We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jersey City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Ok, I'll keep it simple, it's a paved city parking lot period. They are booked solid during the summer so book early. They were full when we arrived so we stayed in the dry camping lot, wedged between boats in dry dock for $55 a night. Thre is a line in the morning to dump your tanks and refill with water, so do it early before 9 am. Recently remodeled laundry room with new machines. Wifi will run you $5 a day extra. There is 24 hour on site security. The Path subway to downtown manhattan is 1/2 mile down the road, fare is $2.25 per person each way. The ferry is $7 per person each way. Noisy parking lot next to property with loud party types in and out during the night honking horns and alarms going off. The only thing going for this place is the location and proximity to public transportation, period.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Op4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

The review I read that said it was like Walmart campion with hook ups described it perfectly. Very small sites, hard to maneuver into. Most of the showers were none functional and not overly clean. Now... With all of that said, I would still recommend staying. Its literally 1 minute walk to ferry to Manhattan. Its a 10 minute walk to the commuter rail station. This is a campground you stay at because of location, not facilities. Everyone else there is there for the same reason. Most rigs there are big rigs and its a ghost town during the day because everyone's in the city. I always felt safe and its within a short walk to some nice areas. In all I would definitely recommend staying here for a place to park while you tour NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Davis_Family_of_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

You stay here for the proximity to NYC and it was perfect for that. At 85 a night it's a great value compared to a NYC hotel. It's essentially a large parking lot with electric hook ups but we like it for these reasons: easy access to ferry or train to the city, very clean bathhouse, friendly/helpful office staff, and surprisingly quiet atmosphere in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WallymamaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I think the only redeeming quality of this park is it's proximity to NYC. The neighborhood the park is in isn't great and the park itself has no redeeming quality. On the positive side though, it is only a short walk from a train to NYC and the price is great for such a close stay to the city.

I would stay here again, but only because the price and proximity to NYC, not because the park deserves another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishinmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to the States. About the best thing I can say about it is that it is a (relatively) inexpensive way of staying close to New York City - there are good connections both by ferry and train and you can be in the financial centre within a half hour or so.
The site itself is pretty awful - it's basically a pretty grotty car park, that someone has decided to make some extra money out of. We also had one of the worst customer service experiences of our lives when we arrived. We were told that, although we had booked a "dry" site (no water or electricity) this shouldn't have been allowed as they only rent dry sites when the serviced ones are booked out. The way this was explained to us was exceptionally surly, the implication being that we had somehow managed to dupe the system in some way - we just didn't need power! After much grunting and phone calling and making us feel like a huge headache, we were told to follow the representative to our space. This turned out to be a bit of scrap land, not in the site itself (and so presumably without any security), next to the dumpsters. We did not intend to accept this having booked and paid months in advance. There then ensued a lengthy argument - we tried to calmly put our case across, that this was their mistake and not ours and so we should be given a serviced site, of which there were plenty, and we would not use the power or water. This would be what any sane company would have offered. On the contrary; the attendants argued with us, really quite rudely, saying it wasn't there problem and we couldn't have a serviced site, even if we promised not to use the services, because "that's not how it works". Only after about 45 minutes of argument (and I use the word argument, not discussion) did they agree to let us stay in a serviced site. Appalling. I would never use this site again, no matter how much cheaper than the YMCA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The only good thing about this R.V. park is the location. For $90 a night (including internet which wasn't working most of the time) we expected much more. Didn't mind that it was just a parking lot but the amenities were disgusting and filthy. The washing machines wern't working (they blamed Cyclone Sandy but that was over 6 months ago) and we wouldn't use the amenities they were so dirty. In all our years of travelling overseas, we have never stayed anywhere as filthy as this place.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank philip15-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

The title is what we kept telling ourselves and laughing about. Yes, it's a parking lot with no grass, construction of buildings at 6am, every city sound you can imagine and a vandalized laundry room. It felt like a shipyard but its "doable". Five long city blocks separate you from the subway to Manhattan so that's its saving grace.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUOPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
527 reviews
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,129 reviews
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
654 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 468 in New York City
11,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park

Address: 11 Marin Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07302-4412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Jersey City
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing