We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a great location”
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I needed to find a hotel in Jersey City that was close to a PATH station. The Holland Hotel had plenty of safe free parking, quick access to a PATH station (less than a 10-minute walk), and was comfortable and clean. If you're looking for luxury, go somewhere else (and pay the luxury prices). If you want something that allows you to get a good night's sleep and wake up to a nice continental breakfast, you can't go wrong with the Holland. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice hotel, free parking and very close to manhatan. Rooms are big enough and clean. Breakfast in the morning is very good. A little walk to Path train wich takes you in 10 minutes to wold trade center or 33th street. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at this Hotel in July with my daughter and wife and it was very clean. The room was very small with 2 tightly packed full beds. Each bed was against the walls on the outside. The price was very reasonable and the walking distance to the PATH trains was about 10 minutes. Parking is also free and security seemed to be adequate. They have a small no frills continental breakfast which was also well kept up.

Room Tip: The walk to the PATH system is simple but un-marked. Make sure you get good directions. You basica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great value hotel in New Jersey. Clean, good sized rooms with fridge and microwave, serviced daily, free continental breakfast, newspapers and use of computer and printer at reception. Within 5mins walking distance of Path subway, Hoboken (Carlos Bakery), and large mall with food court and movie theatre. Take a walk around waterfront for trendy modern restaurants and bars, as well as the best views of downtown Manhattan.
$2.50 subway ride will take you into the heart of New York, including 911/WTC memorial.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful with local info and beyond.
We would come back again!

Room Tip: Make sure you visit Hoboken - 5mins train or 15mins walk. Really nice village feel with great restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Good value compared to places directly in the mix. Being just outside the holland tunnel can be a rather noisy area ecspecially when your room is on the street side. The lobby was small but clean and very warm probably because of a/c problems. The employees are helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean yet outdated and same goes for the bathroom. A small breakfast is offered with coffee and juice and if you can get there early enough there are fresh pastrys. And come on holland hotel get rid of the old tube t.v.'s

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ontheroadagain216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for just an overnighter. The location is great for Newport Mall and PATH. Just a short walk down the street. I was able to get a room facing the parking area. The staff is very friendly. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. That's pretty much all I cared about. Don't expect the high end towels and toiletries so bring your own or stay at the other, more expensive hotels on Washington St. Most people who would stay here would be going into the city and spending most of the day there so how long are you really in your room? I would stay here again. Big bonus was free parking. Can't beat that for the area.

Room Tip: Like everyone says on here, request parking lot side. That tunnel traffic is really something else a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anndi626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stay at the hotel for 8 days last week of May. With the incredible high prices of the hotels in Manhattan it was an excellent option. The staff of the hotel is very helpful and they can give you all the explanations you need for take the train an move around.
The Hotel is 10 minutes walking from the Newport PATH Station. The neighborhood is secure and quiet, also you can find near the hotel some grocery stores and fast food restaurants.
Behalf our room was beside the Holland Tunnel entry, really it isn´t too loud.
The breakfast its vary: cereal, coffee, orange juice, many kinds of breads and buscuits, bananas & apples.. but it doesn´t have a place to eat breakfast so you have to take it to your room.
The bad things: The air conditioning sometimes doesn´t work well and we found an old sock under one bad, and the rooms have and odd smell when you enter.
I think it was a good hotel for the price paid and I recommend it for anyone its traveling with a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juanse_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,156 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: £92 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing