We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holy Extra Expenses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison, United States
1 review
“Holy Extra Expenses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

You sure wouldn't notice we used a wedding discount! Jersey City taxes EVERYTHING and even charged $25 to PARK! Besides all the extra charges and our total coming out to $228 (for one night!) the room and hotel were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Jamie G,
Thank you for your valued feedback.

I was dissapointed to see that you felt value was lacking due to Jersey City taxes and parking charges. We do charge for parking and our rates are competitive with the other hotels in Jersey City. There is no street parking available in our immediate vicinity. That said, otherwise, I was happy to see that you found our hotel and room very nice.

Thank you for choosing us to stay with us. I do understand that you have choices and I appreciate that you chose to stay with us.

Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    448
    161
    61
    35
See reviews for
543
235
57
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was underwhelmed with this hotel during my business trip. It got off to a bad start when the car which had been booked to collect me from JFK late at night didn't turn up ie hadn't been booked by the hotel.

My room was a nice size but the wardrobe doors were off their runners and had to be fixed before I unpacked. Walls between rooms are v thin meaning you can hear your neighbour using the bathroom in the middle of the night. Air con units are very dated and so noisy they can't be left on overnight.

Staff were generally pretty disinterested in me - reception staff more interested in chatting to aircraft crew & during my 5 day stay I was only once spoken to by a waiter at breakfast time, the other days I went without tea or coffee as it took far too long to attract anyone's attention. Food at breakfast time was poor - croissants & muffins never seemed fresh. Evening service in the bar/restaurant was even worse. On the one evening I did eat there I was the only person eating but still had to wait 10mins to order a drink.

Located walking to distance to PATH train station at Newport so convenient for getting in to Manhattan.

I booked a car to take me back to the airport, and after the disaster of my arrival I even double checked it had actually been booked, but when I went to reception I has to wait over 20 minutes for it to turn up. It seems that reception only calls the car once you're ready and waiting.

Really disappointing all round, definitely not a place to stay if you are a business traveller - try the Hyatt or Westin instead.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMtraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear SMtraveller 14,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your valued feedback.

It is our job to ensure that we provide great service to our guests. It is evident that we have failed you on so many counts and I sincerely apologise for this.

Rest assured that I have reviewed these issues with my team and we have taken steps to correct these issues.

I would like to address your stay with you presonally and humbly ask that you call me directly at 201-499-2416.
Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

was not going to drive from philly to the medowlands on Monday for my sons graduation from shu great hotel nice room great staff and great breakfast chilis restraint 1 block away nice place !cross the street and your walking along the Hudson nice view of nyc id go back if I ever need to spend the night in jersey city

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Steve B,
Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed our great staff, hotel, breakfast and our location. We look forward to welcoing you back to the DoubleTree Jersey City when you are next in our area.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pomfret, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at DoubleTree. It was clean and comfortable with an exceptional staff. Everyone was friendly and cheerful. Valet parking and shuttle service was really appreciated. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Alberta R,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your great feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed our clean comfortable rooms and friendly and cheerful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Jersey City when you are next in the area.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went to New York for a family visit. The hotel is great but flying into the city is advised (JFK, LQ). It is best if you fly into Newark. The hotel greeted us with those amazing cookies that we love so much. The rooms were nice and I really appreciated the transportation but because it was a large family group, it was not accessible enough. It is a great alternative to the city hotel and convenient if you are willing to be patient. I would reside at this hotel again.

Room Tip: There is a grocery and deli in the back side of the hotel that has much cheaper breakfast if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelingchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear 2travellingchick,

Thank you for staying with us at The DoubleTree by Hilton Jersey City. It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us a good location for Newark Airport and that you found the hotel great and while you found our courtesy transportation convenient, I am sorry that it did not fully serve your needs. We do provide free transport on our courtesy shuttle up to a mile radius of the hotel.
Thank you again for chosing us and for your valued feedback. We look forward to welcoing you back when you are again in the area.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is clean and very nice. The beds are the best! I also enjoy the microwave and frig in every room. The location is great - only blocks from the PATH train, so very easy to get into Manhattan. The light rail is behind the hotel, but not annoying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear William R,
Thank you for your great feedback.
I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel from our clean rooms and great beds to our easy access location. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel was easy to get to, and NYC was only minutes away by car through the Holland Tunnel or by the PATH train. It was good to get out of the city for a break to a place that was calm, quiet, and welcoming. Facilities were all in good condition and the staff was helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank maryannNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear MaryannNJ,
Thank you for your great feedback on your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Jersey City. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay from our great location to our calm welcome and cheerful and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are back in the area.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing