We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing great about it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
New Delhi
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nothing great about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

First things, its really expensive for the things that it offers. No breakfast, only weekly clean up of the rooms(that too for me it was biweekly), you cannot charge the rates that better brands and hotels charge.They do offer cupboard(kind lof local limited grocery store), however it is expensive. Though it should be subsidized, but its at the same rate or often more expensive than local grocery stores. Internet is decent but entire room isnt covered by wireless signal. TV channels are all HD, but quite limited. The only good thing about this place is its location. It is quite close to both the path stations which takes you directly to downtown Manhattan or upto 33rd street. At average cost of $200 per night even if you stay for 2 weeks of more, you expect better services.

Room Tip: try getting a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siddharth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewoodjc, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing your feedback. Our hotel is an extended stay hotel and offers housekeeping on a weekly basis in order to provide privacy to our guests. You mentioned that we charge the same rates as the other hotels in the area which is not accurate. You would pay at least $60 - $200 more per night at the other hotels located nuear us in Jersey City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    223
    67
    25
    18
See reviews for
107
144
33
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed for a month at the Candlewood Suites during my business trip to new york. It is the most economical option around new york. Since it is located near PATH trains one can easily reach new york and journal square for indian food. Suites Includes a small kitchen which is very convenient for cooking your own food during the stay. Rooms have iron board, iron, small store room, refrigerators, microwave among few items. Room and bathroom were comfortable clean and updated. However as it is extended stay there is no daily housekeeping, instead weekly. The hotel is also at a walking distance to newport mall, which is convenient in terms of entertainment/ food/ shopping.

All in all a nice and comfortable stay, however they have limited breakfast option that too has to be picked from cupboard (chargeable).

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Madhur21Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewoodjc, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed two nights at the Candlewood Suites visiting family. As it is extended stay there is no housekeeping. The rooms were adequate though an odd smell of some sort of disinfectant. For the price, however, I really can't complain. Much cheaper than Manhattan which is very close and much less that the usual hotels in Jersey City. Not too much nearby within walking distance but then again i am not in Jersey City for the sights.

All in all, nothing really bad about it. Just nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moirnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewoodjc, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for providing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I chose this hotel for the location. The room wasn't bad, but there is a distinct smell in the room. I found the hallways very dark and the carpets weren't very clean. The bathroom is decent and large. I didn't find the neighborhood that convenient. Also, the front desk staff isn't very helpful. We didn't have any issues with the WIFI. I probably wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewoodjc, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for providing your feedback. I noticed that you mentioned that the front desk staff was not that helpful. If you would like to discuss this further I would be more than willing to do so in order to find ways to improve our customer service. Please feel free to contact the hotel if you so desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is in a nice, safe neighbourhood and only a few train stops from places like Greenwhich village, SoHo and Wall Street. There are a few decent restaurants in the area and a mall nearby. The room seemed clean on arrival but upon closer inspection it was not (there was hair all over the room). In addition, too many things with wrong. The internet stopped working, HBO didn't work, the toilet was blocked up and they called a car service for us to take us to the airport (even though we requested a taxi that took a credit card) that charged us a fortune. We paid a lot of money since this was high season in New York and that is why we were annoyed that they didn't service the room a single time over a week's stay. They work really hard to get the pervading curry smell - that other writers have noticed - out out of the carpets and walls and they mostly succeed. It's not a bad place, it is just not very good. It is not a bad option, but it is not the best. The room is a good size and good for families. The kitchen is handy if you actually use it and the bathroom is a large. They do allow you to ask for clean sheets and towels when you need it, so that is at least something.

Room Tip: We had a reasonable view from the fifth floor. Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0Difly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewoodjc, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing your feedback. Regarding the housekeeping service, you stated that your room was not cleaned during your stay. We are an extended stay hotel that provides housekeeing 1 time per week if you are staying 7 nights or more and do not service the suite if you are staying 6 nights or less. If you are not used to staying at extended stay hotels you would not be familiar with this but I am sure that this was explained to you upon check in at the hotel. Thank you again for your stay and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks. All my colleagues who visited Newyork for extended stay have booked the same hotel in the past. The room is decent with a kitchen.
There is no Complimentary Breakfast .
Free WIFI is available but the internet speed is very slow (download speed less than 1 Mbps). I have experienced frequent interruptions and reported the same. The front desk support was not that great.
I was supposed to return a parcel Via FedEx to my Company. To my Surprise the front desk does not have a tape to pack the parcel. I was in a hurry to catch the return flight, expecting some support from the front desk, but left with no option. I roamed around to find a FedEx Office and ended up buying a tape in nearby stationary. Small things like this would definitely matter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeeva Reddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewoodjc, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your recent 3 week stay with us and for providing your feedback. I understand your concern with not being able to box and tape your fedex package at the hotel so you could ship it off. We will keep that in mind and start keeping a supply of packing tape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

A good sized room suite ideal for exploring New York but without the noise as the hotel is located in Jersey City. It's opposite Manhattan so you get a great view of the skyline, especially at sunset, from the waterfront walkway 2 mins from the hotel. It's located about 10mins walk from 2 PATH train stations which get you across to New York fairly quickly. The hotel staff were friendly and there's a handy complimentary coffee bar and little shop. The room has a kitchen suite so if you are on a budget you can cook your own meals. Nearest big supermarket (Shoprite) is 10mins walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffers1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewoodjc, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for yoru recent stay with us and for providing your feedback on your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,627 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Property: Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Address: 21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing