We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent economical base for visiting Manhattan with secure free parking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent economical base for visiting Manhattan with secure free parking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, from front desk to security to housekeepers! Great location, close to PATH & shopping. Secure FREE parking made all the difference. Clean rooms. 24-hour coffee plus decent continental breakfast with nice pastry selection, fresh fruit, cereal, tea & coffee. Tiny lobby so we brought our breakfast just outside and sat in our car to eat. There's no elevator but we didn't mind one set of stairs. We would definitely go back again as it is clean, secure, economical, has friendly staff and is two blocks from the PATH transit into Manhattan.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBFBarrie_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    281
    61
    14
    15
See reviews for
240
157
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nites....it was our 1st time booking a hotel for the trip, we usually stay with relatives...I liked the
Good location, nice staff, clean place...very convenient
Easy access to nyc, path train is right down the street, mall is walking distance
Enjoyed our stay at the holland hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flobetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Having stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years, I anticipating giving an overall rating of 4 stars consistent with past experiences. But now, it is 3 stars and could be trending down further.

The strong points remain a very good location, 10 minutes walk to the train for commute to NYC, free parking at the hotel, and an above average continental breakfast. Service, by phone and in person was courteous and fast. The bathrooms were very clean, as in the past.

However, the rooms seem slightly dingy now, less clean looking than in the past.

Of three hotel rooms, two had a strong odor of cleaning chemicals, the third, a nonsmoking room, smelled heavily of cigarette smoke. I had to air out the room about an hour to subside the (cherry scented) chemical smell. The air conditioner rattled (all night), and the timer dials malfunctioned- the unit was not in good working order.

The rooms here have always been basic, but sufficient. Now, they seem to be almost spartan.

Small points, but there is no pen and paper in the room as in the past, no plastic laundry bag in the closet, fewer plastic cups (even in a room with two double beds). There were several sales catalogs dumped in the work desk drawer, including two copies of the same one. The hotel guide is not useful- it does not contain basic information about the hotel, such as a "connection charge" for making toll free phone calls.

Another small thing, from a guest convenience standpoint, the mini refrigerator had loose door racks, items would fall out from them, and the shelves were so closely spaced between each other there was not room for even one ordinary "to go" box in there. Why have one?

An odd sight right out the window in the hotel parking lot. A hooded woman and a man pitched a blanket over a couple of parking spots and stayed for a couple hours. It almost looked like camping out in the parking lot. They talked loudly, loud enough to hear from your hotel window. Occasionally they called out to passing by cars in the parking lot. The woman was "petting" the man at times, and visitors came and went, some setting up chairs, coming and going. All this viewable right out the window in the hotel parking lot, near your car.

The downstairs vending machine had candy bars, interspersed with a row of condoms. It did not give leave a good impression of the property.

I would still give this hotel a recommend, but just barely. With several 5 star hotels in the neighborhood for about $25 more, it's worth a second look now if indeed the atmosphere here is deteriorating.

Only time will tell.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotty1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quentin b, General Manager at The Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Valued guest Thank You for staying with us, and for the review. I will like very much to speak with concerning your dissatisfaction. I can be reached at 201-963-6200 during normal business hours. I promise to discuss with you every negative you experienced, and make up for it. We are determined to be an excellent property at all times, so please call. Once again Thank You for staying.

Quentin Bristow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metuchen, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Convenient, clean and a friendly staff.
We chose this hotel based on price and proximity to NYC. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff were friendly and helped us obtain Broadway show tickets. The “PATH” train to NYC is about a 10 min walk. I would recommend getting the 7 day “unlimited ride metrocard” for $30. The breakfast is continental, and the pastries are very good. This hotel is not The Ritz Carlton, however the service is 5 star. If you’re on a budget and want a clean room I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erika k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Regarding the handful of negative reviews......some people will complain no matter what. This hotel is not the Ritz, and you're not paying the rates of a high class hotel either. We stayed this week for four nights with our kids. The room was clean, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was limited and not gourmet (it's free, what do you expect??), but it was continuously refilled. Our AC was modern and worked fine. The wifi worked fine, the TV and fridge worked fine. It's a 10 minute walk to the train - a little exercise is good for you. The hotel is older, but it's safe and convenient. Good option for those on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustaguyfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay at this hotel with my relatives that we visiting from Germany because the prices are much less then New York City . The rooms were clean, and the employees were helpfull. We had a great visit to nyc. Thank you Holland Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NjDevilsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in august sat/tue exhausted after each day we came back to a cleaned room for a restful night's sleep. We had no problems with the free WiFi and the air conditioner functioned very well high's in 80's each day! We liked having our car parked on the property as we were able to use it anytime. Holland tunnel $13.50 on the way in to Manhattan free to get out! We also used the Hugh Carey Tunnel to get to Coney Island $7.50 and then the idea was to take the Brooklyn Bridge back to Manhattan it was closed on the sunday !!!!!! Undaunted we made our way up to the Triboro Bridge $7.50 went to Central Park "PRICELESS" and enjoyed a wonderful afternoon in New York City. We also found on street parking. We used the path and ny subway system have your cash ready when you step up to the ticket dispenser's $2.75 get ticket and explore. We have already decided we will stay here again when we come back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the lower level facing the parking lot the curtains covered the window fully and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomnsuzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Property: The Holland Hotel
Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing