We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok nothing more”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just ok nothing more”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hotel is located in an industrial location. Not really a bad area, just not convenient to anything. It was reasonably clean and the staff were ok. I just think that for the price you should expect more but I guess this part of the country commands high prices.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    28
    15
    23
See reviews for
21
27
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I had read awful reviews about this hotel and expected the worst. It turned out to be pretty decent compared to the price, and you can trust me on this as I am a person who is easily disgusted and wouldn't sleep just anywhere. It was pretty clean for the most part.
The bus stop leading to new york is not only a 5 minutes walk as everyone mentioned previously. It is not far by distance, but it is on top of a hill. so you need to walk up a very steep hill every morning to get to the bus station.

Breakfast was not too great. Muffins and cereal and some other pastries, which were kind of stale. I did not eat from them unless I was desperate.
The area is industrial but seems safe enough, I was comfortable walking to the hotel from the bus stop alone late at night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rihamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

It was the worst hotel I stayed in my life. I traveled many countries in the world and stayed in many hotels. But this was pathetic.
Staff was very unfriendly, Dirty rooms and their rate keep changing day by day.
Very dirty rooms, too much noise, unfriendly staff, Cheap quality products in Washroom ,
Pathetic area.

I will never recommedn this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Naveen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We came up from Baltimore for the weekend and decided to stay here Friday night to be closer to NYC. Since we were only going to sleep here for a few hours, economy was key. Saved $130 as compared to downtown NYC. Parking is mostly gated and inside the hotel courtyard. We checked in at 11:45pm without a hitch. Desk staff was indifferently efficient - got to our room in about 5 minutes. Room was dated, but clean. Mini-fridge, iron, hairdryer, tube tv, heater - all worked. Sheets & pillows were soft, bed was very firm, and wrapped in anti-bedbug liner. Bathroom was clean and water pressure awesome. Tub was slow to drain and ironing board collapsed. Room was quiet and dark, with heavy curtains - slept peacefully. Neighborhood was sketchy and low-end residential/industrial. Only a bar and a Dunkin Donuts nearby. Easy access to Lincoln & Holland tunnels. A great, cheap temporary rest-stop on your way into NYC.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles_n_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We visited this hotel at the weekend for 2 nights to see New York City. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't perfect, but for the price it wasn't too awful.

Good points: Rooms were clean and relatively well equipped, it is next to a Dunkin Donuts and opposite a great little diner. There was good free wifi. The service was friendly and hekpful and although the area was a little scruffy and industrial we didn't encounter any trouble. There are buses (the no. 125) which stop a block away and go to (and from) Port Authority in Manhattan. There are also regular minibuses which charge $2.50 - one pretty much every 10 mins.

Bad points: No lift to rooms, towels were stained and rooms a little dingy. The walk to the hotel from the bus is up a hill and the sidewalk was filthy, also you have to walk throgh the car park and carry your bags up the stairs so not ideal if you have children. We didn't try the breakfast but it didn't look to be anything special. The walls were thin and you could hear noises from other rooms.

For a young couple like us who don't mind 'roughing it' a little bit this was fine, especially as it was SO cheap. But if you like home comforts and want somewhere special and romantic then go elsewhere. I wouldn't recommend it to those wih young children either.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shockedandappalled27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Upon our arrival we noticed 3 street walkers hanging around the outside. The place looked horrible from the outside but since we already had a reservation we decided to check out the room thinking maybe looks could be deceiving. That is where things went from bad to worse. There was a large pile of "stuff" outside of our room - a rollaway bed, the linen cart, etc. The room looked like something from an episode of Law and Order. One of the beds appeared to have been slept in already! There were multiple hairs on the sheets, the tub was dirty looking and the ceilings were stained. Needless to say we checked out immediately (no refund, just an offer of new sheets). We drove 3 miles to another hotel and the difference was night and day!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The breakfast at this hotel was the worst ever. The carpet was smelly. it is situated very far from Journal Sq station (where you can get to New York in half an hour from there), Though the cleaners was excellent and very friendly, the room was clean daily.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
2.0 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 459 Tonnele Ave, Jersey City, NJ 07307-4446 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Jersey City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Red Carpet Inn
Rodeway Inn Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing