We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty rough but you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Jersey City
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pretty rough but you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here due to power outages caused by the October 2011 storm. The hotel is in a pretty rough area - I looked at Yelp reviews of a nearby bar/restaurant which mentioned prostitutes and guys carrying knives.

I had a terrible night's sleep - first a man and a woman's voices next door were more than audible through the walls - when I went to front desk to complain (at 11pm) I was told they would be checking out soon, and indeed they did (checking out at 11pm? Hmmm. Wonder what that "couple" we're up to). Then at 3:15am some guys turned up and were shouting in reception, which woke me up. If you stay here, make sure you don't get a room on the same floor as reception, and bring ear plugs.

The room itself was what you'd expect at an Econolodge and for the price. Was surprised to see it had a CRT TV though - come on Econolodge, flat screen TVs are so cheap now it's time to upgrade.

The shower curtain didn't smell too good but the bathroom was clean.

The staff were fine but I was surprised the guy I spoke to couldnt tell me a SINGLE place to get a meal nearby (I later found a Wendy's and a Taco Bell up the road).

Free parking but the inability to make turns across Tonnele Ave is a pain.

Only stay here if you are on a tight budget, and expect to get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    10
    11
    13
    47
See reviews for
19
19
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is the worst place 2 stay It smells like sum1 died in here n They buried them in the basement and like someone smoked a 1000 cigarettes in each room. This place is nasty there is no air con and there are big flies everywhere even tho there is netting on the windows. During my 2 night stay we changed rooms 3 times. I couldn't breathe in the first room bcuz it smelt so bad. The 2nd rooms toilet flooded at 2am in the mornin soaking half our bedroom floor and into the hallway. The 3rd room we moved to also smelled had cigarette burns in the duvet and hairs in the bed. When asked for new sheets we we given screwed up sheets and made to make the bed ourselves. On a good note they do serve breakfast if u dare eat it and it's real close to new York city about 15min n can get a bus 4 $2 into the city. Other than that I recommend u stay away from this place

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afropunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

Catskill,NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I disagree with some of the harsh reviews for this place. Ok, Jersey City although filled with great people...it "ain't so scenic". I would imagine it's NOT a destination for romance and vacations. Keeping that in mind,my stay was fine. The room was very clean,the bathroom very clean with PLENTY of towels,ok TV. Everything very well maintained and freshly painted ect...HOWEVER,there is NO ELEVATOR!!!! So if you need a wheel chair situation,this is not your place. Also,one person said in the review that the place smelled of Indian food, NO... it's incense. This place is NOT BAD AT ALL. Ciao.

Room Tip: Not near the elevators!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoKoCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The lady at reception is horrendous, demanding $30 extra if you want to check in before 3pm.
Her husband is more flexible and polite. The younger desk clerk is fine.
The cleaners are fine and are pleased to attend to anything you are unhappy with.
Bedding is replaced every three days if you there that long.
Rooms with even numbers are at the back are away from loud continuous highway noise.
Adequate room and service for the money. You can walk 10mins to catch bus through Lincoln Tunnel that takes about 20 minutes - $2.50 and runs until 1am.
Ghastly industrial area; no restaurants nearby; two very basic shops. Breakfast at hotel 6-9am ok cereal;milk;coffee;tea;croissant;bread/toast, butter & jam.
Wear slippers in the room to be safe!

Room Tip: Ensure you get an even numbered room away from noise of highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

this was the worst hotel i have ever stayed...the beds smelled really very bad...and the whole hotel had a same smell..i think they use cheap kind of chemicals to clean everything...the bedding was disgusting it was hard to sleep in it...the view is bad the main door of the room is broken it was shaking in the night we were terrified that someone was trying to open our door...they should change the bedding and renovate the whole hotel...the city itself is dirty comparing to Canada it was the dirtiest city i ever visited...the only reason we stayed there was to visit NYC...the breakfast was horrible ..orange juice looked stinky and expired...cereals were like cheap brands and there was dust all over the counter...and yes the only thing we compromised on was the bathroom...it looked newly renovated...and clean...the cleaning guy was strange old Mexican guy.....he looked like a gangster to me...plzzz dont be fooled with the pics they showed on the website...STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farihawajahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Horrible place it smells so bad the bed spread had a burn cig mark in it and was visibly dirty when I told managment I wanted to leave the second I walked into my room they told me no. It is a very dirty area the front steps had trash all over them the rooms smell the front desk staff speaks horrible english. Booked here because of the pictures it was super misleading love using the choice hotels brand and stay loyal to them but this hotel is a disgrace

Room Tip: Horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt65414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is one of the most horribly staffed hotels I have ever stayed in. The front desk alone is enough reason to give this place not even 1 star! The "Manager" at the front desk was beyond rude . They have no concept of customer service here or the value of puting the customer first. They had their children behind the desk and just werent professional at all. I also will be complaining to the company about my stay there. Someone please replace her!! At breakfast there was no juice or milk only water and coffee but they provided cereal. How are you supposed to eat cereal with no milk?!?! Crazy terrible hote; WIll never have my service again. On a side note the cleaning lady was very nice. Maybe they should put her at the front desk!!! Just food for thought Econo Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvegavelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,101 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
641 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,763 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Jersey City

Property: Econo Lodge Jersey City
Address: 750 Tonnele Ave, Jersey City, NJ 07307-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Jersey City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Econolodge Jersey City
Econo Lodge Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing