We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was very clean. The beds were wonderful! The subway was just 2 blocks away and across the street was a real nice river walk way that had great night views of NYC. A little pricey but everything seems to be, in the areas surrounding the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MBLOVER2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear MBlover2014,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valued feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our clean rooms and wonderful bed, our location and our views. We truly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    448
    161
    61
    35
See reviews for
543
235
57
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is NOT right on the Hudson. I was advised to take the train into the city and not the ferry. Then I was given the wrong directions (written down on paper by the staff) to get to the train. The stop that I was told to take on the way back in from the city was 8 miles from the hotel and not a safe area! Upon return when I questioned the man working the desk about the directions I was given he said he does not even go to the area that we exited the train because it is not safe. Saving a little money to see the NYC sights is not worth this hassle. Just stay in NYC for a little extra cash

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 160harrietm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear 160harrietm,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valued feedback. We appreciate the time you took in giving us your thoughts. We can understand fully your frustration having received incorrect information and apologise for this. We are updating our information to ensure that other guests do not have a similar experience. We would like to make this up to you and prove to you that this was an isolated experience. Please call me directly at 201-499-2416 so I can assist you with a future reservation.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

1. convenient location, very close to NYC 2. housekeeping definitely needs improvement, I found hair strands hanging from the tub spout but it was late and I was tired so I decided to clean it up myself. Also the desk had food residue on it which suggested that the cleaniness of the room is questionable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank SCWC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear SCWC2014,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valued feedback. We normally get great comments on our guest rooms and cleanliness but I was sorry to see that your room was not to standard. It is our job to ensure that your room is perfect on arrival but when things go wrong we truly want to make it right for you and would have been delighted to do this while you were here. Please accept my humble apologies. We would love to welcome you back to show you that your experience was truly an isolated one. Thank you again for your time in bringing your concern to my attention.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

the most helpful and pleasant front desk person I have ever come across. the girl, forgot her name, was the best at her job. I needed some changes to my reservations and also some help with the sight seeing around new York and she gave me the best tips.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank DrHandMaterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Dr. HandMaterk,
Thank you for staying with us and for your great feedback. While I was happy to see it, it did not come as a surprise that our front desk staff member took such care of you. They love taking care of our guests and take great pride in comments like yours. Thank you for your wonderful recommendation.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you are looking to save a bit of money on a trip to NY City there really is no better place to do it than this hotel.

Located in Jersey City's Newport section, which is very safe and well lit and actually quite nice despite Jersey City's reputation, the hotel is a 5-7 minute walk from the PATH train that connects you straight to two lines directly into either Midtown or the Financial District at the World Trade Center. It is also right next to the Light Rail which will take you further into New Jersey.

Hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and welcoming. Not a 5-star hotel by any means, but perfect for a home base when visiting the city if you don't mind a quick train ride in and out. It also has a neighboring garage where you can park your car.

Plus, you pretty much have to take out a second mortgage to stay at a decent hotel in Midtown these days, so this hotel is a very nice respite on your wallet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemp674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Kemp674,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your great feedback. We are delighted that you found us clean, comfortable and welcoming and enjoyed our location and the easy access to Manhattan and that we were good value as oposed to Manhattan prices. We truly appreciate your great recommendation.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved everything about the hotel. Thank you. Bar closed too early but that's fine. View, and location was ideal, breakfast was wonderful and your room is well suited for large parties, we couldn't ask for anything more but I do think 200 characters min. for this review is a little too long.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Anne Marie G,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your great feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and loved our hotel's views of Manhattan, our location and breakfast. We truly appreciate your wonderful recommendation.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here a few months ago. Great view of Manhattan and it's right down the street from the PATH train. Felix at the front desk was awesome! I'm not a fan of the cookies, but it's the thought that counts. Great place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm00th0per8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Sm00th0per8ter,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valued feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, specifically the view and Felix, who loves taking care of our guests. We truly appreciate your great recommendation.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Address: 455 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing