We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bargin for what we paid.”
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Just stayed here Thursday - Sunday. Great choice for what we paid(non smoking king bed). We usually stay at Radio City Apartments, however that was going to cost us around $700 for 2 nights. We ended up staying at Holland Motor lodge for 3 nightst @ less than $400 after taxes. The hotel is directly at the intersection prior to entering the Holland Tunnel, so if your a light sleeper you may not like it. Alot of horn honking, we didn't mind and were able to sleeep just fine. The room was nice, everything clean. The bathroom was also clean, shower was hot. The room had a small fridge and microwave. They did offer quite a few choices for breakfast each day, doughnuts, cresents, cereal, oatmeal along with coffee,tea, hot chocolate or OJ. Not bad for being included.
They are about a 10 minute walk from the path train. We felt safe walking there. you are also right next to a big mall.

Path Train - Costs $2.00 a person for a 1 way trip to 33rd street, we just got 1 metro card, then added about $12 to it, we then used that one card for both my wife and I. I beleive you can use 1 card for up to 4 people, just use the card, then walk through, then give the card to the next person to use.
NY Subway - We purchased a $29 unlimited 7 day subway card(You need one for each person), this allowed us to hop on and off at any station, you can not use the unlimited card to pay for the Path train, however if you had a metro card with $10 (or any other ammount) you can use that same card to pay for both the Path train and the Subway.

We definately would be staying here again, well worth the money saved.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pittsbfan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

We went to NYC for the first time and we chose The Holland Motor lodge!!! I have to say it was cheap!!! We only paid 67 a night and it is close to the PATH! It is so convinence to get to NYC and it best part you can see NYC from Jersey ! Breakfast was ok not fancy but it's free and the hotel is so close to a big mall. I would stay here again! BTW, I got the coupon from the previous posts to get $67 a night!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddy2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I wanted a hotel just for one night and I wanted it close to NYC but did not want to drive into NYC. This hotel is right on the outside of the Holland tunnel and within 5 minute walk of the Subway that will take you right into NYC. The staff was excellent! They helped me with directions every time I needed them, drew me maps, gave me subway maps with traced out paths...they were extremely welcoming! The room was a decent little two bed room. No frills but had free wifi. They had free breakfast and snacks all day. I would def be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Wanted to stay in the area of Carlo's Bakery. Carlo's is within walking distance. By the way Carlo's is worth it!!!! This hotel fit the bill perfectly. Free parking, reasonably priced, staff was very friendly and helpful. Michael at the desk, was very nice. Continental breakfast was very good. Baked goods were very, very fresh, coffee nice and hot. Our room was nicely appointed. Beds were comfortable and cozy, air conditioning/heater worked wonderful. Room was clean. Shower head was great. Definitely would stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovingmom2u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

A great place to stay when visiting the area. The staff is friendly, our room was nicely appointed (fridge, microwave, safe) and spotlessly clean. It was updated in recent years. Sure, the bathroom needs updating, but it was perfectly clean and the shower head was great; the water pressure, superb. A very nice continental breakfast with bakery products from Calandra's Bakery--fresh and yummy! Security was very nice and helpful: eased our minds knowing the car was safe. Just a seven minute walk to the PATH train (we timed it) and zip into NYC: fantastic. Jersey City waterfront area is very nice: restaurants, riverwalk, clean. We asked for and got an upper floor room, nonsmoking. We now have a place to stay whenever we're going to NYC. There is also a light rail into Jersey City and Hoboken so you can explore the area. The air conditioner was a bit loud, but it worked very well and we didn't need it on all night. This is a great alternative to paying the exorbitant prices in NYC and surrounding area. We stayed three nites for what we would have spent for one night in the City.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedfordMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Ahough out of the way this was one of the few hotels left to us during the power outage. After a horrible experience two nights before with a motel nearby we were suspect, weary and tired.

Much to our joy this hotel was excellent. Clean, friendly and there was free donuts and coffee at the clerks desk.

We received a good nights sleep and the price wasn't at all unreasonable

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I can't believe anyone giving this motel a 2 star let alone a 5 stars?! Where were these people come from, living in the sewer? The pictures look decent enough but the reason we booked was the great reviews I read. We had to change our date 1 day earlier and they were nice enough to let us do that but instead of a non smoking room they gave us a smoking room, as soon as we went downstairs the reek of old staled smoke hit you in the face, then we entered our room and we had to look UP to the street, so we were below ground. The room was filthy, everything looked dirty, I pull back the cover and sat on the bed and watched TV then try to sleep, I didn't dare take a shower, I figured after driving all day, I was cleaner than the shower and better take one tomorrow at Holiday Express, which is a 10 star comparing to this motel which was a1 star, the worst wass the smell of smoke all night long!

Room Tip: Don't stay if they give you a smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: £105 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing