We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly & helpful staff”
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was our second stay in so many years at this motel. Have to mention Michael at reception upon our arrival ... friendly and helpful ... so was the rest of the staff during our 4-day stay. Very clean, comfortable and quiet room facing parking area. Free parking, free WiFi and adequate continental breakfast within a short walk to PATH station and $2 ride to Manhattan ... at a price hard to beat. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: upper floors overlooking motel parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvdh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

Minuses: (1) Not high end, plain to the bone; (2) Room decor not modern nor chic nor pretty; (3) no elevator.

Pluses: (1) Bargain without being scary in clientele (lots of European travelers); (2) Free parking; (3) Close to PATH train into NYC also close to a mall in JC, a Burger King, and gas stations (walking distance); (4) extremely affordable; (5) free breakfast foods (but mostly bread and cereal); (6) free coffee always; (7) front desk staff (especially in morning and daytime) extremely courteous; (8) for the most part, clean and tidy in room and around hotel grounds.

You get what you pay for. If you need the price break to make your trip, this is a bargain. But, if you want a luxurious NYC experience, this hotel is not for you. The beds were comfortable, in room refrig (no micro), in room cable (with lots of channels), the shower and bathroom were clean, shower had good pressure and hot water. I have stayed here twice and both times had no bad experiences with services. I like the convenience but I don't spend a lot of time in the room--only end and beginning of day. PATH now comes out of WTC, so very quick trip to JC from NYC.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the "parking lot side" of the hotel and you will not hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historia34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

i stayed for two nights at this hotel because of the proximity to my work place.
the hotel is clean but there is a certain smell and outdated feel of bathroom, decor, TV,..etc.
It is ok for one or may be two nights but I would not recommend it for an extended stay or a romantic gateway.
The front desk staff was very nice,friendly, and helpful; breakfast in the morning is in the lobby with no place to sit. Either you grab something for the road or you go back to eat in your room.
There are many restaurant, and shopping places within a short walk as well the Path train that takes you to Manhattan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52Overtherainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We have stayed at this motor lodge (now referred to as the Holland Hotel according to the staff) 4 times. Each time we have found it to be clean, staffed by friendly folks and having rooms that are in good condition. By NYC standards, this place is a value lodging experience - but absolutely no frills. It is located right on the entry street to the Holland Tunnel (you can throw a stone and hit the toll booths), so you are going to hear some traffic noise, but my wife and I have both had restful nights sleep here.

The real advantage to this hotel is a 5 mintue walk to the Path subway station at Newport. The walkway is well lit and we have never felt unsafe during the walk. Parking at the hotel is also amble and free.

You may be able to match the cost of a room here in Manhattan, but it will not be as convenient as we have found this place to be. Just drive there, park your car and take the Path train into Manhattan.

From the outside, this place looks a bit scary, but we have really not had anything but a good experience staying here. It has made frequent trips to visit our son in NYC very inexpensive and convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the parking lot side. This is on the opposite side from the very busy entrance ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGK_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Just stayed here Thursday - Sunday. Great choice for what we paid(non smoking king bed). We usually stay at Radio City Apartments, however that was going to cost us around $700 for 2 nights. We ended up staying at Holland Motor lodge for 3 nightst @ less than $400 after taxes. The hotel is directly at the intersection prior to entering the Holland Tunnel, so if your a light sleeper you may not like it. Alot of horn honking, we didn't mind and were able to sleeep just fine. The room was nice, everything clean. The bathroom was also clean, shower was hot. The room had a small fridge and microwave. They did offer quite a few choices for breakfast each day, doughnuts, cresents, cereal, oatmeal along with coffee,tea, hot chocolate or OJ. Not bad for being included.
They are about a 10 minute walk from the path train. We felt safe walking there. you are also right next to a big mall.

Path Train - Costs $2.00 a person for a 1 way trip to 33rd street, we just got 1 metro card, then added about $12 to it, we then used that one card for both my wife and I. I beleive you can use 1 card for up to 4 people, just use the card, then walk through, then give the card to the next person to use.
NY Subway - We purchased a $29 unlimited 7 day subway card(You need one for each person), this allowed us to hop on and off at any station, you can not use the unlimited card to pay for the Path train, however if you had a metro card with $10 (or any other ammount) you can use that same card to pay for both the Path train and the Subway.

We definately would be staying here again, well worth the money saved.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pittsbfan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We went to NYC for the first time and we chose The Holland Motor lodge!!! I have to say it was cheap!!! We only paid 67 a night and it is close to the PATH! It is so convinence to get to NYC and it best part you can see NYC from Jersey ! Breakfast was ok not fancy but it's free and the hotel is so close to a big mall. I would stay here again! BTW, I got the coupon from the previous posts to get $67 a night!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddy2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I wanted a hotel just for one night and I wanted it close to NYC but did not want to drive into NYC. This hotel is right on the outside of the Holland tunnel and within 5 minute walk of the Subway that will take you right into NYC. The staff was excellent! They helped me with directions every time I needed them, drew me maps, gave me subway maps with traced out paths...they were extremely welcoming! The room was a decent little two bed room. No frills but had free wifi. They had free breakfast and snacks all day. I would def be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: £105 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing