We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband purchased an overnight package on Groupon for my birthday gift. It was an out of the park homerun! From the minute we arrived we were in awe. Eric..the innkeeper was very welcoming and knowlegeable. We stayed in Barn Suite 4..nicest room on the premises. It was very large, clean and romantic. The 2 sided fireplace and the jacuzzi were terrific. We loved the 2 person jacuzzi shower also. The loft bed and stairway made for a real treat! Anton's on the Swan served a delicious meal and we will return in warmer weather to visit their outdoor bar area. Breakfast was very good and the highlight was the alpacas and llamas~! Must say in 26 yrs of marriage this may be the best place we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: w/o a doubt...Barn rm 4! Check Groupon for a great package deal..dinner credit of $50.00 , bottl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

There were wonderful features of this B&B including the service. Eric was most helpful. Breakfast was quite good. We liked feeding the alpacas and llamas and received two bags of food when we checked in. We also received a bottle of wine (which we have yet to open) and a $50 certificate to Anton's at the Swan. We stayed in the Barn and the room was clean. There was a tight spiral staircase to get to the sleeping area. What could have been improved was the bedding. The pillows were aged foam and the blanket was pilled and worn. There was a high chandelier that had light bulbs that were out. The two TVs were old and small although that did not matter so much. Because it was a Select Registry designated property, we came with high expectations that there was a fine attention to detail similar to other Select properties at which we have stayed. The property had its high and low points--fine overall, just not the quality that was suggested by its Select Registry designation. Note: There is a lovely French bakery, C'est La Vie, down an alley in nearby Hope, PA. It is small and may take some asking to find, but the effort pays off in spades. The croissants and sweet and savory pastries were exquisite to the max.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you fou you input - we appreciate your cments and will loom at every item pointed out.
We hope you will return again as we are always tsing very to improve our inn.
Thank you,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Beautiful rooms, grounds, and gotta love the alpacas! If you are looking for a quick romantic getaway, this is it. The people are so so nice, good food....I really can't find anything wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was the third time we've been to this terrific B&B in lovely Lambertville, NJ. Accommodations were very nice. Breakfasts were special and service was excellent. The llamas and alpacas on premises were an added treat. Lots of great local restaurants, antiquing and shopping in Lambertville and across the bridge in New Hope.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funeric54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

What a fantastic B&B!!! I think they may have spoiled me for any other place. We got a deal on living social for a friday or sunday stay, with wine tasting, $50 for Anton's at the Swan, and other goodies...great deal...would do it again in a second. We stayed in Barn Suite 3..so pretty and charming felt like a chalet with high wood beamed ceilings, awesome two person jacuzzi right near fireplace(LOVED THIS!!) and they also gave us a bottle of wine as part of our package which was so nice. The bed was comfy, but the def need to upgrade there sheets, they were rough, but clean and everything was so nice. You can hear the other people staying a tiny bit (if they are super loud ;) but it was fine didnt bother us at all. They main house itself was so pretty, the stone room, gorgeous, the dining room is amazing too and Eric the in keeper is very nice and helpful. They even had fresh baked cookies out when we were there. Eric delivered breakfast to out suite and it was deeelish! We fed the Alpacas too...such a great experience, they were so cute! Overall, an amazing place and a perfect romantic getaway, Thank you Chimney Hill!!! :)

Room Tip: It can get a tad warm up in barn suite, bc the bedroom is upstairs...but its fine if keep fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We bought a two night weekend deal through Groupon. The Inn is beautifully maintained inside and out. Out room was the Garden Room which had a queen sized bed with a sitting area and a fireplace. It was very private on the second floor and the bathroom was located outside the room in our little hallway.
One of the nicest touches is the Butlers Pantry from which guests may enjoy snacks including fresh baked cookies at any time of the day or night. Eric was very gracious and we enjoyed our daily breakfasts in the beautiful dining room.
It is about a ten minute walk into town but I suggest you wear comfortable shoes to do so as there is a small hill involved. Lambertville and New Hope are both fun towns to explore on foot. Try the River Horse Brewery for a tasting for $1 and hourly tours.
We used the $50 credit for dinner at Antons but we would not choose to return. It was just ok and the menu is very limited. Instead try Lillys on the Canal- the food is good but the desserts are EXCELLENT!
We would certainly return to Chimney Hill. It was the perfect setting for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desnudouno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I stayed on New Year's Eve 2011-2012. We didn't really mind waiting a while to check in (others were being helped to their rooms), as we relaxed by a welcoming fireplace with ample wine and cheese put out by the staff. Eric (I believe that was his name) was a gracious host and made us feel instantly welcomed, and even showed us a few rooms around the house to which we could get a free upgrade! We chose a room in the house with a tastefully decorated Asian theme (Room 4), which was quaint, charming and clean. The grounds are lovely, the alpacas and llamas are fun to watch, and breakfast was amazing. It's about a 25-minute walk to "town," and another 10 minutes or so to New Hope from there. We walked to town and it was fine, but there is a bit of a hill, so if you're unable to walk long distances, you will need to take a cab (which is not a big deal).

After having stayed in New Hope in the past (Logan Inn - WORST lodging experience of my life, literally), we were a bit hesitant to stay over night. However, Lambertville, just across the bridge from New Hope, is a great town - a bit more "adult" than New Hope. We enjoyed staying on the Jersey side by leaps and bounds over the PA side. And Chimney Hill is THE place to stay when visiting the area.

Overall, this is one of the best B&B's we've stayed at, and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gredoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
248 reviews
5.1 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
0.7 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
9.0 mi away
The Brick Hotel
The Brick Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtown
106 reviews
4.3 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2609
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range: £168 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Nurture Day Spa. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Richard & the very cute Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing