We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
146 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We spent a week at this property while visiting NYC, and we would gladly stay there again. Sure, it's not a 5-star hotel, but for the price, you can't beat it. It is a clean, safe and comfortable place to stay. It's easy to travel into Manhattan using the PATH train. Amenities include free continental breakfast -cereal, pastries, two or three different kinds of fruit, juice & coffee - more than adequate to start the day. Also, an in-room safe & refrigerator as well as a computer with internet access in the lobby, also free of charge. The staff members were all great. What more can one ask for? PS To get the best rate, call the hotel directly to make your reservation.

  • Liked — Good value.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    286
    61
    14
    16
See reviews for
244
159
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This is a good-value hotel in a good location for visiting NYC if you are arriving by car and want to avoid driving in Manhattan. It is basic in its furnishings and facilities, and there is some noise from other rooms (the staff dealt with this whilst we were there), but it met our needs, including free internet in the lobby. Breakfast buffet is good quality, but the lobby is too small to accommodate even the queue for food! You do have to eat in your room or on the go. Access to the PATH train to Manhattan is easy, but the area is quite quiet when walking around at night. It's a growing business district, which even has some nice restaurants if you prefer to come back over the river before it gets too late.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leafpeepers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2008

I recommend you to stay at the Holland Motor Lodge. It's clean and affordable. You take about 25 minutes to midtown but the path train is available all night (after 12 am - just between 30/30 min). Off corse you will ear a little bit of noise but in a Manhattan Hotel in some central avenues too.

The staff always helped us with anything we asked.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisbonSara24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW ORLEANS, LA
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2008

While searching all the reviews for a hotel to stay at right outside NYC, I found this gem. I own my own startup business and have to travel to meet clients for sales lunches and dinners in NY. You can imagine the tight budget I have as a business owner, so I was thrilled not to pay upwards of $300 per night in NY. I now pay a third of the price I was paying in NY . The Holland Motor Lodge makes perfect business sense for all people on a budget. This hotel is very clean, great room with refrigerator and microwave, and conveniently located right outside the Holland Tunnel. The staff is very accomodating although I now have to book a room very early since it books up quickly. It is only 70 rooms and has a small lobby where they serve continental breakfast but the baked goods are brought in fresh daily from their own family owned bakery. How cool is that! This is not the Hyatt or Marriott Marquis, but I really dont need to throw money away on all the frills that most people don't use anyway. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay that has a friendly staff, comfortable rooms that are very clean and a great free breakfast , then this hotel is perfect.

  • Liked — Rooms are Very clean
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RONFROST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tupelo,miss
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2008

I'm from mississippi where everyone is friendly. So I was a little hesitant traveling to New York for the first time. We booked a room at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised by how nice everyone was. The nice front desk clerk Paula went out of her way to help us decide where to go and how to get around the city. She even helped us book a tour for sight seeing. The hotel was very clean and gave a complimentary breakfast which included donuts and pastries, fresh fruit, cereal and oatmeal as well as coffee, milk and juices. I saved a lot of money by staying here because the rates are very reasonable and really could not afford to stay in New York City. The one thing that really surprised me is that so many Europeans stay here. It was as if everyone around the world traveling here knows about this hotel. One family from Germany told us this was their 2nd time here in the last 3 years and they tell others from home where to stay. We had a great time in New York and I think there is so much to do and see, we will have to come back again next year.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — lobby gets very crowdwd during breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstupelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston area
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We wanted to visit New York City for a few days and wanted a relatively inexpensive, but clean, place to stay. This was perfect. We parked our car and never used it again until we left. The PATH station is a 10-15 minute walk. The New Jersey Light Rail Vehicle is even closer (for going to Liberty State Park and the ferry to Ellis Island and the Statue of LIberty - take the shuttle bus after using the LRV!). The front desk clerk gave us a hand-drawn map showing the station. It is very easy and quick to get to New York City. Our room was clean and the staff is very friendly. Coffee, donuts and juice were available in the morning and coffee was available when we returned in the evening. There are several restaurants near the PATH station, if you prefer to eat after leaving the city. If you want to use a hotel as a place to sleep and shower and spend your day elsewher, this is it. If you want a spacious, luxery room and a pool, go elsewhere. We will return.

  • Liked — Value and closeness to New York City
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frugal_traveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We chose this hotel while visiting NYC for three days in August by reading the Trip Advisor reviews. At first glance when pulling up, and even entering the hotel you wonder what you have gotten yourself into. The Holland Tunnel is literally outside the window. The funny thing is, you walk a couple of blocks to the Path Train and the neighborhood is completely different - very nice. I cannot say the neighborhood is terrible, but it is not great by any means. Its about as close to Manhattan as you can stay without paying the price. Make sure when you check in you ask for the Path Schedule AND the most important part, the hand drawn map they have to get you to the station which they neglected to give us at check in. The hotel is actually clean on the inside, the rooms are clean. They have wireless internet, a refrigerator in the room and microwave. It is a VERY basic motel, but it does serve the purpose if you are only looking for somewhere to sleep at night. Just do not go there thinking you will be staying at a Hampton or anything like that. It is pretty dated and they do not even accept reservations online, on check in you have to fill in paperwork that they then enter into their computer system. It really is not bad at all, and it served our purpose. Breakfast you can skip here, its just donuts, juice and coffee ... but if you are hungry, its there.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ella-chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Property: The Holland Hotel
Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing