We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location and great staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jersey City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park
New England, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location and great staff”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Could not have asked for more-helpful or friendly staff. Everyone, particularly Luis, went out of their way to offer me tremendous help when I was trying to contact a relative in NY who wasn't answering his phone. One staff member (wish I knew his name) even called the number for me on his private cell phone!! Unbelievable, and very much appreciated!! While it would be nice if there were shade trees to make sleeping more comfortable when the sun comes up, the park is a perfect base for sightseeing in NYC with public transportation close by and easy access to I-95. The showers, while basic, were clean and the hot water was wonderful. I was a female travelling alone, and stayed in the car in the "dry" area and felt totally safe. And it was neat to wake in the morning and see Lady Liberty out the front windshield. Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    50
    40
    20
    24
See reviews for
74
53
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is by far the best location to stay near NYC if you are travelling in an RV or any other type of camping vehicle (even a tent). You are next to Liberty State Park where you can ride your bike from the RV park to a fantastic view of the Statue of Liberty and downtown Manhattan, with wide expanses of bike paths, green parklands and interesting exhibits, including the New Jersey memorial to 911 "EMPTY SKIES", very moving. If you have a little boat (or a big one) you can launch it right here.
The staff is very accommodating, Luis will give you helpful advice. Although the sites are small, with a little ingenuity we managed to get our awning out. Picnic tables provide a spot to cook and eat outdoors if desired. Washrooms are secure with code-access, could use a little attention to detail, but much better than they were 10 years ago. Bonus was free Wi-Fi, totally unexpected in this area since just about everything is pricey.
Only one block to the convenient PATH train into Manhattan (only $2.50 per trip), and three blocks to the ferry to Ground Zero in lower Manhattan ($6.00 pp for seniors). We took our bikes on the ferry and rode along the waterfront of Manhattan right up to Times Square. You can ride to Central Park, or all around the perimeter of the island on a safe and easy bike path.
Liberty Harbor RV is also pet-friendly which is important to many travellers. There is a pet day-care only one block away if needed.
It is strange to hear about people complaining about the lack of amenities. The Liberty Harbor RV Park provides a convenient, and most of all SAFE place for visitors from all over the world to camp very close to a giant cosmopolitan...New York City!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank OntarioBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Easy to get to NYC from the RV park. Was concerned about security- not an issue. Someone at gate or in office and patrolled.
Not staying here for the beauty but convenience of location. Very quiet. Only Water and electric at sites. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This campground/glorified parking lot is strictly for sightseers. There's nothing by way of amenities besides a flushing toilet and hot shower. And be quiet as you head to said shower, as you'll be walking no more than three feet from the only grass in the place where the tent campers are. On the positive side, there's no worry of bed bugs which are a huge problem in the nyc area and the cost of camping vs hotels does enable more families to make the trip and participate in area activities; us included.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

When you are looking for camping IN THE CITY so as to get easy access, you wont get anything better than this campsite. There was security every night, amenities and it was a 10 minute walk from the subway station, a total half an hour to get into the heart of New York City. Though a little loud due to construction and not the best view, it doesn't really matter because most people are in NYC all day anyway. An affordable alternative to hotels, if you have a camper, go for it.

Room Tip: Do not expect a lot of privacy or even trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellymacdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights, June 18th to 22nd of June, the staff in the office very helpful explaining various sites in the area, they also provided us with an information package of what to see and do, including the Path train. Liberty Harbor was a good base to see N.Y.C. the Rv's were packed in tight, we were out all day and back at night to sleep, we didn't spend much time at the park. I use my own bathroom facilities and never did check out the park bathrooms. There are some nice restaurants with in walking distance from the park, the area is safe. I will be coming back again, for the price and location you can't beat it.
Greg from Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemon Grove
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We could see the Statue of Liberty, the skyline of NY city, catch the PATH, catch the ferry, all within a few blocks. This is a good value if you have an RV. There are water/electricity hookups and dry camping. We did both. There are no resort amenities but this site is the most convenient to NY city. Certainly convenience to the city is the selling point. Showers and restrooms were convenient and clean/easy to use. I stay here every time I visit with my RV. Staff were helpful and patient. Well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,113 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park

Property: Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park
Address: 11 Marin Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07302-4412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Jersey City
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Liberty Harbor Marina & RV Park Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing