We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Room was OK, except for some strange smell. Price is fine but per person fee is charged.
The worst part: area does not look safe. Our original plan was to park our car there and walk to journal square, but just the surrounding neighborhood did not look safe for walking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurex_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    28
    15
    23
See reviews for
21
27
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

stay away from this crap . i came back home with bed bugs. small rooms . not a comfortable stay at all specially the price they charge is unacceptable . stay away there are many other hotels around the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surimaribo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Surimaribo26,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We are really apologizing for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

I would like to assure that our hotel have been inspected about a week ago for all over rooms and in the lobby and hallway. In addition to that, as per our brand policy and health regulations, we have already given a special treatment for all our rooms and each part of the hotel area. I would like to reassure you that we have completely inspected our rooms, bathrooms, lobby, hallways and all our amenities that we use for our valuable guest.

Again, as a manager and from our entire staffs we really apologize from the bottom of our heart for the horrible experience you experience at our hotel during your stay. I will personally promise you that this type of issue will never occur for any of our future guests.

Please forgive us at this time as we are doing our best everyday to improve our service and standard of the hotel. We definitely want to give a good service for your future stay with us. We hope to see you again at our hotel soon. We appreciate your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here after a tiresome drive from Vermont. I chose this place for its proximity to Journal Square and the low price. We stayed in a double room. We had very low expectations but were very happy to see the room as it had a decent amount of space. There was complimentary coffee/tea as well as complimentary toiletries and even a large screen TV. An iron with stand, a small refrigerator and a microwave were really helpful for us. They also have complimentary breakfast and free parking. The room was clean but it had a slight odor (it wasn't too bad, though). I think it was because of the air conditioner so may be if they service the AC it will be fine. But like I said, it wasn't bothering us too much and we got used to it after a few minutes.

It's in a really convenient location as we had to take the PATH train from Journal Square to NYC in the morning. And in the evening all the other places we wanted to go to in Jersey City were also just a short drive away.

Overall, it was a very good place for us. I would recommend it for any length of stay. A room service person told me that a guest had recently left after staying 3 years in one of their rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KamranZahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
234 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We arrived at about 9 pm since we only needed to stay overnight for a next day visit to NYC. When you pull in it appears a little "sketchy" but even when walking next door to the Dunkin Donuts we didn't feel unsafe. The front desk staff was very friendly and check in was quick and easy (I paid ahead online through Travelocity). The first impression of our room was that it was dated but clean. Our toilet seat was broken off on one side and it was a little tricky getting the toilet to flush and fill--we just had to hold the handle down when flushing. Just a little inconvenience but no biggie. The pressure in the shower was wonderful and they do provide little bottles of shampoo like other hotels. There was a big flat screen TV mounted to the wall, but the beds were a little uncomfortable--for me anyway. The mattresses were a little hard but I do realize that there are people that like it like that!

Check out was easy as well. We left about 6:30 am and they already had continental breakfast available, which was nice. I handed my key card to the front desk staff and that was it!

The hotel is very conveniently located about 1.5 miles from the Journal Square PATH station. There are a few restaurants nearby that we really wanted to try (a Portugese/Spanish place) but it was raining and we were tired so we passed.

I would probably stay here again since the price was so reasonable and the location was convenient for our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hello EFoxx,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay.

I agree that the location of the hotel may look imprecise and unsafe but I must clarify that there are security systems in place such as CCTV cameras, and an unarmed personal watchmen who reports any suspicious behavior to the manager's office immediately.

We have taken your comments very seriously, and for broken toilet seat we have had our maintenance staff pay closer attention to this particular situation to fix it. Many times as a manager and hotel team we are unable to notice these issues where our valuable guest able to help us.

Please excuse us at this time as we are doing our greatest everyday to provide the best for our guests. We will definitely improve our standards and services. We hope to see you again at our hotel soon. We appreciate your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel was great!! My partner and i stayed here for 12 nights over christmas and new year. And we were pleasantly suprised after reading all the harash comments about this hotel. The area is a little sketchy at night - reccommed taxis of a night. Located 20 minutes from Manhattan by the NJ Path train (Journal Square, takes 15minutes to walk there). The staff were very helpful!! Our remote had stopped working and they quickly changed it over, on another occasion we organized a taxi to take us to the Rockerfella center. The man working behind the counter called the taxi service for us and told us the fee would be $60.. We didn't mind as we had to be there ASAP he told us it'd be 10 minutes (which is was) during this time my partner and I quickly went back up to our room to get ready and as we came back down 10 minutes later the man working behind the counter was waiting at the bottom of the stairs for us. He said "make sure you only give him $60! Don't let him tell you otherwise OK.." We couldn't believe how kind he was and he'd gone out of his way to help. We would highly recommend to anyone who is on a budget!! Staying in New York you have to pay an extra tax on your accomadation where as in New Jersey you don't.. Don't be discouraged by these other reviews!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello Stephanie P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It’s a pleasure to hear you had such a positive experience during your stay.

We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly stay. I am very happy to see that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves in making our guests feel welcome and comfortable during their stay. I will definitely be passing on the kind words to our staff. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay to all our guests.

We hope to see you again at our hotel soon. We appreciate your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Average hotel in Little India. Very gracious helpful inn keepers that work hard to keep the rooms clean and safe. If your looking for a clean safe place close to public transportation to NYC this is the place to be. We didn't spend alot of time in the rooms just to
sleep. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneloveVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hello OneloveVT,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us. It’s a pleasure to hear you had such a positive experience during your stay.

I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the staff. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay to all our guests.

We hope to see you again at our hotel soon. We appreciate your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The value was great but the hotel itself was a little run down. The front desk people seemed bored when they talk. Room looked ok but not everything is what it seems because the room was very comfy. If you are staying on a budget then come here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
2.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 459 Tonnelle Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07307 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Jersey City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Red Carpet Inn
Rodeway Inn Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing