candid feedback and love that you're a loyal returning guest. So glad you have enjoyed our hotel rooms, location and local attractions especially the convenience to the Path (train) to New York City.
We certainly appreciate your business.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed while on business in NJ and NYC, and the location can't be beat. It's in the waterfront area of Jersey City, with a handful of restaurants in walking distance. Plus, it's next door to the PATH train, for an inexpensive, quick trip to NYC. The hotel was clean, quite and comfortable, and the front desk staff was helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_PSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and so happy you had a great experience here with us.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last week and had a good experience. I was upgraded to a very nice King Suite due to my Platinum Marriott status (not all hotels do this even though they are supposed to if the rooms are available). Staff was friendly and helpful. The views on the backside of the hotel face Manhattan, with some minor blockage from other nearby buildings. I suggest you request a higher floor to take advantage of the sight lines. The neighborhood around the hotel is pretty quiet, the only congestion comes from the nearby PATH train that takes commuters to New York City.

The only negative thing that happened during the stay was some plumbing problems on my final morning there. Some black stuff came up out of the drain and wouldn't unclog itself (I skipped that shower). I notified the front desk; they apologized and stated that they would credit me with extra MR points - however, they didn't follow through with that.

Overall, I would stay here again and I would recommend it to other business travels with work in Jersey City.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bretts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your stay with us here at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. So glad that we were able to upgrade you to a suite and that the staff met your expectations.
We apologized for the inconvenience with the plumbing in the room. We will review with our housekeeping staff to make sure they are more attentive in the future.
Please give me a call if your points promised have not been posted to your account so that I can personally input them.
We value your business and hope you will visit us again soon.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantford
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard Jersey in September when my husband and I went to visit NYC for a long weekend. Hotel is clean. Rooms are decent. Did not like houskeeping walking in on us early in the morning! We did not hear them knock- opened the door and started to walk in until we yelled out.
It was barely 8am! Also did not think staff at front desk was very friendly. They were courteous, but rather dry, and didn't really believe us when we told them about the incident. Girl at the breakfast counter was courteous with us but I thought rude to another customer who didn't speak english too well. She repeated in a loud and condescending way to the man.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrantfordEfigenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback with us. We deeply regret the experience you had with our staff and offer our sincere apology.
After receiving your review, we had a meeting with our Housekeeping and Restaurant staff and have shared your comments; we will make sure we do not inconvenience future guests.
We value your business and hope you will come and visit us again.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Next to the Path Station and opposite a Cosi! For a schoolgirl visiting New York this was perfect!!! There was easy access to Manhattan and the hotel itself was very good. Medium sized room with everything one needed with a good bathroom. Friendly staff and good housekeeping.
A very nice location...right opposite a large mall and bang next to the Path station to Manhattan.
Could not ask for more!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeblepimkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on January 14th. So glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and took advantage of our location to visit New York City and also our local attractions.
Please do visit us again if your traveling’s brings you back to our area.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, NB, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went to visit New York City with a high school hockey team during the Christmas break. There were approximatly 45 of us that stayed at the Courtyard. What a beautiful hotel. Very accomodating. The rooms are nice and the lobby is great. Each night the group of parents would get together to have a few drinks and they would let us sit in the lobby which is great since going into someone's room is never a good options. I also loved the fact that I could get a Starbucks coffee at any time of the day! The locations is great as well. The Path train is right next door and with a group it was perfect. The Path train takes you to either the World Trade Center or 33rd street (Empire State Building). There is also a great mall directly in front of this hotel. I would defintetly return to this hotel. Great location!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocostain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on January 12th. We are so happy you and your group truly enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our spacious lobby, location and all the local attractions including the Newport Mall and the convenience of the Path (Train) that takes you from our hotel to New York City.
Please do visit us again, we would love to have you and your group back next Christmas. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make it possible.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Property: Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Courtyard
Jersey City Marriott
Courtyard Jersey City Newport New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing