We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to Stay in Jersey City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay in Jersey City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel sits down by the waterfront in Jersey City overlooking the Manhattan skyline. The room we had was a suite with a sitting area with a couch and lounger along with a large HDTV; a fully functioning kitchen area with a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, sink, microwave, full supply of dishes and utensils and even a coffee pot and toaster; and a bedroom with a queen size bed 2 dressers and a large screen HDTV. This hotel has been recently renovated and it looks it. It is clean and neat and ideally located for trips into NY City. From the hotel you can see the Empire State building, the World Trade Center and downtown Manhattan. If you want a nice place to stay while you are in Jersey City, give The Candlewood Suites a try.

Room Tip: We had a room on the seventh floor....extremely quiet. Try to get a room on the Hudson River side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    223
    67
    25
    18
See reviews for
107
144
33
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a very good location to base trips into Manhattan on a five day vacation. Easy access to the ferry to the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, WTC, and Intrepid museum. There also is a PATH train that will take you to the MTA subway. The room was clean and we had a nice view of the city skyline. The river walk along the Hudson was very nice. We felt completely safe walking in the evening. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Parking was easy and secure. The shuttle bus was available for rides to the ferry and PATH, although it is easily within walking distance. There were some awesome places to eat nearby, Iron Monkey City which has an impressive beer selection. Across the Hudson you can take the ferry to the WTC. Brookfield Place has an incredible food court with upscale selections. Try the burnt ends at Mighty Quins BBQ.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
411 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good choice for visiting families and extended stays. Great location near both path and light rail. Nice to have a mini kitchen and large room. Prices are usually pretty fair too.
Excellent if you want to go to NYC and not have to pay crazy NY hotel prices.
Lots of restaurant choices and supermarket and BJ's close by. Also Newport mall is close too.
Don't need a car either. Can walk or uber everywhere easily.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jaymaxx,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Recently stayed here for a couple of days, no car so relied on light rail which was ok, good for access to Newport, Hoboken and path train to Manhatton, room was fine, clean & quiet. Able to get a coffee in reception area, purchase other items at high cost but free wi-fi is a bonus

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We received a free upgrade to a one bedroom suite on arrival. The room was very spacious and impressive! There were some minor problems with the bathtub faucet, but the room was well equipped with two TVs, plenty of wardrobe space and drawers, a sofa and coffee table, a dining table, a large kitchen and reasonably sized bathroom.

It's location is midway between Exchange Place and Newport PATH stations, so you can easily walk to the nearest PATH to get to New York. Parking is plentiful but costs $20 per day.

We had a room on the opposite side of the building to the light rail and had no complaints about noise during the night.

Very happy with this hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had a lovely time here. The room was updated and clean. The rooms with a view were all sold out but it didn't really matter. You can literally step outside and walk to the boardwalk across the street and have all the view you want. Absolutely beautiful location! We had some trouble working the AC in the room and the stove but front desk was nice enough to help us. I didn't hear any neighbors or thumping above us. Slept like babies!

The location of this hotel is perfectly situated between exchange place and newport station stops on the PATH. Both walking distance. There is light rail about a block away if you don't want to walk. For groceries there is a shop rite grocery store near the newport station. I prefer the bars and restaurants near newport anyway. On the weekends when exchange place station is closed, u have to use newport. Make a left out of the hotel and straight onto the boardwalk that cuts through an apartment building. This takes you straight there. We found out about that shortcut on our last day unfortunately. The hotel does have shuttles that only go during fixed times.

Overall, lovely place. I would totally stay here again

Room Tip: don't sweat it if you can't get a room with the view. the hotel doesn't have that many f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poochie167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here November 27, 2013 to December 4, 2013. Long story short I arrived in New Jersey on November 21st for a 2 week vacation to visit New York. We originally rented an apartment but less than a week in, the building next door to ours caught fire. So there we were, the night before Thanksgiving and homeless in a foreign country. Luckily, my sister was able to find us a room at the Candlewood Suites. The service we got was amazing and those who worked there were very compassionate about our situation. (They gave us a free night considering the circumstances) The room was great. Clean and spacious with a kitchen. They have a laundry room which was free to use (you have to buy the soap) and I can't tell you how thankful I was for of it! (I was up until 4am washing all the sot and smoke out my clothes which I was very fortunate to still have) The staff that stood out to me the most were George and Dan who work at the front desk and Mike and Karim who work security. These guys were awesome! Very friendly and always helpful. The location is also really good. A quick 5-10 minute walk to the PATH train which takes you straight into Manhattan. Although the area is a little isolated at night, its a quick $5-$10 cab ride back and during the day the hotel offers a shuttle service. All in all, when I go back to New York (and I will), this will be the first place I will look to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasinaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,627 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Property: Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Address: 21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing