We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedbugs and Horrible Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bedbugs and Horrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I booked here through LivingSocial, thinking it would be a nice mini-honeymoon after our wedding. We thought wrong.

The morning after our first night in our room, my wife found a live adult bedbug crawling on the wall of the bedroom. We searched our bedding and easily found a dead bedbug in the sheets. We went to the owners to tell them about the issue, but that just caused more problems.

The owners' first reaction was to deny that there were any bedbugs at all, despite the fact that we had a picture of the dead one (the live one we instinctively squished before thinking to take a picture). The owners then changed tactics and began accusing us of being scammers, of bringing the bedbugs in with us, and of planting a device to attract bedbugs. When we said we could write reviews on the Internet, they accused us of threatening them. The owners also appeared to be trying to intimidate us based on our age (mid to late twenties). At one point, the female owner spoke over me while I was talking, then justified it by saying "well, I'm older."

The male owner decided to go investigate our room himself. We followed after him, but when we tried to go into the room (using our key), the owner said, "you're checked out" and slammed the door in our faces. We returned to the main building, and when the owner returned just a few minutes later, he said that he didn't see any bedbugs.

The male owner continued to accuse us of being scammers. He said that he'd seen people like us before. When we asked what kind of people he meant, he said "you probably know them." The owner called us liars, refused to look at our picture of the dead bedbug, and at one point made my wife cry. He finally told us that if we called LivingSocial and told them that we were ill and had to leave, he would agree to a refund. However, he said that if we mentioned the bedbugs, he would fight the issue.

Needless to say, our honeymoon was ruined. The bedbugs were bad enough, but the way we were treated was inexcusable. I'd highly recommend avoiding this place if you value being treated with respect--or if you don't want to quarantine your luggage afterward.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
28 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We have invited guest to enjoy the estate and Ol barn for many years ( 20 years in July) The majority of guest really appreciate the authenticity and beauty of the estate and our efforts to make their stay with us beyond enjoyable. Inn owners have to be people pleasers or they don't stay in business. If in fact their accusation was true it would stand to reason that is what the majority of guests would be saying. We pride our self on our commitment to customer satisfaction. If you are disappointed and let us know we will try and correct it. We like happy guests. That's why we chose this business. The two young ladies had a reservation for two days. They came to the front house after breakfast and said that they would be checking out earlier because they had found a bedbug in the room last night and didn't want to stay another day. I said where she said she threw it away. I explained that it was unlikely that there was a bedbug in their room unless it came with them. They got very upset and the one young lady started to cry. We have a very strict program to ensure that we don't have a bedbug problem. We use special covers for the mattress and box springs. We utilize detectors so if they are brought into the room by a guest the detector provides early warning and we can react to them immediately. The room is professionally treated by exterminators. The room is inspected after each guest leaves by our staff who are trained to inspect the bedding and surrounding area. ... I understand why she got upset and became argumentative insulting my partner calling her old... Bedbugs have stigma. They are really very common and can hitch a ride on your clothing from a train, a seat in a restaurant, or plane.... They are brought here by guests and when we detect them we exterminate them. Their review was written because they were angry .I told them I would ask Living Social to offer a refund for the second night because they were unhappy but not on the basis of bedbugs since I am convinced they brought them with them. They threatened if I didn't give them all their money back they would smear our name on social media. Unfortunate that even though we had photographic proof ( detectors from the room showed no activity) Trip Advisor lets guest write whatever they want. So 21 potential guests were given a false impression. This can be detrimental to a small business. We consider it unacceptable when we don't meet or exceed our guest expectations and will do whatever is feasible to correct the situation. Not for a favorable review. We were doing that before Trip Advisor came on the scene. We do it because we take pride in our business. In this case a full refund of both nights wasn't in my opinion fair. We wish them well in their new marriage and hope one day for them to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    39
    26
    14
    21
See reviews for
15
193
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My AMAZZZING boyfriend planned a weekend getaway for my B Day and Chimney Hill couldn't have been a more perfect place. Its quiet, romantic, cozy and the staff are all amazing and accommodating. They arranged with my guy to have a dozen of my favorite roses and a small homemade cake waiting in the room upon check-in!! The property is beautiful and close to town and with the Alpacas to boot, i almost didn't leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I took my girlfriend to the chimney hill for a surprise birthday getaway and we both had a wonderful time at the inn. Everyone was incredibly friendly and they even put a birthday cake and flowers in our room before we arrived. The inn has an old and majestic feel to it and I highly recommend going during the holidays (the abundance of fireplaces add to the charm). And I can't forget to mention the Alpaca farm. A nice little bonus, especially if you're an animal lover. I'll be sure to visit again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This estate is set on top of a hill, among lush greenery and is characterized by beautiful old buildings, such as the barn and the guest house. We had a suite, with its own fireplace and a separate bedroom. It was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The Alpaca is a very short walk away. Beautiful and historic Lambertville is down the hill, s short drive to Main Street, but walkable as well. Some great restaurants there, such as El Tule.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadi-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'll start by saying our weekend at Chimney Hill started late afternoon Friday October 25th. We were met by the Inn keepers who were in an office area near the kitchen. A brief introduction followed by key issue and a code to be used to enter the Inn's front door..presumably after hours.
We found our room in the Barn (#2) to be poorly lit but managed that...the dated bathroom was not up to standard for what's believed to be a step above...one redeeming factor was the bed, a very good nights sleep.....With only 20 + guests, one would think the staff would be more attentive. Sunday morning was disappointing with breakfast not ready and coffee service a bust....when we finally accessed the main house we and other guests stood by not acknowledged by the kitchen staff.....we enjoyed New Hope and Lambertville but Chimney Hill's got to do better....

Room Tip: Check the New Hope properties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tgh527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My fiance & I were at Chimney Hill October 20, 2013 to celebrate our anniversary and oh my geez...what a beautiful wonderful place! When I placed the reservation, Deb was extremely helpful and gave us a great rate. She also provided us information on a discount gift certificate for purchase for dinner that evening (which turned out to be excellent as well).

Upon check in, we were greeted by a delightful young lady who was very helpful and also provided us with FREE alpaca feed (and a good amount too). We located our room (Barn Suite #4) and once we walked in, we felt like we were in a different world. The room was absolutely divine-very antique and cozy feeling. There was a tv in the room, however we did not utilize it at all because the atmosphere alone embraced and entertained you. Our room had a dual fireplace, lovely shower, very comfortable bed, spiral staircase and more. We will definitely be back for sure! We truly enjoyed every bit of it.

Just a tip-if you are looking for a modern bed & breakfast, this is not your place to be. This place seems to pride itself on being unique and having an antique feel to it; which is what makes it so quality!

Room Tip: Barn Suite #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful anniversary stay. Staff was so friendly and accommodating! Had an issue with the heat and called the innkeeper and he was up within seconds to fix it! Thanks Rich! He even made sure to put a heater outside our room to keep is warm! We loved the alpacas and everyone was so nice. A bit overpriced if you don't have a LS or groupon deal. Breakfast was not good. Burned French toast soufflés and warm yogurt parfait. Other than the bad food and the out of date bathroom it was perfect! Bed so comfy and people so nice. Thanks for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRH1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
9.0 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Newtown
8.4 mi away
Element Ewing Princeton
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
#2 of 19 in New Hope
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Property: Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Nurture Day Spa. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Richard & the very cute Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing