We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Lakewood New Jersey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Lakewood, NJ, United States
2 reviews
“Best Western Lakewood New Jersey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I found the hotel to be comfortable but the décor is a bit dated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Price was very reasonable. Weekday breakfast starts early weekend breakfast ends early. No on site exercise equipment/room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Laurence S.
Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback on your experience. We are glad to have met your needs on comfort, value and are friendly staff! We do offer a free pass to a fitness center nearby. Hope to see you the next time you are in the Lakewood/Brick area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    51
    22
    34
See reviews for
83
49
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a pretty good place to stay when visiting the Jersey shore. It’s not right on the water but not far from either Seaside Heights or Point Pleasant. Stayed here for five nights during Labor Day weekend.

The hotel is right off the Garden State Parkway and it’s easier to reach from the southbound side. You will have to use a U-turn to get there after exiting the highway but it’s not that bad as some other reviewers have indicated. This is quite typical in New Jersey so it’s nothing out of the ordinary.

We arrived right at check-in time. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk clerk and quickly checked into our room. We were given a room on the second floor and had a view of the pool.

The room was a bit dated and worn and that showed especially in the bathroom. However, the room was spotless and very clean as was the bathroom. The bathroom had a few cracked tiles here and there but otherwise was fine.

The beds were very comfortable and the flat screen television was nice. The air conditioning unit was great and kept the room very comfortable. We also had a small refrigerator and microwave. The pillows were surprisingly small. We dealt with that by asking for additional ones which we were given.

As mentioned, the hotel rooms are a bit worn. However, it seems that they are in the process of renovating the hotel. The hallway carpets were completely replaced during our stay and I saw a sign apologizing for the on-going work. It appeared that some rooms were not available due to renovations.

Breakfast is served in the main lobby but only until 9:00 a.m. I think 10 would be better as it seemed that most guests arrived closer to 9:00. The breakfast was your standard Continental with boiled eggs, cereals and waffles. The donuts and bagels provided were very fresh and I could tell that they had been delivered that morning.

The swimming pool was fine although smaller than it appears in the pictures shown on the hotel website. It was fine and you can get towels right from the front desk. Plenty of free parking here as well.

Location is what this place really has going for it and the on-going renovations will only help. The hotel is very close to numerous restaurants and shopping. A Wal-Mart and Target are a short drive away.

As I mentioned, the beach is not far. We did that almost every day and it was only a short drive depending on traffic. It took us 20 minutes to get to the beach and boardwalk of Seaside Heights and that included hitting traffic on the way.

However, staying here was much cheaper than staying at some mom and pop place on the beach. This hotel is nicer than most of those places and even has a free breakfast. If you don’t mind driving a short distance to the beach, this is a good choice. You’ll also have much more choices of restaurants.

To be honest, I was a bit nervous about staying here after seeing so many negative reviews but I found them to be exaggerated and unfounded for the most part. Sure, this isn’t the Ritz but it’s not Bob’s Motel either. Recommended.

Room Tip: Second floor is your best bet. It's all non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear timman19,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were happy to have met your needs on customer service, value, location and cleanliness. We have recently replaced our carpeting, added new beds and door locks. We will be remodeling in the calendar year. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Decor from the '80s, low ceilings, dingy and stuffy rooms with little ventilation (and a very noisy air conditioner), musty carpet, and just an overall very depressing, sad ambiance. We wanted to leave the hotel the minute we woke up in the morning. Right on the highway and overlooking a parking lot. Breakfast is a second thought, served in the small lobby. There is laundry, though, and the front desk staff seem nice. Not really near anything of interest without a car. Extremely expensive for the low quality and not at all worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear anonymous a,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologize for your room not being what you thought it would be and not up to date. We have slowly been upgrading the hotel. We have new beds in all of the rooms. New carpeting is being installed and new locks. We will be remodeling by the end of the year. Please accept our apology and we invite you back to our location to experience our updated rooms. Hope to see you again when visiting Lakewood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lakewood hotels

Edison, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western for a close friends wedding. Checkin was easy. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. My wife enjoyed laying by the pool all day. They even included breakfast. The Wedding was very nice and the weather was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Robert L.,
It is definitely our pleasure to hear your satisfaction with our hotel. We are glad that you were happy with your comfort and cleanliness of your room and our hotel. We look forward for your return for future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Booked the room at the last minute on a holiday weekend and the price was reasonable. Good location on the way to the shore, easy to get to, lots of restaurants in the area. Room was comfortable and clean and mostly quiet. Would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank StevieNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear StevieNJ,
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We value your feedback and am very happy that you decided to stay with us. We welcome you back at the Best Western, Lakewood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family and I came in to the area to go to my son's Baseball Tourn nearby. Breakfast was good, the kids loved the pool. Good location, and lots of restaurants to choose from. They had a washer and dryer for us to use. We even won the game!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Barbara M.
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear we made your visit to our hotel a pleasant one. We value your kind feedback and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel to go see the Lakewood Blue Claws play. Our room was nice, breakfast was included and we had a nice time. The hotel was alittle older, but the price was right. We would stay her again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw31015, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hello Kim H,
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We value your kind feedback. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Leisure Inn Lakewood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakewood
2.7 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
6.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
6.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
Address: 1600 Route 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lakewood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leisure Hotel Lakewood
Best Western Lakewood
Lakewood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing