We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree is not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Double Tree is not for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Horrible attitudes. Bar closes early and the staff is eager to leave. Never met so many sad sacks working in one place. $30 to park per day, $15/day for wifi, and $21 for breakfast - not sure what planet these prices came from, but overall this hotel should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Greg H,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your valued feedback. I was very dissapointed to read your comments. While our team normally come in for wonderful reviews I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I read you concern on our bar closing early. We are unable to serve alcohol past 2:00AM due to Jersey City licensing laws and I understand how this can be frustrating. I know that our Front Office Manager has tried reaching out to you to address our failings. I humbly ask that you call me directly at 201-499-2416 so that I can address with you personally.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    448
    161
    61
    35
See reviews for
543
235
57
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Frederick, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Traveled to Jersey City to visit a number of sites in the area. The hotel was very clean and the staff extremely nice. Our room was spacious and clean. Access to area attractions was convenient, with the light rail located just behind the hotel and the PATH train into New York City just two blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Candice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Candice D,
Thank you for your recent stay and for your valued feedback. I was delighted that you enjoyed our clean spacious rooms our good loaction and great staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree when you are in Jersey City next.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey city, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Felix and another front desk clerk was very helpful! Location of the hotel was great, the shuttle service and cookies were even better. Breakfast buffet was great! Thank you for all the tour guide info.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Steven B,
Thank you for your recent stay and great feedback.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us from the welcome from Felix to our breakfast buffet and those wonderful cookies!! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Jersey City.
Warmest regards,
John Sheedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ideal if you want easy access to NYC but want away from the hustle and bustle. The path train was easily accessed from the hotel and cheap to use. Staff were knowledgeable about local area as well as offering advice re stops etc for tourist attractions

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Sandra M,
Thank you for staying with us at DoubleTree Jersey City recently and for your valued feedback. I was happy to see that you enjoyed our great location, away from the hustle and bustle of NYC but with easy access and our knowledgeable staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Decent hotel, about 1/3 mile from Newport PATH station and 1/2 mile from Exchange Place PATH. Costs $2.50 each way to ride into or out of NYC. The Waterfront is a beautiful, clean, calm area with light traffic. We had a jr double suite, adequate bathroom and room sizes and fairly well kept. For the price per night I would have expected more. My only real complaint is the double beds are the smallest doubles I have ever slept on. Two of us really and truly barely fit. The sofa sleeper was wider than the actual double beds. You may want to spring for more beds to provide for better sleep. That said, good location, nice place, great front desk staff and yummy chocolate chip cookies at check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ticst,
Thank you for staying with us and providing your valued feedback. I was happy to see that you enjoyed our location and hotel. While we do use a standard sized bed, I regret that you found our double beds small. Thank you also for your wonderful comments on our team. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again when you are in the area.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Woodstock, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I brought a group to this hotel and found everything to be wonderful. I have stayed at other hotels in the area with large groups and hands down, this hotel staff was the best. The breakfast buffet was great, the rooms were large, clean and quiet and the location is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Angel H,
Thank you for staying with us and for your glowing feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed everything from the great rooms and breakfast to our wonderful location. Our team take great pleasure and pride in seeing that our guests enjoy their service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton, Jersey City when you are in the area next.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I would have given a 5 but the they are stingy on the pillows and the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. But most travelers won't be using the sofa bed Also - Marco - at the front desk was extremely helpful in aiding us on a trip to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Jacqueline S,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for rating us highly in value, service and location. We would have been delighted to provide you with extra pillows on request. I apologize that you found our sofa beds uncomfortable. On the other hand I was delighted to see that you enjoyed Marco's service. Marco loves what he does and it shows.
Thank you for your valued feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton, Jersey City in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing