We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the bullet proof glass!”
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the bullet proof glass!”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

If you are looking for an inexpensive (for NY/NJ) base of operations to get into NY without driving I think this is a great place. If you are looking for luxury and elevators go somewhere else. Easy to find, right next to the Holland Tunnel entrance and plenty of free parking. I read reviews about being put in the horrible rooms next to the tunnel and to my dismay when I opened my window, POW, the Holland Tunnel. They must have a ton of sound proofing because I am a light sleeper and I rarely heard anything beyond the occasional dump truck or bus gear shift. I don't think this place had an elevator so keep that in mind if you have trouble covering 3 floors. The rooms were not big but not too small. The bathroom looked as if it was decorated in the 60/70's but it was clean. The internet worked fine. The continental breakfast was simple but enough to get your motor running (there is a Burger King next door) but they put it in their lobby which was extremely small and very crowded in the morning. The walk to the PATH station was less than a 1/3 of a mile, very well lit and even walking around at midnight we felt perfectly safe. I recommend using the map in the hotel directory book in your room to find the station. Just a note on the train the only time this train was not crowded (Pavonia/Newport to 33rd Street) was at 10pm. As for the bullet proof glass I think this is a fixture left over from when Jersey City was a lot more dangerous. But with the migration out of New York and all the upscale hotels and business park nearby I am thinking they could probably take down the glass. If you are a fan of Cake Boss the bakery is about 1 mile in Hoboken, I recommend it, but get there when they open.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    293
    64
    15
    20
See reviews for
255
162
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, On
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I have stayed at this Hotel twice before and nothing is changed. Great location, close to public transit. Always a clean atmosphere in this Hotel. The only thing you have to watch out for is that you better arrive by 6pm. Otherwise they will give your room to someone else. We arrived 40 minutes late and almost got screwed!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elewisOttawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We decided to be accomodated in new jersey during our week-end trip to manhattan. The Holland Motor Lodge is located at the entrance of the Holland Tunnel. Its a 10 min drive to the city. Make sure to have 8$ on hand to pay the toll fee. And yes, finding a parking space was hell!!! The greeting by the front desk clerk was ok, quite indifferent actually. The general condition of the room was ok, but the carpet was dampand it seems that the furniture we're not dusted off for awhile. Sleep, shower and then go about your visit to town, then this motor lodge is a sensible choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaruya05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I could not believe how clean and convenient this hotel was for the price. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting NYC.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psufan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon Hill, MD
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Traveling with my sister, we give the Holland Motor Lodge a 5*. It was near the Path Train that took you into NYC. The mall near the Lodge was very nice. The room with double beds were wonderful. It was very nice to park the car and us 60's year olds would walk to the train and be in NYC in no time. I will diffidently use this hotel again. I am so glad I found this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

the motel is very average. maybe i was not lucky and got the room on the lower floor. but my room seemed to be smoking room though while booking i requested non-smoking. there was no refrigerator in my room and only tiny window almost under the ceiling and that was quite disappointing. the noise from other guests were constantly present in the room. the room and bathroom were clean enough. the motel is very close to path train and has easy connection to new york. the area is very safe and nice. there is a big mall not far from motel. if you are really on a budget this can be choice. though i am not sure that will stay here again. the staff is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I have stayed in Manhattan many times and paid a minimum of $260 (with parking cost) for an average room close to Times Square, and this room is comparable with those but with
a few extra perks for only $91 a night. There is a refrigerator in the room, fresh coffee and
pastries in the lobby, and the subway is a ten minute walk away. Lots of police presence
as it is located right at the Holland Tunnel. The area is well light, and the parking is free.
I did not notice the noise as some reviews have said, although I did hear a few horns honking in the morning, but really no big deal. I would stay at this motel again. Is is very clean, a nice size room (we had two double beds) and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We timed the subway ride from Ground Zero to the time we entered our room
and it was about 40 minutes total.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WPALovethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
510 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Property: The Holland Hotel
Address: 175 12th St, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1405 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
The Holland Hotel Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing