We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property. Management Questionable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice property. Management Questionable”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

FIrst of all, things went so badly they gave us the room for free. So I feel badly to even write this review, but in the interest of transparency I will.

We made an entry error online at Travelocity booking this room for our wedding night. We were booking it six weeks in advance. Despite making at least 10 phone calls and emails between Travelocity and the inn, we never were able to fix it on the system. The bottleneck was Chimney Hill just wouldn't communicate at first with me or at all with Travelocity.

Facing a dispute with the credit card company, the owner finally called me and promised to do all to make things right for us. That was three weeks before our wedding.

11:15 pm the night of our wedding and we were standing out in the dark in front of the inn trying to get in. No one answered the bell or the intercom. My wife pounded on the knocker until a guest came down and let us in.

Once in we rooted around for 10 minutes and finally found a number to reach the management. Well down he came and again was profusely apologetic. He made up a room for us and said it was gratis.

Needless to say we were incredulous that after being told 4 times by email on the phone that this was going to be our wedding night, we were locked out.

Nice property and facility. Is it really premium? No but very nice. Maybe the management will get the message.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pwqdlq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    40
    26
    14
    21
See reviews for
15
194
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed at the Chimney Hill Estate for a quick getaway to celebrate my husband's promotion. The house is very charming. While I thought it was a bit pricey, overall the house was clean and a beautiful property. It was fun to visit with the alpacas. The owner was also very welcoming. For a bed & breakfast I did think breakfast left a little to be disired. Overall had a lovely getaway from New York City.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house in Vincent's Hideaway. The room was a little strange due to the fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you! We really appreciate your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

For $350 per night, I never expected that my "private bath" would be accessed through a public hallway. Or that I'd be met by an innkeeper at the door after my 7-hour drive from Boston to say that she couldn't check me in and I had to wait in the living room because a wedding was about to start. And when I looked dismayed, she sneered and said "Your face- what's wrong?" No. Not for $350 per night. I didn't expect there to be no central air conditioning or for an overall lack of attention from just about anyone except the lovely woman (not the innkeeper) who served us breakfast. The inn is beautiful. The grounds are serene and impeccably maintained. They have charming alpacas that you can feed (albeit behind a scary electric fence). Breakfast was excellent, both the food and the service, and it's served in a beautiful dining room with natural light and a wonderful ambience. Really, this place has a lot of things going for it. But they need to lower the price and up the charm factor. Otherwise, there's no way I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dellasaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you for your review- the estate is very old and the design cannot be changed. We appreciate your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Chimney Hill Inn.
The owners were very welcoming, the accomodations comfortable and charming, the grounds beautifully mantained and the Alpacas were sooo cute.
Breakfast was wonderful too.
People should remember that this is an Historic Property... so if you are looking for a Hyatt you might not be thrilled.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you for your review! We appreciate and are glad you enjoyed our home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was a groupon deal- used June/14 . Boy, were we disappointed. We stayed in the queen cottage room (didn't match website picture). It was small with a low ceiling. Staff was not welcoming and very mediocre. Breakfast is nothing special , just two links of sausage and eggs, coffee/ tea and small cup of strawberry. We were given a lock key code to enter the house and were told to call Rich if we were locked out. Not sure whether there were any staff overnight. The advertised alpaca were fenced behind electric fence. We were quite disappointed with this place. The town of Lambertville and New Hope were quaint and charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you for your review. The property has owners living here and if you had an issue we can help.
The estate isvery historic and the Cottage Room is very sweet and of an past era.
We appreciate your coments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were a little surprised to find that our bathroom was not en suite (for a couple rooms). Yes, it is a private bath like the website says, but why not disclose it up front? And read the description: we missed the "no tv" in most rooms and were a little surprised when we saw that -- don't get me wrong, there's plenty to do and it opens up the chance to take advantage of the town; we just missed some "down time" to unwind (although the wifi allowed us to use Our Xfinity or HBO GO apps).

It's out of the downtown area, so you'll need to drive into town. There was wine & cheese at 5 -- which was a nice touch -- just don't expect a variety: it's simple. Taking the building age into mind, it was nice. The entry and stone sitting room were impressive. The others appeared small, but that the age (there are newer rooms available outside the main house). Room 2 is the smallest, but it was okay: we've been in smaller and weren't complaining about the size. The bed was comfortable: we slept well, which means a lot since most places (including hotels) aren't that good. The drapes were a bit hap-hazard and ill-fitted, but they did their job. Hot shower. Clean towels. The grounds looked nice. The alpacas worth looking at, even if it was in a zoo-like way of looking at a distance.

For what we look to do while in Lambertville, we like other places more: it just depends what you are looking for.

Room Tip: It sounds like the newer rooms in the barn are better choices if you want a more modern feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you for your comments. Our property offers rooms ith baths in them and private baths on the outside o the room. All baths are private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After we found this Bed & Breakfast through Groupon, we called the B&B to ask some questions about the offer. The owner said that if we’d book directly with her that she would give us the same Groupon deal. We thought we would be helping the owners out by doing this, but what we got when we arrived was considerably less than what we expected. The greeter who was the only one at the B&B when we arrived at 3:00 on a Sunday was obviously very new at the job and didn't seem to know much and did not have any of the vouchers we had expected to get. Within 30 minutes after we arrived, this greeter left and we NEVER saw her or anyone else in the house for the rest of that day or night.
Through an additional offer made by Chimney Hill before our visit, we ordered a "Just Want to Stay Inn" Basket that was to feature "savory homemade hors d’oeuvres, a dessert tray, fresh veggies with homemade sour cream dip, 2 glasses, and a complimentary bottle of wine." The total additional cost for this basket was $64.20. What we got for our $64.20 was a plate of 4 brownies (from the same batch we had seen sitting downstairs for anyone to take free of extra charge), a plate with 6 pieces of celery, 6 baby carrots, and 6 crackers with a small cup of ranch dressing and 6 very tiny blueberry turnovers and a bottle of wine. The food had not been covered and was already showing signs of drying out. There was no “basket” in sight.
During our breakfast the next morning, we were briefly greeted by a man who stopped by our table. We had to ask if he was one of the owners and what his name was. We thought we'd speak with him about our "basket deal” after breakfast, but that one brief greeting was the one and only moment of our entire stay when we saw him. After breakfast, we asked the lady who had served our breakfast where were our hosts. She said "Terry" would be in later. So, we waited around until she arrived. As an explanation of what we got in the “$64.20 basket deal,” she commented that the girl who had greeted us was new, but she said that she would credit our charge card and we agreed that would be a satisfactory solution. However, as of today, 14 WEEKS since that conversation, my card has not yet been credited for that expense.
While waiting for breakfast on that Monday morning, we looked through a menu of the restaurant where we were supposed to have dinner using a $50 credit from the Groupon offer. It was then that we discovered that the restaurant is closed on Mondays! When we asked about our vouchers for the restaurant and for the winery tour, Terry commented that the Groupon offer had expired! What?! So, I had to remind her of our conversation of several months back about how she was giving us the same Groupon deal if we booked directly with her and that we had booked the dates for our stay at the time of that conversation. Even so, she said that she could no longer honor part of that deal... again, because it had expired. The lesson we learned from that: Don't try to help out the owners, buy the Groupon/Living Social deal--it's your guarantee you get what you expected.
So, as it has ended up, we did NOT get any $50 restaurant voucher; we did NOT get a $15 wine voucher to use at the winery (which we would have used since we did buy a couple of bottles there), and we have NOT yet been credited for the $64.20 basket offer, 14 WEEKS later. The only perk of the Groupon offer that we did get was a $10 voucher for a wine tasting at Unionville Winery, which was, indeed, a fun experience. When we returned to the house early on Monday evening, there was another—larger—bottle of wine at our door, but that surely can’t compensate for $130 worth of amenities that we lost.
At about 10:00 on our second morning after our car was packed and we were ready to depart, we looked for our hosts to say goodbye and to make sure we were credited for the issues we had discussed the previous day. The only person around was the lady who took care of our breakfast and she told us the owners would be in later. In fact, other than this lady, we had not seen another person in the house since our brief encounter with our hosts on Monday morning in spite of the fact that we had spent the entire evening in the house the night before. On Monday evening/night we ended up watching a movie on our iPad (since there are NO TV’s anywhere in the house) and eating left-overs from a meal we’d had earlier in the day. The kitchen area was locked up, so we had no access to a microwave or a refrigerator and there had been no “treats” of any sort left for us.
We stay in B&B’s frequently, so we are quite familiar with what to expect from a Bed and Breakfast stay. Sadly, our experience at Chimney Hill Estates was by far the worst we’ve ever had. We had had such high hopes and expectations for this stay because of the extra perks we expected to get through both the Groupon’s & Chimney Hill’s offers and because we had had a such positive conversation with the owner months before when we first booked our stay. As in the situation of this stay, we have been the only guests at a Bed & Breakfast before, but we have always had countless interactions with the owners and/or hostesses and there have always been some treats/drinks left out for us when we return to the house after a day’s outings no matter what time that might be. None of that happened here. We even wondered whether little to nothing was done for us because we were the only guests for most of our stay. (One couple came in late on Sunday evening and left soon after breakfast on Monday)
On the positive side, our room, The Tapestry,” was lovely, and we loved the claw-foot tub and shower. The bed was quite large and comfortable; and even with the cold temps outside, we were always toasty warm. Feeding the alpacas was totally delightful. The greeter’s comments had led us to think that our hosts would accompany us to visit the alpacas and interact with us then. Instead, we were directed to where the alpacas were and sent on our way alone, which turned out to be okay, but, again, that was a bit disappointing. Our breakfasts were good and our preparer/server was very nice.
From a safety standpoint, the walkway that led to the only guest entrance was never swept to remove the snow and the lighting at the corner of the house that led to the entrance was not functioning, which left a dark patch just where we had to step from the gravel driveway onto the stone walkway. There were also numerous potholes in the driveway that made it a bit of a challenge to maneuver. We completely understand that the weather was quite unusual this year and potholes are in abundance, but while we were there, the Lambertville area only got a light dusting of snow on top of what appeared to be a relatively light build up of snow from a previous storm that could have easily been swept away and a bit of gravel in the deeper potholes would have made it a tad less challenging to get into and out of the parking area.
We would have loved to give this Bed & Breakfast the highest possible rating across the board. In fact, we expected our stay there to be the highlight of our week-long trip that included time in Washington DC, Lambertville, and Philadelphia. Instead, because of what we perceived as a lack of hospitality and quality service, our stay there was the only negative part of our week-long adventure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Many folks enjoy our property and services.We always do consider your comments and suggestions.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.8 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
111 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Brick Hotel
The Brick Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtown
101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
197 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Property: Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2609
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Nurture Day Spa. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Richard & the very cute Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing