We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Canadians from 5 provinces seen staying here agree the holland is easy on our loonies"”
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Canadians from 5 provinces seen staying here agree the holland is easy on our loonies"”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in august sat/tue exhausted after each day we came back to a cleaned room for a restful night's sleep. We had no problems with the free WiFi and the air conditioner functioned very well high's in 80's each day! We liked having our car parked on the property as we were able to use it anytime. Holland tunnel $13.50 on the way in to Manhattan free to get out! We also used the Hugh Carey Tunnel to get to Coney Island $7.50 and then the idea was to take the Brooklyn Bridge back to Manhattan it was closed on the sunday !!!!!! Undaunted we made our way up to the Triboro Bridge $7.50 went to Central Park "PRICELESS" and enjoyed a wonderful afternoon in New York City. We also found on street parking. We used the path and ny subway system have your cash ready when you step up to the ticket dispenser's $2.75 get ticket and explore. We have already decided we will stay here again when we come back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the lower level facing the parking lot the curtains covered the window fully and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomnsuzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    290
    64
    15
    18
See reviews for
251
162
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Terrible/Horrible. Staff is highly irritating, does not know how to behave with customers. No courtesy to talk. 2. Room are horrible, dirty ,Air conditioner from the first century so you will struggling whole night with Ac's. Truly it is not a place to spend even one dollar. I would suggest to pay little extra and stay in a good environment and a decent hotel.
sincerely DD

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lewis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasten, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent three nights here in July. The hotel is old, but clean and the staff is very helpful. Breakfast was ok and eventhough our room faced the Holland tunnel, we were not bothered by traffic noise. The bathroom is fine and the room was ok for two adults and two kids.
We took the PATH train to Manhattan every day and after the first confusing attempt to find the station we enjoyed the commute.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWithKids07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Planned a family visit to nyc and found the holland hotel on tripadvisor. We arived early ( 11 am) and the lady at the front desk was more than helpfull checking us in. We reserved two rooms and one was ready so we dropped our bags and were off to the city. Yes the hotel is right next to the holland tunnel but we got rooms on the parking lot side so noise from cars was not an issue. The parking is plentifull and well lit. 5 to 10 minute walk to path train. Nice area. Extremly clean rooms. Beds were fine. Breakfast is contenental so muffins, pastries, donuts, cereal and apples oranges and bannanas. The pastries are really good. There is a grocery store a few blocks away. Also a huge shopping mall. Overall you cannot go wrong by booking this hotel for your visit to nyc. I cannot wait to go back and visit nyc again and i will forsure stay at the holland tunnel hotel.for the price it is a great place to stay.




  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

For those travelling to the Big Apple on a budget the Holland Hotel is one of the best options. The rooms are clean and the bedding fresh and crisp. The free continental breakfast consists of coffee, cereals, yoghurt, bread, biscuits and fruit. You can have this in your room as there is not really any place to eat. It is situated close to many restaurants and shops and just a short walk from Path Station. The staff are exceptionally helpful especially with giving directions. Book a room overlooking the parking lot if you want quietness and remember the lift does not work on that side, so ask for a low floor. Overall, the hotel and service is good value for the very affordable price, when compared with other hotels in NYC. Gets my Vote.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I needed to find a hotel in Jersey City that was close to a PATH station. The Holland Hotel had plenty of safe free parking, quick access to a PATH station (less than a 10-minute walk), and was comfortable and clean. If you're looking for luxury, go somewhere else (and pay the luxury prices). If you want something that allows you to get a good night's sleep and wake up to a nice continental breakfast, you can't go wrong with the Holland. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice hotel, free parking and very close to manhatan. Rooms are big enough and clean. Breakfast in the morning is very good. A little walk to Path train wich takes you in 10 minutes to wold trade center or 33th street. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Property: The Holland Hotel
Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing