We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sauce!”
Review of Taqueria Downtown

Taqueria Downtown
Ranked #20 of 597 Restaurants in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome sauce!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place make fabulous and authentic Mexican food. Its a small, no frills place but is worth the visit. They feature some of the best fish tacos I've ever had; highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    65
    20
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome soups!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved the food, so glad it finally reopened! I had the soup, which was so tasty, without being salty. Basic Mexican fare with tons of flavor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Decent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Pretty Authentic, great fish tacos. Had a better experience the second visit. First visit my great and I sat in and the service nor food wssdnt yo great. Second visit ordered to takeout and the fish tacos were excellent. Guacamole is fresh. Drinks are nothing spectacular.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank s_lucian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Good Mexican food in Jersey city”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have been to Taqueria few time and it was always a good experience. Food and drinks are really good and fresh, pork tacos are my fav.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita_My2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went here for a lunch with coworkers before a meeting. Host was extremely rude toward our party, especially the females. Our server on the other hand was a bit more accommodating. The food is certainly not the best Mexican in the area, not even close, anyone who says the contrary has not had authentic Mexican, and the price range displayed is off too. I had the steak and onions platter and a dos equis. For the first time, the best part of my meal turned out to be a bottled beer. The tap was $18 and change. Not worth my money. Tried one of their tacos too courtesy of a friend and you fare better at a chipotle's.

Total disappointment. Won't come back, certainly won't recommend.

Marco
Travelogs.net

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco_Carrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing