We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value,friendly,clean.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value,friendly,clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Location was perfect as you can walk to the PATH train station in 10 minutes through the shopping centre that could take you to trade centre in 7 minutes and on 32nd avenue in 15 minutes plus you can find some great bargains in the shopping centre on the way. Breakfast area is very small. but u are spoiled for choice. Andrea on reception was so helpful to us from ordering taxis, to phone cards and nothing was a problem she is a huge asset to this hotel so thank you. To get a nice friendly hello from Quentan in the mornings who remembered our names was brill. We had a great time on our trip and hopefully will return to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulyb-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    281
    61
    14
    15
See reviews for
239
157
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Budget friendly, easy access to New York City! Staff was wonderful as they know the majority of guests are there for the "Big Apple"...They provided us with a walking map to the Path Station, a map of New York, and allowed us access to the parking lot hours before check-in. We were able to enjoy the city without the worry of finding parking and actually checked in at 10:00PM. Room was clean... Bathroom was SPOTLESS and cleaner than some of the "higher end" hotels we've visited. There was some "noise" in and around the hotel but that's to be expected on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeAnd31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiseley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were staying here whilst visiting NYC. As many people have said it is very good in terms of access to the PATH station, and the surrounding area feels safe, even later at night.

When we arrived we were told our room had not been saved (the could have warned us in advance) but the lady on the desk sorted it out quickly and we got another room at the same rate as we had booked.

The room was clean, with a nice big bed, and the shower was great. Breakfast was simple, but it was nice and fresh and there was always plenty. Our room was next to the tunnel side but did not affect our sleep at all.


Overall happy with our stay and it is good value compared to Manhattan and even other hotels in Jersey City. Would recommend to anyone who does not have a big budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben_Law85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

When we entered the hotel, my kids were a bit disappointed as they expected a better standard. We were staying in this hotel to visit NY. Apart from initial shock to my kids, i have all the praise for this hotel and it`s team.
Location was perfect as you can walk to the PATH train station in 10 minutes that could take you to trade centre in 7 minutes and on 32nd avenue in 15 minutes i.e. within half an hour from hotel you could be raising your head in Manhattan area to sea skyscrappers. In between this hotel and PATH station is a shoping mall. Good price for certain stuff. Beside it has AMC and lots of food option in the food court and they were not so expensive either.
Hotel is a very old building, rooms were smaller and washroom like one from an appartment of slum area. And yet, they were very very clean. All praise to the cleaning staff. Ample parking space so it was never an issue, beside it was free. I got a room on parking side on upper floor so no noise at night.
Breakfast area is very small. But they were compensating this demerit point with lots of supplies. I found people even at 11:00AM benefiting the muffins etc.
Reeption ladies were nice and gentle. Check in and Check outs were quick.
Conclusion: If you do not have deep pocket, want to save some bucks for the shows in Manhattan this is a right place to stay.

Room Tip: Book in advance for better rate. Ask for a room on upper floor on the parking side. Eat in the food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arisha-hamzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent and helpful staff, good customer service.
Excellent rooms, all non-smoking
Decent sized bathrooms, clean
Hwy side is a bit noisy, but you get used to it easily and forget about iit
Decent breakfast
Staff has prepared set of directions to the city.
they have a computer for public use.. which is excellent.

For the price and service - will highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdviceMyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Located just off Holland Tunel, but you do not hear the noise from the cars even if you have room overlooking the road.

The staff is friendly and service-minded. The price is reasonable and there is free breakfast, coffee and cakes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gertpoulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Awful hotel. We booked expecting something akin to a basic travel lodge. Rooms tired and dirty, whole place smells of smoke. Air conditioning unit was mouldy. People asking to rent rooms by the hour at the desk. We arrived, saw the room, then turned and left. Cannot understand all the high reviews for this place - I would not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay here under any circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Den865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quentin b, General Manager at The Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us from your previous stay. Such opinions motivates us to keep doing the best that we can to make all guest happy with staying. Since your visit in July we have upgraded our bathrooms, purchased new furniture and soon in January brand new flat screens T.V.'s will be added. I am sorry about the awful visit and deeply apologize for it. Take care.

Quentin Bristow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Property: The Holland Hotel
Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing