We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Diner !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jefferson Diner

Jefferson Diner
Price range: US$9 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jefferson Diner is the place where friends and family come together. Our menu is quite diverse. Everything at Jefferson Diner is a favorite, from the Moussaka and Spanakopita to the Lobster Bisque and our daily specials, you cannot go wrong. You can also pair your delicious meal with a glass of wine, beer or cocktail from our full bar.Jefferson Diner has been on the Food Network's "Diners-Drive-Ins and Dives" with Guy Fieri, The Food Network's "Unwrapped", with Marc Summers, TLC "Making Over America", with Trinny and Susannah, The Today Show, Fox 5 News, and has been voted #1 Diner in Morris County for 7 years. Jefferson Diner has also been named a Top 5 Diner in New Jersey by The Star Ledger, Munchmobile.By bringing our creativity and passion onto our plates, we strive to satisfy each and every customer that comes through our doors. We have a quiet, comfortable and clean environment in our restaurant as well as staff that is attentive to your needs. At Jefferson Diner, we eagerly await to serve you.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
356 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“The best Diner !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

No matter how many times we go to the "Jef Diner" the more we like it. The food is always wonderful and the service outstanding. The Diner wins a lot of award and all are deserved.
If you care for something a little more formal and also excellent, try their next door restaurant, the J. Towne Tavern. You will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food7, Owner at Jefferson Diner, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
What a wonderful review to read! Customers like you make the hard work worth it. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you back really soon. Now that the weather is getting warmer make sure to join us on our outdoor patio for an even more enjoyable experience!!

Sincerely,
Jimmy, Nick, and Donna, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    64
    36
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Re-posting Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I took down the review I wrote the other day day because I thought it was a bit harsh, but have decided to re-post this version. Nothing will change the fact that I find the Jefferson Diner grossly overpriced, serving extremely ordinary food that is quite honestly, nothing special at all. I refuse to pay their prices, and from the looks of other reviews up here, other people agree. I just really dislike this place, and therefore, will never come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrumBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food7, Owner at Jefferson Diner, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We are so sorry to hear you feel this way. We strive to prepare fresh food daily that will appeal to our customers while keeping a traditional diner menu in mind. We really hope you will reconsider dining with us in the future and will hopefully change your opinion.

Sincerely,
Jimmy, Nick, and Donna, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Jefferson Diner is right there with the pantheon of great New Jersey Diners. Always clean, and bright and friendly. The menu is classic.....you could read it for ten minutes before deciding what to get. I tend to have breakfast here more often than any other meal, and it is always excellent, with a large selection from which to choose. Over the years, the diner has expanded, and been re-designed, but has never lost it's touch. From the moment you arrive you are greeted warmly, and the service continues right to the end of your meal. The Food Network has featured them a few times, and their acclaim is well deserved. You always see a member of the family on hand, which may be the biggest reason that service and quality is never lacking. If you want a genuine New Jersey diner experience, the Jefferson Diner is where you should go......

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlav46691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food7, Owner at Jefferson Diner, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
You've made our day. Thanks for spreading the word about our place! We've work hard to offer good tasting food in a comfortable environment, so it feels great to hear that it's a appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jimmy, Nick, and Donna, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I eat here all the time and I just have to say that it truly is one of the best breakfast meals I ever had!! I had The Baker's Pancakes, they had Peanut butter morsels, and Bananas, they were excellent. Also complimentary you get a muffin which the server "Monique" told me they make in house from the bakery!! You also get a complimentary slice of cantaloupe with breakfast. Great coffee, just a pleasure!! worth it.... :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food7, Owner at Jefferson Diner, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks for spreading the good word about our place on Tripadvisor, too. It's always good to hear back form our regular customers! We're looking forward to having you back for many more tasty breakfasts. See you next time, Alex!

Best,
Jimmy, Nick, and Donna, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

A good diner the service is usually friendly the meals are good and come quickly but the downfall is it is expensive for a diner. It could be because of the publicity it gets. It is a good meal but overrated for being on tv shows.

Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food7, Owner at Jefferson Diner, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We keep our price points proportionate to the quality of ingredients we use. Thanks for reaching out to us though, Ben. We hope that you're able to join us for a good meal again soon.

Best,
Jimmy, Nick, and Donna, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jefferson Diner also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing