We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific view”
Reviewed 18 November 2006

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency for the 2 nights before our cruise left from the Cape Liberty port in Bayonne, NJ. The hotel was right on the Hudson River across the bay from the NYC skyline. Our room had a beautiful view of the New York skyline and the lighted bridge going over the Hudson. We booked the "Explorer" package through AAA for $199 per night and it included breakfast for 2 and 2 free PATH train tickets into NY (the PATH station was right outside the hotel lobby). The hotel room was very large with 2 queen beds, a desk, overstuffed chair, bureau with t.v. on it and closet. The bathroom was also very large. The room and bathroom were very clean (really important to me!). We also had connecting rooms which were great. We always request them when we book a hotel but usually the hotel doesn't give them to us, so I was very impressed with that. The hotel's restaurant (Vu) was pricey with meals at about $25 and up, but the view was to die for--NYC skyline and the Statue of Liberty! My daughter is a vegan and they accommodated her special food needs. The only problem we had was with the Concierge. We asked her to book a reservation for us at an Italian restaurant on Saturday night but she didn't do it, also gave us wrong directions to the restaurant. Otherwise, our stay was great. I would definitely stay at the Hyatt again, and recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Concierge service
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely would stay again
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,593
    780
    181
    93
    48
See reviews for
860
704
142
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

Stayed 2 nights at the Hyatt New Jersey and cant praise it enough. The allowed us to check in 3 hours early and check out 2 hours later, with no problems. The rooms were spotless and large.

We had a problem with the safe and a lovely guy came and fixed it within 5 mins.

We opted for the Romantic Package which included 2 buffet breakfasts & strawberries/chocolates & champagne.

Had a evening meal in the Vue Restaurant which was a little bland but the service & view made up for this.

We opted for a Manhatten View from our room which was breathtaking.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — a little noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — go for it
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Louiseguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2006

This was our first holiday abroad with our 4 month old daughter. The hotel was in a fantastic location as it was in a nice quiet area and was also close to the Path Train Station. On our arrival we were met at the door by very friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room had a wonderful view of Manhatten and The Statue of Liberty. We had room service on each of the 3 nights that we stayed in the hotel as we had our baby with us and although the prices may have seemed a but high they were worth it when the wonderful food arrived to our room. The room was very spacious, clean and had the most fantastically comfortable bed! We had asked for a cot to be put in the room on our arrival, unfortunately it wasn't in there but we made one call and within minutes a cot was delivered to our room. We were very lucky to see a wonderful fireworks display over Manhatten on our last night........a wonderful ending to a wonderful 3 nights stay!!!

  • Liked — The Bed!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — at the weekend the water taxi does not run
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

Note: vistited in April 2005.

was in Jersey City on business and was told it wasn't the safest city to be in. and out of all the hotels in the area i chose the Hyatt because of its reputation. it was recently built in 2003 and was near all the major public transportations, buses, metro (PATH right outside the front door) and in the heart of the business district. the room was small (like most Hyatts) but fully equipped & appointed with the most luxurious amenities. i loved the room - comfortable bed w/great linens, big desk and comfy ergo chair to work out of, and the bathroom was so cozy and modern. this Hyatt only had one restaurant and a bar. the food was outrageously expensive as expected but was so yummy i ate there 3 times out of my 8 day stay. major drawback: waiting nearly 20 minutes for a taxi. there aren't any to hail so you need to call the bell desk 30 mins ahead. but you need to get downstairs on time or else they'll give them away to other guests. i was late on 3 separate occasions even after calling ahead.

the Hyatt is the place to stay for many celebrities and VIPs. besides the great rate i got ($104 when it's usually $200/nite), i bumped into many NBA players that were staying there, esp. seeing Shaquille O'Neal coming out of the elevator across from mine as I checked out. nice way to leave Jersey City.

  • Liked — very luxurious and new
  • Disliked — internet access was NOT free
  • Tips/Secrets — don't park there - $30 per day and call ahead for a taxi
Stayed April 2005, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank scorpioneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

This hotel was without a doubt the best my wife and I have stayed in. Compared to Manhattan prices, it was a great value. We trained in via the PATH train for $1.25 each way. Not to mention the fact that this hotel was NICE. The bellhops were extremely polite, the classical music in the lobby was soothing, the view of Manhattan was great, and the breakfast--it was phenomenal. Highly recommend this place.

  • Tips/Secrets — Take the PATH train into Manhattan (right at doorstep of hotel) and you end up at Ground Zero, ready to tour New York. And if you want cheap Broadway tickets, Google TKTS.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TomSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

We decided to visit NY this past August, however, did not want to pay NY hotel prices. After reviewing the hotel on Trip Advisor, we decided on the Hyatt. It was a wonderful trip and the Hyatt was a great place to stay. The path train station is right next door which was our transporation into NY. The hotel staff was very friendly and the concierge was VERY knowledgable and helpful. Our room on the fourth floor was very quiet and had a nice view of the Statue of Liberty/lower Manhatten! We had no complaints regarding this hotel or its location and would highly recommend staying there.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean room and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toryjetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

We booked for $104 a night through Hotwire. I travelled with my mother and my 2 children (age 12 and 9). We travelled to the hotel from JFK by subway and PATH and this was simple even though we were all first time visitors to New York. This trip took 1 hour.
We got a room on the 7th floor, views to Statue of Liberty and Lower Manhattan, spacious, clean and quiet. Housekeeping was slightly erratic but acceptable. All staff were very courteous and helpful.
The Flamingo Diner near the hotel is superb and the area around the hotel is great for peaceful walks. Amazing views night and day along the waterfront. Go back a few blocks and you are in the old residential area of Paulus Hook which is lovely, old houses and several small shops, cafes etc. The Newport Mall, about 15 mins walk from the hotel is dull - usual shops and a slightly shabby feel.
The PATH train is suberb on weekdays, 5 mins to World Trade Centre and a very frequent service. At the weekend you might wait 15 mins for a train. The $1.50 fares mount up and it's certainly worth getting a multitrip ticket which you can share - $24 for 20 journeys.
It was very relaxing to return to the hotel in the evenings and take a stroll along the waterfront.
The day we left the hotel gave us a 2pm checkout and then kept our bags until we left in the evening.

  • Liked — Value. Views.
  • Disliked — Housekeeping erratic.
  • Tips/Secrets — Look on Hotwire for good rates
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jersey City

Property: Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Address: 2 Exchange Pl, Jersey City, NJ 07302-3901
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jersey City 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2002, the Hyatt Regency Jersey City reflects Jersey City’s cultural renaissance and increasing value as a premier business center. Located in the heart of “Wall Street West” and just minutes away from New York City, this stunning property offers you the perfect venue for your corporate affairs while benefiting from the most remarkable skyline views Manhattan has to offer. Our full-service luxury hotel embodies the most modern elegance, unparalleled culinary experience, and outstanding service. Offering over 20,000 square feet of function space and 351 deluxe guestrooms with breathtaking views of Manhattan, the Hyatt Regency is the quintessential event location. The hotel is easily accessible by cab, ferry, or the PATH and is just a short ride away from Manhattan. Hyatt Regency Jersey City offers a combination of style and excellence that make for a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Hyatt Jersey City
Hyatt Hudson
Hyatt Regency Hudson
Hyatt Regency Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing