We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A solid hotel at a central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A solid hotel at a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The place is quiet and well run. The air conditioning is first rate. It is expensive due to its location. The hotel is directly next to the Hudson-Bergin light rail that goes many convenient places.

Without knowing anything else, the most important determinant of hotel quality is the recency of its initial build or total overhaul. This one is due for a face lift and significant updates to the rooms.

Room Tip: Save the valet fee and just park directly behind the hotel across the light rail track, 60 feet away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePilot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear JoePilot1,
Than you for staying with us and for your valued feedback. I was happy to see that you enjoyed our location and service and during these hot summer days that your air conditioning was excellent. I would lie to be able to trace your room and humbly ask that you cal me at 201-499-2416 so that I may be able to determine it's condition as we normally get very positive comments on our rooms. That said, we are in the process of planning room upgrades as well as upgrades to our public spaces and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again when you are next in the area.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    442
    158
    61
    35
See reviews for
534
233
57
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Felix & Margaret were the best, this is a great hotel to stay for nyc vacation. we took a family trip to nyc, this was close walk to path train. the staff was fabulous, the rooms were large & clean. we slept in premier suite. grocery store near by for those in the room snacks.

Room Tip: I would stay in premier suite so much space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSIE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Susie E,
Thank you for your great feeback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms and location but specially thank you for your recognition of the great service you received fro Felix and Margaret. We look forward to your next vist to DoubleTree by Hilton, Jersey City.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My only issue was that the booking agent stated the cost of overnight parking was $20.00 and my final bill stated a $30.00 charge. I called the booking agent and asked detailed questions during both calls to determine if I would stay at he Hilton or Hyatt. The overnight parking fee was not a deciding factor but during both calls the amount stated and the amount actuially cahrged were different.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Peter F,

Thank you for staying with us and for your valued feedback. It looks like you enjoyed your stay except for the pricing error on our carparking. Valet parking is in deed $30 overnight but self parking is $20, prices that are competitive with the other hotels in the area. If I could ask you to kindly call me at 201-499-2416 so I can determine which agency you booked through as these have been the prices for well over a year.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in our area.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The price was good for a family trip to NYC. The Path train is a short walk away. We got the family fun package and loved the daily breakfast and free wifi.

The rooms have a pull-out sofabed in a sitting area. They do not have a separate bedroom. But they were comfortable enough for our 3 night stay.

I found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Plus you get free cookies!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MochaMama40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Mocha Moma 40,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the family fun package and found it of value. Glad too that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and found our staff to be helpful and friendly.
We llok forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Not many options of Hilton hotels in the area but since I'm a Hilton honors member i opted for this hotel. The hotel itself is nice and modern, The staff was polite yet not friendly, The rooms are clean which i can appreciate. Overall the hotel was nice, A bit pricy but great for a one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shakistar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Shakistar 17,
Thank you for staing with us recently and for your valued feedback. We were happy to see that you found our hotel modern and our staff polite. I am sorry, and I can assure you that my team is sorry that you did not find them friendly. They do normally receive great comments on their friendliness. Thank you too for your commenst on our room cleanliness. This is a very important goal of ours and we appreciate that yopu recognized this.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Basic clean hotel. Comfortable room. Nothing fancy, but it served the purpose. Room had a sitting area seperate from the bed, however the tv was not visible from the sitting area. Room had a refrigator & microwave, but no mini bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear SR46,

Thank you for staying with us recently. I was happy to see that you found our rooms to be comfortable and while I was dissapointed with your overall grade it was good to see that you scored us well on cleanliness and service.

Thank you for the time taken in giving us your valued feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Second visit to the Jersey Doubletree. Truly enjoyed the City View. The service is fantastic, especially the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is great and we also enjoyed a good dinner. Will be back to stay again. !! The Path is very convenient to the hotel. We felt very safe in our travels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Debbie B,
Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to our hotel. It gives us all a great sense of accomplishment when we see so many of our guests return to us. I was delighetd to see that you enjoyed our service and breakfast quality and that you find our hotel convenient. When we travel, safety is of utmost importance. In this regard, I am glad that you found our hotel and it's location safe.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing