We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, no heat”

Sanai's at the Summit House
Ranked #342 of 593 Restaurants in Jersey City
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, no heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I visited Sanai's on a very cold Saturday evening to use an expiring discount coupon. The restaurant is housed in an historic building off of Journal Square. Upon entering the restaurant it became apparent there was no heat on. Other patrons were huddled in coats and scarves. Two young women did an adequate job running the serving area. Interestingly, no one acknowledged the lack of heat. When questioned about it, one of the waitresses said something must be broken.

That said, our dinner was excellent. Fresh Cesar's salad, homemade chicken vegetable soup for starters. Our entrees were a delicious salmon dish and hangar steak. We shared the chocolate cake dessert.

It was unfortunate that on a Saturday evening there was no management presence to make sure things were running smoothly. We will make a return visit after verifying that interior conditions are up to par.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Satisfying Sanai's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Found this restaurant while getting son and his wife settled into new apartment near Journal Square. Calamari appetizer was good, salmon medallions excellent. Nice building provided good atmosphere. Bar area looked inviting.

Certainly a place worth revisiting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarineClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Murder Mystery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My 16 year daughter and I went to a murder mystery dinner at this resturant. The show was great and the food was too. I would go back here for a girls night out event. The servers and hosts were great. The atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staceywright88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Just love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

We ( my husband, son and myself) usually go once a month if not more we love the sliders and flour less chocolate cake

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sagetess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I went after work on a Friday and was so surprised by the quality of the food! Grilled Salmon and Steamed spinach. I'm a picky lady and rarely eat at Journal Square! I sat at the bar and the service was super friendly both times! Try the homemade white sangria!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanai's at the Summit House also viewed

 

Been to Sanai's at the Summit House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing