We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go to lodging when visiting NYC.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My go to lodging when visiting NYC.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

This was my first stay at the Holland Motor Lodge. The staff were great, the room was clean, well appointed with a fridge, and microwave, and quiet. We were quite pleased with the quality of the breakfast. It is very convenient to the West Side Highway in Manhattan, which is our route to and from New England. We'll be back!

  • Liked — That it was very clean, and I felt very safe.
  • Disliked — It was all great!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    283
    61
    14
    15
See reviews for
242
159
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Good location, good service .The room was cheap, clean and spacey.
The breakfast was ok,coffee juice and donuats and danich.
You have to pick it up in the lobby and take it to your room. Nearby there is Newport mall with many different stores.Conections to Manhattan with Path train from Pavonia / Newport station was very simpel 8 - 10 minute walk to the train
Newark airport is about 20 min by taxi.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nyc_turist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We spent a week at this property while visiting NYC, and we would gladly stay there again. Sure, it's not a 5-star hotel, but for the price, you can't beat it. It is a clean, safe and comfortable place to stay. It's easy to travel into Manhattan using the PATH train. Amenities include free continental breakfast -cereal, pastries, two or three different kinds of fruit, juice & coffee - more than adequate to start the day. Also, an in-room safe & refrigerator as well as a computer with internet access in the lobby, also free of charge. The staff members were all great. What more can one ask for? PS To get the best rate, call the hotel directly to make your reservation.

  • Liked — Good value.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

This is a good-value hotel in a good location for visiting NYC if you are arriving by car and want to avoid driving in Manhattan. It is basic in its furnishings and facilities, and there is some noise from other rooms (the staff dealt with this whilst we were there), but it met our needs, including free internet in the lobby. Breakfast buffet is good quality, but the lobby is too small to accommodate even the queue for food! You do have to eat in your room or on the go. Access to the PATH train to Manhattan is easy, but the area is quite quiet when walking around at night. It's a growing business district, which even has some nice restaurants if you prefer to come back over the river before it gets too late.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leafpeepers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

I recommend you to stay at the Holland Motor Lodge. It's clean and affordable. You take about 25 minutes to midtown but the path train is available all night (after 12 am - just between 30/30 min). Off corse you will ear a little bit of noise but in a Manhattan Hotel in some central avenues too.

The staff always helped us with anything we asked.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisbonSara24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW ORLEANS, LA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

While searching all the reviews for a hotel to stay at right outside NYC, I found this gem. I own my own startup business and have to travel to meet clients for sales lunches and dinners in NY. You can imagine the tight budget I have as a business owner, so I was thrilled not to pay upwards of $300 per night in NY. I now pay a third of the price I was paying in NY . The Holland Motor Lodge makes perfect business sense for all people on a budget. This hotel is very clean, great room with refrigerator and microwave, and conveniently located right outside the Holland Tunnel. The staff is very accomodating although I now have to book a room very early since it books up quickly. It is only 70 rooms and has a small lobby where they serve continental breakfast but the baked goods are brought in fresh daily from their own family owned bakery. How cool is that! This is not the Hyatt or Marriott Marquis, but I really dont need to throw money away on all the frills that most people don't use anyway. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay that has a friendly staff, comfortable rooms that are very clean and a great free breakfast , then this hotel is perfect.

  • Liked — Rooms are Very clean
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RONFROST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tupelo,miss
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

I'm from mississippi where everyone is friendly. So I was a little hesitant traveling to New York for the first time. We booked a room at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised by how nice everyone was. The nice front desk clerk Paula went out of her way to help us decide where to go and how to get around the city. She even helped us book a tour for sight seeing. The hotel was very clean and gave a complimentary breakfast which included donuts and pastries, fresh fruit, cereal and oatmeal as well as coffee, milk and juices. I saved a lot of money by staying here because the rates are very reasonable and really could not afford to stay in New York City. The one thing that really surprised me is that so many Europeans stay here. It was as if everyone around the world traveling here knows about this hotel. One family from Germany told us this was their 2nd time here in the last 3 years and they tell others from home where to stay. We had a great time in New York and I think there is so much to do and see, we will have to come back again next year.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — lobby gets very crowdwd during breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstupelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Property: The Holland Hotel
Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing