We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never a better night in a barn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Never a better night in a barn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

If you're going to stay here, splurge and get a barn room suite as it is more private and well worth it. My wife and I acutally spent our wedding night here before leaving town. The suite we were in and two rooms and a bathroom on the main floor with a loft bedroom above. The two downstairs rooms were seperated by a fireplace, open to each room. The best part was the jacuzzi tub sitting right in front of the fireplace! What a romantic and relaxing night.
I can't speak to breakfast as we slept late and the breakfast we were supposed to get in bed didn't happen. We checked in late so we migth have missed something in terms of communication but we apparently didn't provide some info regarding when or how we wanted breakfast. On our way out we wandered through the dining room and were able to get coffee and danish so that satisfied us! We also didn't get to roam the grounds, which I hear are beautiful so we'll have to come back for that. Maybe our 1st year anniversay! The suites are a bit pricey but if you're looking for a nice break then I'd head here.
The upfront service from the owner was spectacular in assisting us in booking, answering questions, and just being open and friendly. She also gives discounts to active military and those serving in helping positions such as law enforcement, nursing, etc. So I appreciated that about her and that helped make the decision for us when we chose where to stay. It wasn't about the discount but her heart for serving those who serve.

Room Tip: Go for the barn suite, I think we were in 3 which has the loft bedroom and the tub in front of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    39
    26
    14
    21
See reviews for
15
193
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, md
Level Contributor
100 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a groupon promo that they did. The property is gorgeous, with great landscaping around an historic looking set of buildings and a functioning alpaca farm. Got to feed the alpacas which was a hoot, though beware of the electric fence. The room we had was excellent with a comfortable bed and plenty of amenities. The one thing to confirm and be aware of is the bathroom location. We had a private bathroom as promised, but to our surprise, it was off of the public hallway. I don't believe that all of them are this way, but you may want to ask before booking. This was a small in convenience in that it either required us to put on a robe to go use the bathroom at night, to wear shorts to bed. Not a big deal, but was not what I was expecting. Otherwise all went great. I would recommend.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mddan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Sorry! You were unhappy and you did let us know while you were here at the Inn.

There was not a vegeteran breakfast requested on your reservation form- so we had no information concerning this need - your arrival was very late at night - at morning, Breakfast options were offered and you were displeased with them.

We do not have a professional chef at the estate-there is no Chef who "ran away" - we ( our Innkeepers) prepare our reciepies and bake them here - we have always prepared our breakfasts in house.- each day we offer a fresh fruit- the day you were here we had a special baked fresh apple dish with whipped cream, many others enjoyed this lovely dish.

The Server was not trying to be rude, she was unprepared for your negative and cutting comentary in front of the dinning room filled with other guests and your attitude towards her when she offered a different breakfast option - but we are very sorry if that is how she was preceived-
We do share your comments with all our staff to assure they are aware of how different guests may preceive comments and suggestions- and I do thank you for sharing your dissatisfactions with me during your stay at the Inn as well.

I tried to accommidate your special needs of late departure - there were no additional charges made as we really were trying to make your stay more pleasurable.

Again, I thank you and wish you were more satisfied - but we really try and do realize sometimes things go wrong- we will always look for ways to improve and try harder.
Thank you again,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

It seems that this BnB has gone through some unwelcome changes as of late. Having read reviews detailing lavish breakfasts and luxurious rooms, we were quite excited to stay. Breakfast was a disaster featuring a slab of dry banana bread, some fried apples topped with spray can whipped cream, and a rather inedible egg concoction. As vegetarians we asked if there might be anything else than this hunk of egg/bacon and were told originally "no. there is only one dish". When we asked if we could have some bread, the hostess pointed at our banana bread and asked "is this your bread?" Apparently, we were meant to have only the 3 inch slab. In any event, they ultimately did scramble some eggs for us and supplied us with toast so breakfast achieved about 99 cents in value. The juice was not fresh and there were no pastries or fresh fruit to speak of. The hostess was incredibly rude and said "i'm just helping out here" implying she could care less and suggesting the chef that created the great food found in reviews here was long gone. Later, we asked the proprietor if we could skip breakfast going forward and get a small refund. She readily agreed which was quite nice of her. I would recommend all future guests do the same as there is a great place for breakfast in town (Brian's) which is 5 min drive and gives you all that this place doesn't. figure 30 bucks for breakfast...

Otherwise, the cleaning staff were quite nice--Eric was incredibly helpful and kind. We stayed in a barn suite. The room was a bit tired--featuring a plastic bed cover under the sheets--a unique experience to sleep on plastic--not exactly worried about thread counts here. We don't watch TV so the 19" CRT television from the early 1980's didn't bother us either. The tub was nice, while the shower unit was an amusing all plastic Jacuzzi brand unit circa 1970.

Certainly convenient to town and a nice walk to pretty view nearby. Perhaps there is nothing better in the area; however, one expects a basic level of service (i.e. not rude). The rest we probably could have forgiven.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night. It was great. We walked into town to have a few drinks and then we ate dinner at Anton's. We had a Groupon for this restaurant and it was yummy!! Our server was the best, she even gave us a ride back to the Chimney Hill Estate. Why, you ask? The walk down to town is all down hill.....easy. The walk back is all up hill and you truly have to be up for that walk back up, straight up many hills!!! At the end of this night, we were not up for it!!
The grounds of this B & B are beautiful. The breakfast was wonderful in front of the toasty warm fireplace. We had a very nice time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trrmht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

First, potential is exceptional, the Inn itself has plenty of historic charm and quaint rooms to make most folks smile. Clean, comfortable and located quite near Lambertville NJ. First, maybe it was just bad timing, the hostess claimed to have worked for this Inn 9 years ago and felt like it was her first day back since. She was confused as to how many of us were checking in (not a big deal), gave us keys to the room, showed us upstairs, but thought the keys worked in the lower locks, but actually the top locks were the functional ones. Could not get the clock or lamps on the bedside to work or operate, but again not too big of a deal. I think if staff stayed around for at least a few hours past the 5:30 pm check in, this would have helped. Nice wood burning fireplace that only staff could light (but none around), a few gas fireplaces with no visable switches or remotes to light (and nobody around to ask or help). Clawfoot tub is nice, but if you don't have a water plug/stopper, it is just a shower. Again, nobody around to ask for help once they all go home for the day. Was also hoping for a wine bottle opener in the pantry, but was told the next morining that "some guest broke the last one" and they would not be putting one out....we should have kinown to ask for one before they left. Really? The website claims that one is available...didn't think I had to reserve one. Breakfast was tasty, but little variety. No table of freshfruit, yogurt, breads and pastries, cereals as one would normally expect. Just one piece small piece of (banana bread?) bread to SHARE, and a predetermined plate of quiche, bacon and breakfast potatoes. Not bad, just not fab like one would hope. No turndown, no chocolate on the pillow, nothing staff wise exceptional but the Inn itself. It could be such an incredible place, but staff seemed less than friendly and certainly did not add to the experience.

Room Tip: Also a bit noisy, can here evey door opening and closing in the main house. Bring earphones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank army04steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for your comments as we always care about how our guests feel about their stay :0)

We always want to please our guests and feel disappointed that you were not as pleased as so many of our other previous guests were with our service and amenities.

There were several items reviewed here and we will try to address these areas as best possible.

I as the owner, live here and stay at the estate- so we do not leave the property and our guests at 5pm , we are actuall with you here 24 hour a day 7 days a week.
There is always a staff person to contact as it is very imoprtant to assist you with all questions or needs , such as a wine opener, or something missing in your lodging room - we want to know so we can help .

Our purpose is to make your stay comfortable and we do care so much that we offer posted on our check in area a phone number to reach out to us if you have any concerns.

The Common Fire places are only operated by the staff as per the local Fire Department requirements- but the day you were here in May, the temp outside was well above and too warm for use of large heat generating firepalces.

Each of your rooms offered a fireplace that you can use in warmer weather for ambiance.

Chimney Hill serves a delicious homemade daily entree breakfast with breakfast bread , fruit, juice and tea- coffee.

We do not serve a continential breakfast such as yougurts, cereal , pasteries etc.

If you have a special dietary need, we can and do accomidate these requests regurarly as this specific information is asked in advance on the reservation form when making your reservation.

When you asked our Innkeeper for something other than our served entree, hee more than happily made you a different egg dish - as we will do for anyone who does not wish to eat the breakfast we are serving.

Thank you again, we will try harder and continue to look for way to improve our staff and service .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We just spent a wonderful 3-day 2-night get-a-way at Chimney Hill Innin Lambertville. We stayed in the Garden Room with a sitting area (really comfortable chairs), fireplace, king bed, private bath. And had the most delicious breakfasts. We've been there before and the food is the best of all the BnB's we've been to. Eric, the host, is always ready to help the guests with any requests or questions they may have. The amenities include afternoon cookies with beverages, a butler's pantry open all the time, in room coffee/tea and so much more that I could go on and on. The inn is about a mile from the heart of Lambertville and across the river from New Hope, both filled with wonderful stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both their barn suites and in the main house. The barn suites are more modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. We really try hard to please!
Hope you can come againg soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Even though it rained the whole time. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. I loved the warm feeling when you walked into the house it was like walking into a home. The grounds are beautiful and I would love to go when it isn't raining so I can totally enjoy them. I stayed in the Hunt room in the main house it was beautiful and warm. Breakfast was excellent. I recommend this place highly. One of my favorite things there was the Alpaca's. There is also a lot to do in the area from restaurants to shopping or just taking a walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
9.0 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Newtown
8.4 mi away
Element Ewing Princeton
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
#2 of 19 in New Hope
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Property: Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Nurture Day Spa. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Richard & the very cute Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing