We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People make the difference!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Bennington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“People make the difference!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights/4 day NYC family trip. Perfectly clean and comfortable hotel, and being next door to PATH station was ideal...but it's the staff that stood out! Every person we encountered, from housekeeping to kitchen to coffee service to the entire front desk team was helpful, engaging, and smiling...we loved staying here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Lizz67,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience here with us at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott.

So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to provide you with our outstanding Marriott friendly service.

Please do visit us again on your next trip to our area.

John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    258
    61
    14
    12
See reviews for
230
128
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed there for work for 4 nights. Not a great hep place to stay as you would expect. Its clean and well maintained. There's no full fledged place to eat and the small kitchenette doles out whatever can be done quickly. Its very near to train station, newport mall and other eateries nearby. The pool inside is not worth mentioning. Its actually a quite cosy middle range hotel. Not sure why they charge so heavily. The service is good and professional. My linen and robes were changed everyday. The wifi is good enough for work.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and quite. Look for higher floors and windows facing the newport mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanj1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Sanj1977,

Thank you for taking to let us know about your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Jersey City Newport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed on a weeknight for business. For me, the most important elements of a hotel stay are the cleanliness of the building, especially the room and food service areas, noise, and the attentiveness of the staff. This hotel delivers on all counts. It was spotlessly clean, the room was spacious and quiet, and everyone who works there, from the valet to the front desk and the restaurant were all friendly and conversational.

The only drawback was the price of the place, well over $300 a night with taxes and parking. Sticker shock! You can really take advantage of the location to maximize the value, though. Here are some ideas:

- The hotel is adjacent to the PATH train to NYC. You can walk out of your room, into the train, and be in NYC in minutes. Nice!

- The hotel is in a mixed corporate/high-rise residential area. A walk in the evening will give you a chance to look at the NYC skyline up close while you enjoy the laid back vibe of joggers, dog walkers, and families out for a stroll.

- There is a lot of shopping and dining within steps of the hotel.

- If you drive, use the hotel's valet parking. It is the best value in the area ($18/day), it's safe, and you can get in and out if you need to.

Once I forgot about the room rate, I enjoyed being here. I'm guessing you will, too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is an excellent place to stay. We stayed there for a week last month in order to site see in NYC. The train station was just steps away from this hotel. The staff were all friendly, pleasant and more than willing to aid in our getting around the area, along with all other information that we requested. The rooms are a nice size, very clean and also very comfortable. There are many restaurants right within walking distance offering a diversity of foods. And a mall across the street!!! We enjoyed sitting in their nicely landscaped courtyard and also enjoyed sitting in their lobby area which was comfortably laid out with couches and chairs. Two nice places to sit quietly and read the newspaper, etc. I highly recommend this hotel and know we will be returning to it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Janice,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here with us at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott.

So glad you and your family took full advantage of our great hotel, location and many attractions in the area.

We will wait for your return. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance prior to your arrival.

John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Weekend trip to NYC:
Wanted to avoid the high priced hotels in NYC. Mission accomplished! This is a lovely place with everything you need to provide you with easy access to the PATH train, place to purchase snacks and breakfast in the morning. Can't comment on the evening here because this was just a hub for staying close to NYC. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are comfy. I enjoyed the decor. Paul Mitchell bath products. The staff was friendly and provided maps and other nice literature to help navigate while in NYC.

It is right next to the PATH train station! It just can't get any better than that. $2.50 to get to Manhattan.

The 24 hour parking was 18 dollars for valet. (BONUS) I checked some of the hotels in NYC and it was up to $60 just to park.

The breakfast was very good. The staff working at the coffee bar were so nice and service was outstanding.

There is a beautiful little courtyard with flowers and places to sit. Really pretty in July.

I would stay here again and highly recommend other to stay as well.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and there was a parking garage for a view. I didn't care but if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleygal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive comments about our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and took full advantage of our superb location.
Please do come and visit us again, let us know if we can be of any assistance prior to your next arrival.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice rooms. Excellent Customer Service. 10 seconds walk to Newport PATH station for easy commute to NYC.
We booked a room with 2 queen beds for a family of 4. Rooms were new and nice. Also included was a pullout sofa bed.
Valet Parking is very convenient.
In general a great hotel if you wish to visit New York City

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Young_Branch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest and Family,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your positive experience her with us at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. So glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our spacious two queen’s bedded rooms with an additional single sofa bed capable of accommodating up to 5 guests. Our location is indeed the best to commute to New York City with the Path (train) right next door.
Please come and visit us again on your next trip to our area. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance prior to your arrival.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I love the Marriott brand. This hotel didn't live up to the quality you expect from Marriott. Rooms were small and felt dirty. Location was hard to get to if you are not familiar with the area. The breakfast spot in the hotel was slow and expensive. There are better options...especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. So sorry that you had trouble getting to the hotel and your room was not cleaned properly. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

Please let me know about your next stay so that I can personally attend to your reservation and provide you with one of our bigger rooms.

Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Property: Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Address: 540 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Marriott
Jersey City Courtyard
Courtyard Jersey City Newport New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing