We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Quick Get-Away!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Quick Get-Away!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the Main House in the Tapestry Room - it was clean and spacious - has its own little private balcony - and private bath which was also very spacious - I have been to some where you can't change your mind in the room!!..

The grounds were beautifully kept and a pleasure to walk around or sit overlooking a pretty little garden. The hosts Rich and Deb were always available and very gracious! The breakfast served both days was delicious - fresh coffee, fresh juice. Homemade iced tea and lemonade available at anytime along with a few homemade desserts and cookies.

The Alpaca's were a fun little diversion, gentle and easy to feed. (Go quick to see the adorable baby)

We are not too far from the area of Lambertville/New Hope and were just looking for a quick getaway. We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed ourselves and would not hesitate to go back and stay again!!

Room Tip: The tapestry room has large in room bathroom with its own private balony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    39
    26
    14
    21
See reviews for
15
193
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Chimney Hill was a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful part of the area (one I had never visited before). The staff were incredibly friendly the entirety of the stay, helpful when we needed things for the room and such, and consistently offered spot-on tips for things to do in the area. Probably the best part of the stay were the alpacas, and more specifically feeding them (ask for food to feed to them)! They are gorgeous creatures and eat gently right out of your hand! The room was nice - spacious, clean, interestingly decorated, etc. Both breakfasts (stayed for 2 nights) were yummy.

The area is excellent - between Lamberville and New Hope (connected by a bridge for cars and one for pedestrians, with great views of the Delaware River) there is so much to do! Highlights include: Bowman Wildflower Preserve, GREAT restaurants (the Middle Eastern place on the Lambertville side most of all), cute and interesting and quirky shops). Unionville Vineyards is not far, and they have tasting. Didn't do much antiquing or perusing of the art scene, but they seemed good!

I would HIGHLY recommend a getaway to Chimney Hill!

Room Tip: stayed in the tapestry room, which had a nice outdoor patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm0c88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Overall a very good B&B. Clean and comfortable. Stayed in the Barn Suite #3. We didn't turn on the TVs so can't comment on them. The Hot Tub was very nice. The fan switch didn't work properly above the bed. Couldn't change the speed of the fan. There were a couple magazines in the room to read which was a nice touch. Would have been nice if the fridge in the room had a few beverages. The mattress on the bed was nothing special unlike some other B&Bs.
The grounds are nice but show a lack of care. In the one flower garden by the main house there were a couple flower pots on their side. They looked like they had been knocked over for several days. There are butterflies everywhere! No really, dozens of them. The Alpacas are friendly and really like to be fed. There was a 9 week old baby there which was cute to see. On one of the stone patios there are several burrows of Cicada wasps. As a nature person I found this fascinating and got to take a few nice pictures of them. They come out in late July and August so most of the time they are not an issue, and they will just fly away if you get too close so there is no real cause for concern.
Overall I would say this place is worth the stay but would recommend the Woolverton Inn over the Chimney Hill Inn. The Woolverton offers private entrances and outdoor areas, a better breakfast selection as well as free delivery to the room, and more in room creature comforts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRWeatherbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Perfect, peaceful weekend. Very hospitable crew and a beautiful estate, all yours to wander if you choose. Stars of the property are the Alpacas, with a few Llamas sprinkled in for protection. They are amazing and worth the visit alone! The way they look at you will melt your heart.
The breakfasts were cooked to perfection, you can tell there is great pride in the kitchen.
The Inn is very conveniently located and I would recommend it highly.
We stayed in a barn room, we are wifi junkies.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful weekend in this beautiful B&B. We stayed in Barn Suite #1. Spacious, comfortable, bath w/a bubbler for unwinding after a day of antiquing in Lambertsville. Deb and Rich were attentive and helpful: they had suggestions for places to eat and things to see that were spot on. The main house is lovingly restored and furnished. The grounds are beautiful: think butterfly bushes sprinkled with yellow tiger swallowtail and black swallowtail butterflies and stargazing at night. The breakfasts are scrumptious. On our first day we had a delicious app,e crumble with fresh whipped cream, followed by some of the best French toast I have ever eaten. This morning we had quiche Lorraine. I don't eat meat, and there was a separate order of scrambled eggs for me. Chimney Hill Estate is located a few minutes from Lambertsville NJ and New Hope PA. We spent a happy afternoon looking at the wonderful architecture, hunting for antiques, and eating a leisurely lunch. We had such a relaxing, enjoyable weekend that we are planning to return in the winter-- when the Hughes stone fireplace in the main house will undoubtedly be where you will find me curled up with a book and a hot drink. We discovered Chimney Hill quite by chance, and we feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to spend a weekend there.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Babylon, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We knew when we arrived we were in for a real treat and that we had also made a fabulous choice....We like being off the beaten path but close enough to restaurants and shops and great walks...It was lovely from beginning to end ....Our Barn suite....the breakfasts...the peace and quiet and not to forget the Alpacas...Deb and Richard were right on the money for things to do and see and choice of restaurants.....we have already started planning our next visit.....thanks for the memories..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

That said, we still really enjoyed our stay and had a good laugh when yes, freshly showered and dressed, we went out to feed the Alpacas and one of them decided to spit masticated Alpaca feed on my face and torso. All we could do was laugh, and truthfully--we were warned by the innkeepers, so we had no one to blame but ourselves!

We stayed in the Hunt Room, which was really lovely, large and had tons of light. As other reviewers have commented, the bed is very high off the ground, which is not a problem for us because we are both tall, but if you're short, you will have to take a running leap to get onto it (or climb onto the bench at the end of the bed first). Also as noted by other reviewers, the bathroom is directly in the hallway outside of the room, so it was a little awkward to have to put on a robe everytime I needed to use the bathroom, but we knew in advance so we weren't surprised by it. I was disappointed that there was no air conditioning in the bathroom, as it was in the 90s both days we were there and VERY hot in the bathroom, but I did my hair and makeup in the bedroom so it wasn't a terrible problem.

The hosts were lovely, as were the architecture and furnishings in the house. Again, as others have commented, there was always a yummy snack in the pantry--fresh baked cookies, Nutella filled chocolate cupcakes right out of the oven, lemonade, ice water, etc. and a mini pharmacy in a drawer (which was great when I came back from dinner after drinking too much red wine, and found Advil in the drawer!).

Breakfast was DELICIOUS! We are vegetarians and there was no problem getting a non-meat breakfast, although we did tell them well in advance in our reservation notes, which they also confirmed when we checked in. It was all carbs (some sort of bread loaf--couldn't tell if it was banana or other fruit, but very delicious; an apple crumble type of sweet dish with whipped cream; and a phenomenal blueberry french toast dish). Endless coffee and orange juice. But it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit available as well.

All of this said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again to Chimney Hill. We took the minor disappointments in stride (the hot bathroom, the location of the bathroom, the carb overload breakfast) because we have stayed in many B&Bs and know that they all have their own unique personalities, quirks, etc. It's what you should expect when you stay at a B&B,. I think the most important things about staying at a B&B are pleasant inn-keepers, clean rooms and bathrooms, and a good breakfast--and these are all there at Chimney Hill. One more thing I want to mention is a conversation I overheard during breakfast. The couple sitting at a table near us was talking to one of the inn-keepers about how they had locked themselves out the night before because they couldn't remember the door code to get into the house. Additionally, they had tripped the circuit-breaker FIVE times the day before because they had the air conditioning running with a blow dryer, curling iron, etc. (very old house!). They were laughing about the entire experience (and the door situation was totally their own fault)!, but Debbie, the inn-keeper, said that she felt so bad about their troubles that she upgraded them to a barn suite for the rest of their stay, told them to expect a bottle of wine when they got into the new room, and gave them a $100 credit toward their next stay. And btw, they were there are on a GROUPON! Now that is someone who knows how to take care of her guests!

We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyducksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.8 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.2 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
0.8 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
9.0 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Newtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Property: Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2609
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Nurture Day Spa. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Richard & the very cute Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing