We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria Downtown

Taqueria Downtown
Ranked #16 of 591 Restaurants in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Taqueria has some delicious tacos for a reasonable price. The place looks dim and the seating space is small, but the food makes it worth it. The service and decorations are clearly not their main focuses, which I'm fine with when the food is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    63
    16
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“poor customer service. not family friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have been to this restaurant so many times and I've put up with them rushing us out of our seats on multiple occasions. But this last time they went too far. We went in for dinner with our son as we have many times before. They sat us directly under the speaker. When our son complained that the music was hurting his ears, we saw that there was a table of the exact same size open across the room so we asked to be moved. The hostess had to get her manager, the manager of the store said no and that there were other customers coming in that they needed to sit there. We re explained that the spot was too loud for us and asked if the customers that were coming in could be seated were we were sitting so that we could sit away from the speaker. He didn't care and had no interest in displaying a common courtesy to his customers. They are more concerned with turning over the table that providing good customer service. There are other taco places in the area and I will take my money there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Food is overpriced"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I choose to visit this place based on the reviews...that's why I want to write my own. First of all the prices shown on "this site"- trip advisor are incorrect. The menu prices are higher. The food is ok, however $3 for a single taco, with just "enough" meat- it's too much. At least add more "Carne" or charge a little less. Another thing, they do not accept changes. You either take it as is or take it as is. They can only omit, not substitute, add or change anything on the menu. And lastly their salsas are not spicy enough. I would not be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lecherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Always a great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Can't go wrong at the Taqueria Downtown. Consistently good tacos. excellent drinks and always great service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome sauce!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place make fabulous and authentic Mexican food. Its a small, no frills place but is worth the visit. They feature some of the best fish tacos I've ever had; highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing