We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

From an Canadian , I can say it was worth the drive to the Double Tree Hotel.It's only a nice ten minute walk to the PATH train station that goes to NYC , and this hotel is a great place to visit NYC without paying Mahattan  prices, we probably saved about a $100/night.One thing that  I like with is the location, is that , when you have a long and busy day in Mahattan , with all the rush and horn honking and sirens , it just seem so peaceful coming back to jersey each night ( that only took 20 -30 minutes ) with the train that you can also walk to . Also you can walkthe Newport Mall or take the NJ train to Hoboken or the Science museum. Alternatively it is a very short drive to those destinations. What I liked about the hotel Secure hotel elevators (need your key to get to your room). Comfy rooms and pillows.Nice bathroom and shower. Great checkin and very friendly staff.The only negative thing that I can say is I  don't think in this day and age, one should have to pay for wi-fi at a hotel, but it was available in the front lobby.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingpete2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    468
    166
    62
    34
See reviews for
574
246
60
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Last year I stayed at the double tree and did not have a great experience. They had no 2 queen beds available even though we had confirmed reservations a month in advance. We had four people staying over, and being the one on the sofa bed I can say that I did not sleep well at all. I wrote a complaint to double tree main office and heard a response that I would be contacted by the JC Double Tree and be reimbursed with a free nights stay. Took 6 months of phone calls to get that free night voucher (and at that point, the manager was nice and offered 2 free night vouchers). I wanted to redeem the vouchers for the weekend, so I called 3 weeks ago to see if I could make a reservation. The former manager is no longer an employee at Double Tree and the new manager never responded back to multiple phone calls/voice messages and email. Unfortunately I was told that I can only make a reservation with the manager in order to redeem the voucher, however it is difficult to make a reservation if you cannot get a hold of the manager.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
I wanted to apologize for the challenges that you experienced last year and the obvious frustration of attempting to redeem your certificates. Unfortunatley I have not received any phone calls or emails for such requests which, based on your comments of repeated vm's and emails is troublling. Please feel free to contact me direct at 201 499 2416 or via email at jim.salvo@hilton.com and I will be sure to handle your travel needs personally. Thanks and look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Front desk ....what can I say??? Amazing customer service and in house guides.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allsmiles9497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Thanks for the comments and hope to see you return soon to the Doubletree Hotel and Suites - Jersey City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I stayed for one night at this hotel the night before a flight out of Newark Airport. The room was comfortable, the staff went out of their way to be helpful. What I find so frustrating, though, is that hotels continue to have 1) limited wireless connectivity and 2) very expensive desktop/printer access charges. These are important factors to me and were the basis of any downgrade in my ratings.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadaCabaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and I am glad to hear that you found the staff accomodating. I do apologize for the challenges you experienced with the internet service in the guestrooms and will certainly follow up with our technical support team. Hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I stayed here because staying in NYC was impossible due to the marathon. If you know your way around NYC/NJ then you will have absolutely no problem getting back and forth. However, even if you have never been to NYC/NJ the commute is still rather easy. I'm sure you will stray away by accident a couple times but if you ask the friendly staff how to find the PATH station they will give excellent directions. The PATH takes you into the city. The bar is over priced but that comes with the territory. Overall, I would say stay here and save some extra cash. Realistically it can save you around $100 a day just to stay a little out of NYC and make the commute. I think its worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBerg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Doubletree Hotel & Suites - Jersey City. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2011

a short walk to the Path station takes you swiftly and safely into manhattan. the area around the hotel is clean, quiet and safe with amazing view over to the big apple both day and night. there is an amazing mall real close to the hotel as an alternative to the hustle and bustle of the new york shops,. the hotel staff were truly lovely and they were always polite and helpful -great hosts! the room was clean and fresh, very comfy bed furnishings and the signature warm cookie on check in. Dorothea and Felix stood out particularly for their great customer service - thanks!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mateymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed 6 days in a king bedroom in the Doubletree Hotel Jersey City. We really enjoyed our stay. We had a view over Manhattan. The hotelroom was much bigger than the most hotel rooms in manhattan are. The breakfast buffet (hot and continental) was good. It was only a short walk to the Mall and Supermarket and to the path train, which is safe and brings you in about 10 minutes to the world trade center in Manhattan. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossiKoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thanks for taking the time for the great review and hope to see you rreturn to the Doubletree Hotel & Suites Jeresey City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing