We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Park with beautiful views of Lower Manhattan”
Review of Liberty State Park

Liberty State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$264.00*
and up
Viator VIP: NYC Evening Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Park with beautiful views of Lower Manhattan”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Liberty state park is a beautiful park with great views of Lower Manhattan the World Trade Tower,Statue of LibertyEllis island,,lots to do for children and a family place for outdoors....close to Jersey City easy to get ample parking and park is free.You can find kites flying in good weather and lots of outs door activity,good place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shokisharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    323
    61
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Liberty state park”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite all around park. The park itself is beautiful and inviting. My young children bike along as I run a few miles; we are treated to amazing views of lady liberty, manhattan, and Ellis island. Great kids' playground with surprisingly clean bathrooms. We go as often as we can find the time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best park in this urban area”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Liberty State Park is a godsend to the people living nearby in downtown Jersey City. There are a number of very nice small neighborhood parks but nothing suitable for biking or long distance running, like LSP is. The park has seen many improvements in the past 15 years and continues to get better with additional walking paths and new areas opened to the public. If you make it to the far south end, near the golf course, you can see a variety of herons and egrets feeding there at low tide, in the spring through fall seasons, note that the area is a protected sanctuary for Migratory Birds.

The view of lower Manhattan is incredible, of course. There are two decent restaurants on the Marina, both with bars. I haven't been in some months but my preference was Maritime Parc, which is more high-end but not particularly more expensive than the other one, Liberty House. The view from Liberty House cannot be beat, however. They have a large outdoor patio with couches, tables, a bar, all facing Manhattan. Fabulous on a nice day. Maritime Parc has better food though. How about drinks at Liberty House, then dinner at the Parc?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank buttercupNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
721 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Great views of Manhattan”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is where you can come to get a great picture of Manhattan, Ellis Island...and the back side of the Statue of Liberty. The park is free and there is ample parking and trails in the park. We made many stops during our visit and it was a great park. Glad we made the time to come by while visiting NYC.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As a tourist it would be wrong to miss this.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Get your tickets from the kiosk in the old fort near to the liberty island ferry(even if you have a NYC freedom pass you still need to get paper tickets at no extra cost). Go through some airport style security checks, wait for the ferry and you're on Liberty island before you know it. This is a very well organized process and the ferries come about every 10-15 minutes.
Once on the island there isn't a great deal to see in the grounds and unfortunately for us there was a two month waiting list for tickets to get inside the statue, this was due to the US goverment closing shop recently but you will obviously learn about the history of the statue and it's significance as well as getting some great photos.
you then get back on the ferry at your own liesure and it takes you over to Ellis island, which had been the US immigration processing centre. i'm sure that there was more to see here but unfortunately due to the cold weather on the day and time constraints we had to give it a miss.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank buckers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Liberty State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing